We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“And the winner is...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Mama's Restaurant

Sweet Mama's Restaurant
Ranked #601 of 3,643 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“And the winner is...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Took the family here for breakfast and I have to say, as simple as it was, this may be the best breakfast I have had so far in Orlando. It's a rather small place but food makes you want to come back. Probabaly the best pancakes I have had ever! Thats saying alot because I have tasted a lot of pancakes in my day. Nice in airy, without sacrificing qualty of taste. AND they had grits, which were really good. The menu is overbearing and they give you plenty of food. Prices are affordable as well. I got the 1-2-3, 1 pancake, 2 eggs, 3 strips of bacon and it came with a side of grits for 7 bucks. I would like to give this place a excellent rating but they charge way too much for fountain drinks, around 3 bucks. Staff was really friendly and food was made quick. We will be back to try lunch. If you are in Orlando, this place is worth the drive to try. You won't be dissapointed

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prince_Oochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for this glowing review. The fact that you think our pancakes are some of the best you've ever had is like music to our ears! Great call on our 1-2-3— all of our favorite dishes combined into one amazing meal. While it's wonderful you thought our prices were very reasonable, I'm sorry you think we charge too much for our fountain drinks— we will definitely take note of this concern. All and all, it sounds like you had a great time. Please come back and see us soon!

Cheers,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

In one week staying with family at Lake Nona, I ate breakfast at Sweet Mamas twice. Both times the food was excellent. The restaurant itself is a little tight in the seating, but that's partly because it's crowded. I highly recommend the country fried steak, especially if you're having brunch...and bonus to the pet lovers out there, you can sit outside and then take the four legged ones to Woof Gang Bakery right next door.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenPNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for this fabulous review! We're thrilled you're a fan of our little comfort food cafe. Great call on our Country Fried Steak— one bite and you're hooked. Next time you're craving some down-home cookin', you know where to find us!

Cheers,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our 3rd visit. I must say we were not impressed by the first 2 times at their old location but once they moved we saw a significant improvement. We had the burgers this time and they were very good! Service was still a little less than impressive but the food at least was better. From our previous experiences we will never have the meatloaf, fried green tomatoes or the mac and cheese. We have actually had to leave before ordering once because we sat for over 15 minutes without being helped. This last visit was better and I think they are on the right track to improving.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MomLuv2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for this honest feedback. While it's never fun to read not-so-stellar reviews, we welcome feedback of any kind— it lets us know what we're doing right and also what we can do better. That being said, we're so glad we've impressed you during your last visit. We're glad you gave our new location a chance— we've made a lot of improvements to both our menu selections and wait staff. We're sorry you were turned off from our meatloaf, fried green tomatoes and mac n' cheese! We'd love to get some more feedback from you regarding those dishes. We hope you will give those another shot. It's also a shame the service was slow during your previous experience. We can promise you we are only getting better and better. We look forward to seeing you for round 4— and showing you a wonderful time!

Cheers,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“moved to a new area- much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant after not visiting for some time. We had out of town friends with us who liked had visited with us previously. They wanted omelets. The omelet is just eggs cooked in the griddle and folded over with ingredients inside. Omelets should be cooked in an omelet pan. The food was tasty. The men ordered the special of cinnamon raisin pancakes which were very good. They thought they were ordering 2, but one received 1 and the other man received 3. Since they are long time friends this was not a problem, but the kitchen insisted they not share. The pancakes were huge and 3 were way too many. We had to ask for several condiments- butter, syrup, fork, etc. The pricing is really strange as there was a miscellaneous charge on the bill which turned out to be for the special- cinnamon and raisins. Huh? To us, the up charge was not a problem but such was asking for problems. Also the menu board said 2 pancakes and three were delivered finally. It is just very confusing. If you want generous pancakes, this is the place to go for breakfast. And thank you for moving to a better place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Patricia,
We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. While it's never fun to read not-so-stellar reviews, it lets us know what we're doing right and also what we can do better! While we're glad those cinnamon raisin pancakes were tasty, we're so sorry if there was a mix up with the two orders. Did you let your server know that there was just one pancake? We're sure he/she would have been happy to fix that for you.

Could we get some more information from you regarding this miscellaneous charge? We'd never want to pull the wool over anyone's eyes! We just want to make sure we get everything straightened out. Thanks again for this review and we're glad you enjoyed your meal!

Cheers,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home style cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a new location for a great family friendly home cooking resturant. We recently visited on a Saturday mid morning, and there was a wait. There really is no place inside to wait. Fortunately, the wait was only 10 minutes. I had breakfast, my husband ordered lunch. My mushroom, bacon, cheese omelet was great! It was filled with lots of crisp bacon and fresh mushrooms. The cheese was nicely melted and throughout the omelet. It came with crisp potatoes and a biscuit. My husband ordered foot long hotdogs and fries. He loved it. I tasted them, and they were very good. Smokey flavored and perfectly grilled. The menu offers many breakfast and lunch options. Can view the menu on their website. They have live music at night on Saturday. They do offer a dinner menu as well. Also highly encourage you try the homemade cinnamon rolls. We took some home for breakfast the next day. Excellent heated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Home-style cookin' is right! Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. We can get pretty busy on the weekends, but I'm glad you were seated relatively quickly. It's wonderful you and your husband were a fan of our breakfast and lunch options. Great call on that mushroom, bacon and cheese omelet — one of our personal favorites. That foot-long hotdog is a good choice, too... it'll keep you full for days! We appreciate you being such a big supporter of our little diner. We hope to see you and your husband back here very soon!

Cheers,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Mama's Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Mama's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing