We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Grove

The Garden Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Garden Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #860 of 3,632 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The SWAN and DOLPHIN resorts are not Disney properties, but are in DisneyWorld. Both have excellent restaurants and are included in the Disney transportation routes.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My family & I LOVE character dining...their were 2 characters that did interact wonderfully with our son, which really isn't much...however the food was mediocre at best. We were staying on property but opted to go somewhere else for the final character meal of our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babycakesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    131
    109
    67
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Walk a few steps to the Dolphin and bypass this disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located in the Swan Disney World resort. Our family went for breakfast; looked like all the buffet food had been sitting under warming lights FOREVER. Really horrible. The omelet plate was not working so they had to make the omelets at one of the other restaurants. By the time they brought it over, of course, it was cold. The food selection is realy poor; bland and no selection. I can find "characters" at Disney World, at least I won't be hungry, don't pay for that. Our server, who was wonderful, spent most of her morning apologizing to all the guests. We had breakfast across the way at the Dolphin's Fresh Mediterranean Market the day before...Delish, go there; fresh, lots of variety with healthy eating choices. Excellent service and if you do like buffets, this one is much better. $$$ are all comparable so bypass the Garden Grove.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Most reasonable character dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate here on a Mediterranean night. The buffet had plenty of good choices. On this particular night, Pluto and Goofy were at dinner. They seemed to give a lot of attention to the kids in the room (we were 2 adults, so while we did get pictures with the characters, they didn't spend a ton of time with us). We were staying at the Swan (that's where it's located), so it was very convenient. If I wasn't staying there, I probably wouldn't make a a special trip, but it was very good. If you are a family who wants a reasonably priced character experience, however, this is a good bet- some of the others are outrageously priced and hard to get reservations at.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msmileyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“expensive breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My daughter and I had the breakfast buffet at this restaurant. The food was average tasting, nothing special. It was breakfast, scrambled eggs, French toast, etc. but when the bill came and it cost $51.50 for the two of us to eat, I about fell off my chair!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSuslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the best service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Sat for 20 minutes before finally asking for some service! Not what we are used to in the USA. Finally when we did get service we had to remind the server twice for a glass of water and coffee. However food was good so satisfied in the end.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborrrrrrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grove also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing