We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Disneyworld”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Disneyworld”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hard to find even one bad thing to say about this resort. The food has got to be some of the best that Disney offers. The exterior of the property is expansive unlike all other Disney resorts and I must say that the lobby is a marvel of design and art. We opted for the pool few as we felt it would offer more ease getting to the pool, the hotel is very large. When compared to other, more expensive resorts at Disney, Animal Kingdom Lodge is hands down best.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool view or you may be overlooking a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,178
    1,740
    601
    254
    127
See reviews for
4,343
1,201
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had an amazing trip at the club level. You get a savannah view guaranteed plus snacks and drinks for free at various times throughout the day. The pool is very large. We enjoyed every bit of our time so much that when we went to our next hotel (we hotel hopped), we were wishing to go back to Animal Kingdom Lodge.

Room Tip: Book club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Jambo House at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in a Savannah View Room. It was amazing! My kids loved seeing the animals right outside the room and it is one of those unique experiences they will remember. The hotel is beautiful and clean, with a good pool and they have lots of extra activities for the kids, which are nice if you need a break from the parks. We found the service not as good as we usually find at Disney - we normally visit Disneyland and I think the service is better in California as some of the staff here seem a bit tired and testy. The food at the restaurants was very good and they have a lot of healthy options for the kids meal sides (grapes, applesauce, carrots, milk). These options are throughout the parks as well, which I think is great. Overall, a great experience and one that we will remember!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I always wanted to go to WDW ever since the birth of our daughters. The Animal Kingdom Lodge, we felt, was the best choice. Perfect setting for our family since we all love animals. The resort atmosphere was wonderfully condusive for the type of experience we wanted. The staff were very accomodating and very friendly. Bomas restaurant was our breakfast start to the day with a great variety of breakfast delights. The concierge were wonderful in helping me to get through WDW resort with very helpful suggestions and hints. I would not hesitate in suggesting this resort to anyone with children!

Room Tip: Family with two children should get bunk beds, there is more room and the children sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My Disney experience was, not to be cliche, magical. Something as simple as the towel in the bathroom being folded into a mouse with a little note that said 'have a magical day from your friends,' is just one example of how no company in the world will every compare to Disney when it comes to the details, and in this case, the details of hospitality.
We stayed in a room with the savanna view (of the animals), which was a little more expensive, but completely worth it. At first I was worried because we were ground level and close to the center (I thought the farther out the room, the better view), but it turns out all the rooms have exactly the same view and you really do see all the animals each day; it's incredible. We didn't eat in the nice restaurant but the quick stop place by the pool had a great variety for the few days we decided to eat at the resort. The pool and grounds are gorgeous! The entire resort really has that 'safari' feel without being too cheesy. Even the faint music in the hallways adds the overall experience. The lobby is an attraction all itself, with its tall ceiling and many decadent displays coming from Africa. There's even a large Mufasa head made out of, what it looks like twigs, displaying in the gift shop (again, the little details that add to the experience).
On the last day, we had a few hours after check out before we left for our flight, and we decided to do one of those photo-shoots for a small price around the hotel. So much fun! The girl who took us around was so nice and at the end wouldn't even accept a tip from us.
I only have 2 very small complaints. One, in room dining is only until 10pm. I guess that makes sense for majority of the people (families) that stay there, but we're used to eating late and after the parks close there is no place on all Disney's grounds to get food, and they do not let you order food from outside in Orlando to be delivered to the hotel.
My second complaint specific to this hotel, is just the location. If you are not going to the Animal Kingdom, it takes awhile. You are the farthest away from every other park which is just annoying more than anything else. But as a young couple without any kids, I guess we have it the easiest and I shouldn't complain.
I cannot wait for my next trip back to Disney. It really is the happiest place on earth and this resort is a prime example of why. My only disclaimer to this review is, again, we were traveling as a couple in our 20s without kids, so please keep that in mind.

Room Tip: Savanna view is the only way to go and definitely worth the extra money!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge for my husband's birthday. We had a room with a savannah view and had an absolutely amazing time watching the animals and drinking wine on our balcony. It was such a great experiance that we only visited one park over the weekend. There were excellent dining options at the hotel and the transportation system (from what we saw of it) worked great. The rooms were not as "luxurious" as other Disney deluxe level properties, but no doubt the view made up for it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mec0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed club level at Disney's Animal Kinddom Lodge. We prefer other hotels that are closer to the thick of things, but the club level savannah view with bunkbeds is well worth the price. The rooms are large and very nice. The bunkbeds are great for the kids and so is the savannah view. The hotel is wonderful and makes you feel welcome. The decor is fabulous and the club level lounge is large with plenty of seating. The only thing I would have liked would have been a savannah view from the lounge as well. The food selections are fairly good and food and beverages are available from morning to night. I thought the selections of wine and cordials were a little light and not as nice as some of the other club levels we've stayed at, but they were acceptable and my husband enjoyed the beer choices.
Breakfast included oatmeal and quinoa, bagles, croissants, and muffins and pastries. There was a great selection of cut fruit every morning as well.
The afternoon snacks were homemade potato chips, homebaked granola bars and some snack foods.
There is also an afternoon tea where scones and cookies are available.
The evening selections were also good, but the certainly had an African flair --bunny chow , cold mango soup and lamb tandoori. They were all very tasty, but pickier eaters may be turned off by the selections. The was also a small selction especially for the kids -- ham and cheese roll ups, corn fritters, carrots and dip and apple slices and dip. They also served desserts later in the evening. To be honest most of the selections was carbs and very little protein.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and would probably book again, although we prefer some of the other hotels a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adisneyrental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing