We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome character buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Grove

The Garden Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Garden Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #897 of 3,762 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The SWAN and DOLPHIN resorts are not Disney properties, but are in DisneyWorld. Both have excellent restaurants and are included in the Disney transportation routes.
Middletown, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome character buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

After seeing some of the reviews, i'll preface this one by saying I went on a friday for the seafood buffet. Delicious, fantastic, i freakin loved it! Pluto came by twice, two chippendale chipmunks came by once, and minnie came by once. The characters were great with my toddler and took a bunch of pictures with us. Back to the food .... Great food on the buffet line and one lobster per person they bring to ur table that was .... Well i guess delicious fits here too. Our waiter was great and everyone i observed se to be enjoying themselves at the place! If ur looking for a character meal, this place is the place to be on their buffet day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Acamalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    144
    119
    76
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“SO OVERPRICED!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food was really very good and the service by Kate was outstanding, but over a hundred bucks for 2 adults and a 3 yr old for a character dinner with Goofy and Pluto? Are you kidding? AND we had to ask the hostess stand if they were going to come by our table after 45 minutes...when I was about to get dessert. Granted, the entrees came with 3 sides, a salad/soup/dessert bar BUT no drinks. A child apple juice was four dollars and her mac and cheese was eighteen. Glad she had a great time, we will NOT be back here for any meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank arcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“typical Disney restaurant ripoff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

i find it hard to believe that many Disney World visitors don't feel the same way I do about eating at Disney: the unconscionable prices paid at the restaurants leave such a bad taste in my mouth (pun intended) that they literally ruin the rest of the trip. Case in point: Garden Grove at the Swan Hotel. This was the only character dinner I could book that fit our schedule and could seat my wife and 5 kids. The first major disappointment was getting handed the menus, which limited the choices to only 3 options for the kids and 4 for the adults. We checked the menu online before going, and they had all kinds of the usual fare listed, but when we got there, we only had 4 options, the cheapest of which was $30, beverage not included. The kids menu was even worse: spaghetti, flatbread pizza, or mac and cheese, all for $18 each. I spent nearly $100 on 5 crappy kids dinners that they complained about and barely ate, except for the mac and cheese. I won't waste any more of my time on this miserable meal that set me back over $200 but it goes a long way towards canceling out all the fun my kids have at the parks and makes my wife and I think twice about coming to Disney again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank challmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service and Desserts were the only good things for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our first meal after getting into town. We were starving! I opened the menu to find a total of four different main entre choices, none of which sounded like anything I wanted to eat. We almost left, but had ordered drinks and didn't want to create any scene.. The choices were: prime rib, organic chicken, salmon or chefs veggie mess. It was neat seeing the characters, but like any character experience on site, you get clobbered with expensive meals that usually aren't that good. Our server did a great job and was on top of things. The desserts were good as well. But then again, for the $150 ticket, including to $18 kids meals that were pretty sad, the service should be good. I got the potato hash as a side and it was a pretty sorry looking round thing on my plate that tasted worse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleSecretProbatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great selections & fresh flakey pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although we dined like royalty the night before, we thought we might be able to squeeze a few more calories to "fuel" up for the drive home. Buffets can be hit or miss especially if warm to hot food is preferred, however the Garden Grove remedies that concern by offering eggs, any style, made to order. I couldn't contain myself with the selection of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt as well as pastries, croissants, home fries, sausage links, bacon and the rest of those less than healthy, but oh so got to have items you crave. Did I mention the pastries? Fresh with a capital F, not made ahead, frozen and then thawed. Truly sinful, you can't stop at one, so have 3 or 4 or more. Starting diet soon! Adult buffet is $21.99 per person and includes coffee or tea and juice. Definitely more economical than ala carte, perhaps harder on your tummy, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon34657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grove also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing