We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

Sweet Mama's Restaurant
Ranked #552 of 3,829 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Claremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sweet Mama's is a cute, local "diner" with amazing breakfast dishes. I've only had breakfast there so can't speak for their lunch or dinner, but they make incredible cinnamon buns, huge pancakes, great eggs with cheese mixed in, and crispy bacon. Good coffee too! So glad Lake Nona has this place, since we don't yet have too many restaurants!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Samantha,

Thanks so much for your review. We're happy to hear you've consistently enjoyed our breakfast. Our recipes were inspired by the food we grew up eating, and we try our best to put the "comfort" in comfort food. Of everything you've tried, what's been your favorite?

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

While Sweet Mama's is mostly known for it's excellent breakfast, I myself am not a morning person so it's usually dinner for me. Living in the lake nona area we have been in serious need of a local place to serve great wings and beer. Well I am here to say we finally have it! Only wish they were open later then 9pm on weekends. Other then that this place is exactly what the area needed. Try it out as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIAM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. It's nice to hear that you don't think of us as just a breakfast place and enjoy coming here for dinner. Next time you're craving wings and beer, be sure to stop by!

Take care,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great homestyle cooking and new location”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I headed out for breakfast last week on our way to that other country restaurant and decided to turn around and give Sweet Mama's a try, which by the way is convieniently located in the Lake Nona area where we live. Well, we were pleasantly surprised first by their new location (new and clean restaurant) and second by the quality of the food. There's nothing quite like eggs, corned beef hash and home-fried potatoes with toast. Not to mention the coffee was great and they served vanilla cream which we enjoy. The service was friendly and fast, we were very pleased (and full) when we left. Ironically our friends invited us out for dinner that same evening and picked Sweet Mama's, so that was twice in one day. In summary, dinner was great too, plus they serve beer and wine which was an added bonus to our meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Wow, twice in one day! Thanks so much! We're glad to hear that you and wife enjoy dining here. Now that we've moved into our new space, we can focus our attention on serving delicious food and offering attentive service. We look forward to your next meal with us!

Warm Regards,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynInCT
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Curry Ford location”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Coming from the North it's hard to find good diner-y breakfast/lunch food. I was THRILLED when I found Sweet Mama's. I've never had light, thin omelettes like this and the over easy eggs are perfect EVERY TIME.
Would have given it 5* but the service is hit or miss. Mostly "hit" but every now and then it's not good. But great food and great pie!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We're thrilled you found Sweet Mama's, too! We're so glad you enjoyed our omelets and eggs over easy. We try our best to cook them perfect every time, and we're glad you appreciated our efforts.

How do you think we could improve our service? Do you have any other suggestions for us? Your feedback helps us improve things going forward. Thank you for your review, and we hope to hear back from you soon.

All the best,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Really good food = sad results!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I used to frequent this spot often because I lived close enough to walk. The food is really good with awesome special items every night.

Here's why I no longer go:

1. Through a dispute with Orange County, they now serve everything on Styrofoam plates and plastic ware. When spending close to $20 on an entree I don't want the experience of my knife going through the bottom of my plate.

2. My biggest complaint is the wait staff. I'm a minimum 20% tipper, more where I frequent often. I find the people here quite attentive and friendly if they are serving me, but if someone else is they act like they've never seen me before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fotojo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owners at Sweet Mama's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review back in April. We're so glad that you love our food, but we're disappointed that you no longer choose to eat here. As you mentioned, for a few years we were required to serve our food on paper plates due to a dispute with our landlord. Luckily, we have recently moved to a new location and will be able to use real plates and silverware when we reopen in a few weeks!

We're also sorry about your experience with our wait staff. We try our best to make every diner feel comfortable and valued. Thanks very much for this feedback. We will certainly improve on this front, and we hope you give us another visit.

Sincerely,
Lisa & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Mama's Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Mama's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing