We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed one night...good to me!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canada Drive Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canada Drive Hotel and Suites
Ranked #273 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stayed one night...good to me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife just took a short trip overnight from Tampa just for Universal's City Walk. We booked for outstanding rate from getaroom.com because if the proximity to Universal. I will say I had my reservations about this place, but simply just needed a spot to rest for the night. I will say when we got in the room it was a spacious king suite, with a living room like space. It had microwave, fridge, and bar area, plus couch and tv in that room. In the room with bed it had flat screen and regular room amenities. The shocker was the bathroom. Maybe they gave us the handicapp room but the bathroom was big enough to put a full size bed in it. Everything looked clean and was. We had no problems that night besides parking when we got back, but the receptionist let us park our car by the front door since there was a lack of parking on the property, so heads up. Overall good stay for me for one night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    185
    159
    69
    104
See reviews for
294
97
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I am a tour operator and have stayed at this hotel for the past three years for up to 3 weeks at a time with my group. It is true this is not a 4-star hotel but since Quality Inn bought this property last year they have done several upgrades to make this a more pleasant place to stay. They have replaced all mattresses, most of the couches, all new flat-screen TVs and just a few months ago have replaced carpets in all the rooms. I assure you that if this place was as bad as some of the reviews, my group would not keep coming back with me. Yes, everything may not be perfect but we find that if something needs to be looked after, housekeeping & maintenance are quick to accommodate and do it in a friendly manner. I do hope that the next thing they update is their breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHRIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place was ok, we stayed for 2 nights and it met our needs for the price. Room was a little outdated and the TVs definitely need to be upgraded. Of course since we were visiting Orlando we had no plans on spending much time in the room other than to sleep, so it met our needs there. I didn't like the fact that we could not check in an hour early without an additional fee, especially after a 17 hour car ride. The breakfast wasn't too bad, and we did not have any issues when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

breakfast was a joke,the coffee come out a machine and tasted foul,some kind of flat eggs and sausages,plastic plates and knife and forks.3 toasters ,one was broken but kept getting plugged in.the staff were miserable buggers too,walking around with long faces like they couldnt care less and you asked them for anything it was too much trouble.the best thing was the bananas and then they didnt have any on our last day.room was dated with no kettle,just coffee perculator,beds were small doubles,4ft,constant drone of bathroom extractor fans from neighbouring rooms,curtains that let in the light.I wore earplugs and eye mask.to cap it all,we were charged a service charge on our credit card.we wont be going there again.the best thing about the place was the location,just down the road from universal studios and wet and wild.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Purfleet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during September this year and was disgusted with the poor level.The hotel is in need of a complete renovation.Rooms are dirty and the electrics are dangerous.I chose this hotel from a Thomson travel agents.Their description was completely false.I only slept there one night out of the fourteen i had booked and had to move out.When i complained to Thomson about their selected hotel, they were not interested and chose to ignore my complaint without taking any action.Two other couples i met at the hotel also booked this hotel with Thomson, and also left after one night.I would never use this hotel or Thomson again, and i am a regular visitor to Florida.Please do not consider this hotel under any circumstances.Thomson should be ashamed to use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Do Yourself a Huge Favor and Stay Away form this Hotel at All Cost... seemed like a nice hotel to book ...boy was I Wrong! went to bed at night after a Long day at the parks...only to find when I woke up that my family and I were being eaten ALIVE by BED BUS while we were Sleeping.... woke up with bites all over my upper back and arms.. immediately called the front desk only to here they would only change my sheets for me...went up to the front desk to ask to speak to the manager....he returned the call to the front desk but Would Not talk to me... Great Hospitality right!...got my family together and left the hotel... absolutely ruined our vaction..upon arriving home my family and I had to go to the Hospital for my Bed Bug bites..were given a cream and a Antibiotics...3 days later finally got ahold of the manager...who refused to do Anything about my problem...Very Rude and non apologetic..Would NEVER Stay at this hotel again... and would advise the same for Anyone planing on staying there...you have been WARNED!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a good hotel if you plan to expend your day in the parks and need a convenient inexpensive place to sleep.
Rooms are fine and clean, however, the corridors, elevator and lobby are a little bit outdated.
Breakfast consist of toast, coffee, fruits, juices and cereal. The only hot items are: sausage patties, pancakes and waffles (that you make yourself). Not a great thing, but it'll save you time and money.
The staff at the main desk is not particularly friendly, tough.

Final word: the hotel is not great, but convenient. Try to ignore those reviews that expect to have Ritz standards and pay $40 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Econo Lodge International
#216 of 335 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Drive Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Drive Hotel and Suites

Property: Canada Drive Hotel and Suites
Address: 7400 Canada Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8282 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada Drive Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite property one block off International Drive with easy access to Universal Studios, Sea World, Disney World. Our 154 spacious suites overlook a lushly landscaped courtyard with an outdoor pool and hot tub. Each is equipped with two televisions, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, hairdryer and individual coffeemaker, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, local calls, high-speed Internet access and transportation to Universal Studios and Sea World. On site laundry facilities and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Canada Drive Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Suites Orlando Near Universal Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing