We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Buffet Okay but Prime Rib is Super Delicious”
Review of The Garden Grove

The Garden Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Garden Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #816 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The SWAN and DOLPHIN resorts are not Disney properties, but are in DisneyWorld. Both have excellent restaurants and are included in the Disney transportation routes.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seafood Buffet Okay but Prime Rib is Super Delicious”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We took my dad here on April 25th as we loved it when we stayed at the neighboring Boardwalk Villas last month. He is a huge seafood fan. He really enjoyed the snapper, lobster and seafood salad. My husband and I are not huge seafood fans. The prime rib cooked to our liking was fantastic and the mashed potatoes were outstanding. My lobster was good but my husband's was undercooked so really rather off putting. Our parking was validated so I don't know if that is new since many complained about having to pay for parking. Overall, we really enjoyed the dinner. We live in the area and will be back for the prime rib and potatoes for sure! Well worth every penny. We think it was better than Fleming's Sunday Prime Rib.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetset1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    149
    124
    79
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth your money.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

First of all it cost over $18 just to park. The front reception was not friendly at all. Our waiter was kind, but very difficult to understand. The salad bar did not have much of a variety. The soups however were delicious. We were not seated in the main area like in the picture. Instead we were located on the outside with a tall barrier making it difficult to see and characters. Goofy and Pluto came by once to our table. That was all we saw of them. I would not classify it as character dining. The food was good but expensive. We were very disappointed overall as our four year old son was expecting much more interaction and we were expecting more for our money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JaclynFost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Friday night seafood buffet with Disney characters!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this hidden gem of a Disney character meal at the Swan hotel. It is very important to know that this restaurant, like all others at the Swan and Dolphin DO NOT TAKE the Disney dining plan but they do offer discounts to Disney cast members, DVC members, Tables in Wonderland card holders and AAA members. The Friday night seafood buffet is only $36.99 and includes all you can eat crab legs, prime rib, salmon, ceviche, shrimp and so much more. Each adult also gets a half stuffed lobster as part of their meal. Kids can add the lobster for an extra $10. We have food allergies in our family and the staff went out of their way to make sure that we had plenty of delicious safe food to eat. Our server Latif was very friendly and helpful. The chefs were also very patient with our food allergy issues and made us feel special rather than a nuisance for needing special accommodations.

The characters on Friday night are Goofy, Pluto and Chip & Dale. Each one came by our table at least twice so we had plenty of interaction time with the characters.

We will most definitely be back here and have already recommended this meal to several friends traveling to Disney.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLord47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Not part of the Disney meal plan!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our party of 27 unfortunately found out after eating our food that they are not part of the Disney meal plan. Needless to say we were faced with major sticker shock! Their website clearly says they are a Disney World Resort and the manager's response when we asked why we were not told when we made the reservation was...we don't let large parties know that!?!?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtrimbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesepeake, va
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Did the theme dinner with the kids - they loved it and the food was good! This definitely is a gem - our first time to Disney and our character experience was great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Justcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grove also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing