We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge-Jambo House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge-Jambo House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My family and I stayed there 10-30-11 to 11-5-11 and had a great time! We had a 1 room villa with a savannah view and it was truly amazing! We saw animals from our balcony morning and night. ( Some days more then others) the resort seemed very authentic and I was pleased with how friendly the staff was.

We enjoyed the pool area which was very nice. And there was a poolside bar for adults..the prices were a litle high but your at Disney so not out of the norm. We had a kitchen and it was perfect and had all we needed. The bathroom was huge and the tub was amazing! My son actually looked forward to his baths :-)

My only gripe and it is a small one... the beds are very hard. But other then that I won't complain. The African artwork through out the resort was amazing! This place is expensive but if you can splurge it is worh it!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler4life23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,035
    1,686
    588
    243
    126
See reviews for
4,185
1,159
52
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
venessa9
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We took our daughter to celebrate her good grades. While we found the room pricey, it was a standard size room, the rest of the resort made up for the price. The pool was so much fun. It had a slide and very spacious. Our favorite part was seeing the animals. It was amazing to see how close we were to the animals. Our daughters loved the experience. We had a lovely dinner at BOMA. The food options were delicious, buffett style. We also ate a great breakfast there. Our biggest recommendation is that they modify the arcade to look like the one at the Pop Century resort or the All Star Movie resort, where you can collect tickets and trade them in for prizes. The store with items from Africa had beautiful selections. Everyone was gracious and helpful. There were different activities at the hotel, movie by the pool, storytelling, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank venessa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Ive stayed in this hotel everytime ive been to America(6times).Its an amazing hotel,excellent staff,food was nice,bedrooms were clean,pool was warm.Good for the kids!The bus's are about 10-20 mins depends on where your going but when your on there and excited it only seems like 10 mins!I recommend this hotel to everyone! :D

Room Tip: if you have 5 or more people you can get an on joining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Not sure how does this facility qualifies as deluxe but let me explain what went down on my trip there. I stayed with my wife and 3 year old on an Arusha View room. The lobby of the hotel is really nice, spacious and promises a good experience. That ends when you go to check in. There was nothing wrong with my reservation, but it took the receptionist a good 30 minutes to enter our names in the system and hand us the room keys with a bunch of pamphlets explaining what to expect. We book the package through Expedia and had also the park hopper vouchers which were explained that needed to be handed over at the desk so we can get our park tickets. The receptionist told us after checking with his supervisor that the concierge desk will assist us. So here we go to another line waiting for another 20 minutes even though only two of the three concierges were actually providing service and the third one was staring at some wall behind our backs. Long story short, the concierge explained to us that they do not issue tickets for the parks as they cannot access the system if the tickets were booked through Expedia but we have to go to one of the customer service offices at any park entrance and get the tickets. We did go at one of the office in Downtown Disney and were asked why were we bothered to come all the way here instead of getting the tickets at the concierge desk, I changed subject and moved on. Now let's move to the room...Once we opened it we got stung by a smell comparable only to a pile of mulch. I went immediately outside to complain but returned right back as the room next door opened the door and had the same scent coming out, I guess there was no point requesting to exchange rooms. After 30-45 minutes in the room, you just get used to it to the smell. The balcony view was nice and the little one enjoyed watching zebras and giraffes roaming the grass. That night we went to dine at Boma and were told to wait since we had no reservations, even though the restaurant was half empty and had a row of waiters in line greeting the occasional guest. The food at Boma was good, the buffet has a lot of choices but nothing exceptional, which is OK since they cater mostly to folks that are on dining plans. We did not a have a dining plan as we did not want to limit our choices. Two days in the row we saw cockroaches in the hallway which was not something you expect from a deluxe or high end hotel, especially if you are shelling 300+ USD per night. The bedding was going well with the room, you get a king size bed that has about 6-7 small pillows in a row that look like Swedish meatballs you eat at IKEA - very uncomfortable. The bed sheets were very thin and looked well past their prime time, same thing needs to be said about the towels. The bathroom was spacious and well maintained. We did not try any other restaurant other than the Mara for to go breakfast. The cleaning ladies were very helpful and they were the only four star service that I experienced. The parks had a lot more choices of good food especially Epcot but that will be another review. All in all, I cannot honestly say I will return to this hotel, not worthy the experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, the rooms are not worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Myself my husband and 2 sons aged 10 and 6 years stayed in this hotel we had a fantastic time overall and the hotel was good , however it didn't quite give enough considering the amount spent and the food choice was limited, rooms were cleaned well but everything seemed quite dark and having animals within the grounds (though lovely) also meant that you were limited as to how far you could venture in the grounds, next time I would come back but would try some where else to stay. Good hotel but not great .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graciexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa and it was fabulous!! The villa was very spacious and clean.it is worth staying here just to drink your morning coffee and watch the zebras and giraffes!Staff was great and very helpful,and the room was very clean!!! I would deffinately stay here again. We ate at Boma for breakfast and dinner and both were amazing. The only bad thing--which is no fault of the hotel--is that it is a far ride from the Magic Kingdom. But again, the hotel cannot help that. I would deffinately stay here again!!

Room Tip: Get a Savannah View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Animal Kingdom Lodge is a theme park in itself. My husband and I were traveling with our 2 boys ages 5 &7. The surroundings make you feel relaxed and on vacation especially after coming home from the theme parks. We looked forward to coming back to the room to see what animals were out. Everytime we looked out, we were not disappointed. There were lots of animals right outside from our balcony. We had a room on Zebra Trail with bunk beds.This really added to our trip. We had a great time in the pool and hot tubs. We did the night vision goggles which was really neat. We also had a fabulous meal at Boma.
On the downside, the beds and pillows were not comfortable. We had towel animals on our first day but then none after that. We tipped well thinking that they would make the extra effort. The kids look forward to those little extra touches. I found myself dreading the transportation. Starting another day at the parks with standing on a crowded, to the max, bus with people standing in the isle back to back. This is not a good way to start or end a day at the parks. Every bus that comes to the Jaba House is packed with people from the previous stop. I thought going to Hollywood Studios would be a better experience since it is about 6 minutes from the hotel. I timed it when we passed Hollywood Studios on the way back from the Magic Kingdom. To my surprise, the journey to Hollywood Studios is longer since the bus makes a stop at Blizzard Beach before heading to Hollywood Studios. We found that this was the case even if no one on the over-crowded bus was going to Blizzard Beach. The bus stops there on the way back too.
We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge last year and found ourselves missing the quick enjoyable boat ride to and from the Magic Kingdom. We never stood on a bus or had any dreadful transportation problems. Next time we will go back to the Wilderness Lodge or a monorail hotel. I am glad that we were able to experience the savannah but convenience to the parks wins out on the next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing