We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Grove

The Garden Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Garden Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #865 of 3,745 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The SWAN and DOLPHIN resorts are not Disney properties, but are in DisneyWorld. Both have excellent restaurants and are included in the Disney transportation routes.
florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

accepted that cost would be high. buffet actually included orange juice and coffee so that was major plus. friend had to pay 2.00 for a take-out cup for milk.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ncftrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    144
    119
    76
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
168 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“BBQ buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a nice buffet, not a ton of choices but decent. Goofy and Pluto came around and since it was not crowded had a lot of time to interact. A little pricey but it is in Disney so you pay. Waitress was great, sweet and helful. I heard Med and seafood night are not as good. This is a nice alternative to the Disney buffets since it is at the Swan. Dining plan is NOT accepted and they do not validate parking for Tables in Wonderland. Valet is $20 and they are a snotty lot.
I am really hoping to try breakfast here as I have heard that is very good as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nguyens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and not much food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

$103 for 3 people and the buffet was very very limited. Sorry but I would avoid this place! The value was not worth it. Even if some of the disney characters came out and let you take pictures.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank floorman726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good place for Peaceful Character Dinners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have visited the Garden Grove for breakfast and for dinner on a number of occasions over the past 9 years. As our most recent visits have been for dinner, however, I will limit my review to dinner.

The Garden Grove has for the past few years had buffet character dinners every night of the week. For a number of years, Timon and Rafiki appeared on two nights, and Goofy and Pluto appeared on the other five nights. During my most recent visit in September 2012, I was surprised to learn that Goofy and Pluto are there every night, plus Chip and Dale are there on Friday evening only. When there are two characters, they come out individually for half hour shifts. If you are there for an hour, you will easily see both characters.

The reason why I say in my title that the Garden Grove has peaceful character meals is that most Disney World character meals are close to bedlam, both in crowd size and noise level. However, because the Swan and Dolphin are Starwood hotels, their restaurants are not on the Disney Dining Plan, which means many WDW tourists won't ever consider eating there. Also, the Swan and Dolphin attract many conventioneers, who aren't much interested in character meals unless they have brought kids with them. As a result, on all of my dinner visits over the years, there have never been all that many kids there. As a result, the noise level is much lower than what exists at the typical character meal, plus there is plenty of time for the characters to interact with any kids and adults who want to greet them.

As far as the food goes, the buffets alternate by day. Friday is the fish buffet, which is more money than the other buffets. I have not been there on a Friday. I have, however, been there for the Mediterranean buffet (last month), and for the Southern BBQ buffet (in 2010). In both cases, there was a large selection of food, plus a separate area for kids' food (and if you have a picky eater like my wife with you, adults can take items from the kids' area if they wish). I would have to say, however, that the best part of the buffets in my view are the desserts, as they have a multitude of sample-size desserts. However, the one thing that doesn't make a lot of sense is that some of the desserts are in narrow glasses that are too small for the spoons they give you. In any event, I would eat at the Garden Grove during a future trip to WDW.

One final tip: we have been eating dinner there at around 5:30 on each of our trips. As noted in other reviews, the place is usually pretty dead then, but starts to get busier around 6:30, so go early for maxium peacefulness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Dined here for breakfast all week. Omelets are really good and so is the coffee. Lots to choose from. I am hungry again thinking about it.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grove also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing