We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characters in Flight”

Characters in Flight
Ranked #80 of 428 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Have you ever had a dream of flying, where you are gently floating among the clouds? You will gently float over the Disney Springs area of the park, in the world’s largest tethered helium balloon. When considering your vacation itinerary and you are searching for things to do in Orlando get ready for the the most peaceful but exhilarating Adventure of your vacation, a ride on the Characters In Flight Balloon is a MUST Do Experience! as you gently ascend 400 feet in the air.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Characters in Flight”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My group tried on two separate days to get onto the Characters in Flight balloon ride at Downtown Disney, and both times the ride was closed "due to wind". One worker said that it is better to come in the mornings and that flights at night may or may not go up. They were willing to take people down to the balloon for photos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oaktoncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    93
    29
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Sorry... but too many $’s for too short a ride.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Characters in Flight at Downtown Disney
Sorry but too many $’s for too short a ride.

You definitely want to call before going if your objective is the balloon ride as operation is frequently shut down due to weather conditions. I had called several times Tuesday and Wednesday to ask if the ride was operational and each time I was told it might be up later in the day or evening. I called again about 7:00 PM and was told they were operating so we (wife and some friends from Kentucky) headed over. Parking was filling up fast and the whole of Downtown Disney was awash with people. Looked like Disney on a busy evening. We walked around a bit and then headed to the balloon. Arrived at 8:30 and got in a not too long of a line. I was hoping to get on the balloon at 9:00 but it wasn’t looking promising as the balloon was up and down fairly fast. Turns out the whole ride only last 10 minutes from takeoff to touchdown. I don’t know how many it can hold but this evening (possibly due to wind) they were only taking small groups of 6 or 8.

We couldn’t have timed it better as we lifted off at 9:01 PM (4/9/14) and were able to see a few minutes of the EPCOT fireworks. The balloon swayed a little in the wind and we were told to ‘hang on’; however, other than a little rocking it wasn’t rough. My wife was afraid she would get motion sick (almost refused to get on) but once on she did fine.

Other than being able to say ‘I rode the Characters In Flight Balloon’ the 10 minute (total time) flight cost too much for what it is. Yes, the ride is OK and the view is nice, however, it’s over before it begins.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great way to see the views of Downtown Disney and Orlando area. After rising to 350ft the pilot was great pointing out the landmarks visible from the balloon including Spaceship Earth at Epcot and Tower Of Terror at Hollywood studios. We took a day flight and a night flight both highly recommended. Reasonable ticket prices too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“How do your balloon ride over downtown Disney”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What a great idea to see downtown Disney from the air! Reasonable ticket prices and a fun ride. You could see all over Orlando from the balloon at 350 feet high... But you were tethered to the dock. Really great family fun!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was a little nervous about going up since I do get motion sickness and have some fear of height. None of it mattered this was a magical experience. We went in early evening so landmarks were still visible. It was amazing. The pilot did a great job letting us know what to expect with the balloon as well as pointing out interesting sights. Highly recommend especially with the groupon available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank slkallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters in Flight also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Characters in Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing