We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have used Florida dolphin tours first in May/june 2011 and again in may 2013, love these guys, simply the best!!!! xxxx”

Florida Dolphin Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Kennedy Space Center Day Trip with Transport from Orlando
More Info
$128.99*
and up
Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando
More Info
$118.99*
and up
Crystal River Manatee Snorkeling and Everglades Airboat Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hop on board with Orlando's #1 sightseeing tour and excursion company as we take you on an adventure you will never forget. You can blast off with us at Kennedy Space Center and learn all about NASA's past, present and future plans with the space program. If you are on the adventurous side you can choose from our options of swimming with the manatees or swimming with the dolphins. Both of these options include Airboat Rides, speaking of Airboat Rides did we mention we do Airboat Rides everyday. Maybe you are looking for a relaxing day, Clearwater Beach, Miami, and Cocoa are the top spots to relax on the beach, be sure to check out all of our options for these activities. Looking for a night out on the town? Our limousines will come pick you and your party up as you arrive in style at Planet Hollywood, CityWalk or Character Dinners. Ask about our Character Breakfast as well. If you are wanting to check out a NBA, MLS, or NFL game we are the company that can make all this happen for you as well. Sit back, relax and let Florida Dolphin Tours show you the best of the sunshine state and take care of all your holiday needs.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

first used these guys in may/june 2011, did about 4 different trips with them and because they were so good booked with them again this year, may 2013, only haqd time for one trip but chose the miami, south beach, dolphin trip, amazing airboat ride, 7 yr old son, chuffed at being able to hold a baby aligator and snake!, took the boat ride out of Bayside, interesting and beautiful scenery, overnight stay, hit Lincoln road, buzzing!!, key largo with the dolphins will never forget did it with eldest son in 2011 and took youngest son this time, trainers are patient and the dolphins love it, vidoe and pics to look back on, followed by a couple of hours on south beach, bliss!!! madeline, u made this trip! saving up to come back in another 2 years time!!! thanks for making our holiday special , sharon stalley xx

Thank sharon44557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,382 - 1,386 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

First off, I'll say it again - swimming with Dolphins is just breathtaking... For that experience alone, I wouldn't hesitate in taking this excursion. I bought my tickets through attraction tickets direct, recommended by the UK Money Saving Expert site - though the tour itself is through Florida Dolphin Tours and you could book directly with them.

Right, down to the review.
Price was around £190 for a 2 day trip from Orlando, down to Miami with a stop for an airboat ride through the everglades, a hotel stay in Miami's South Beach area & a 1 hour swimming interaction with Dolphins at Key Largo. Yes, you could probably organise all the individual parts yourself and drive down yourself for a little saving, but for me, the £40 saving didn't compete with not having to worry about traffic, parking, directions, tickets, etc.

For two days, for two unbelievable - once in a lifetime days, leave the car at the hotel and let someone else take the strain.

And on that note; "taking the strain" was Maxine - our tour guide who was friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. She was very much in control and bonded with every tour guest & really made it feel relaxed - she had it covered. Herman was our driver. He's a funny guy with a great rapport between him & Maxine. His driving is steady and controlled - even when having to take avoiding action on the highway because of other idiot drivers.

The drive down is long (about 4 hours) but there are rest breaks at service stations on the way down & back. There was no toilet on the coach.

The airboat ride is just off the highway and takes you right into the everglades with alligators and other wildlife right alongside your airboat. After the ride you get a small talk and presentation in the next door wildlife centre with the option to hold an alligator (baby one) and a snake - even if you hate the idea, close your eyes and hold them! For one, they make great pictures, full of fear but hilarious for friends and family, but for another - you can say "I did it", regardless of fear.

Miami South Beach is lovely. It's like a beach attached to a city, attached to a 1930's time portal where rich pensioners take their miniature dogs for walks. The sunset was incredible.

The dolphin swim occurs in Key Largo in a small facility off a tidal salt water river. The water is saltwater but closed off from the river by fences so you're not exposed to anything dangerous. The water is warm and about 15ft deep. You're provided with life preservers but you do need to be able to kick and tread water. From the moment you enter the water, you're allocated a dolphin (mine was called Grace) and the trainer tells you what to do and then tells the dolphin what to do. The dolphins seem to love being around people and seem well cared for & happy. Interactions include holding dolphin 'hands', belly rubs, strokes,jumping through hoops, jumping over poles, superman swims (dolphin pushes), dolphin hugs and kisses.

I'm 31 and I found this magical. I was gutted when my time came to an end and I had to say goodbye to Grace but I have some great pictures and some wonderful memories. The facility takes pictures during your visit and you can buy some or all of these as pictures or JPG CDs for a reasonable cost. A CD of all images (mine contained around 140 images) for $89; that was for both me and my partner in the water so it really was worth it - saved us getting our camera out and asking a stranger to take some pictures.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this company and this product.

Although - one word of caution / advice: The hotel in Miami is 1930's deco from the outside and 1930's deco from the inside. Rooms are useable and clean but dated. The music from the bar didn't stop until 2am but if you're bothered by this music (you'll hear it when you check in) ask to move room (the company own three hotels in a row so they may even move you next door - even quieter). This isn't the tour companies fault per se but worth thinking about if you wanted to sort your own accomodation elsewhere.

Thank atc_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Said it all in the title. We did the 2 day miami, everglades and dolphin tour. Amazing value for money, particularly swimming with dolphins. Really friendly, funny and helpful tour guide and driver. South beach is really cool and you spend just the right amount of time there. Highlight was the airboat ride! Definately recommend these guys!

Thank L55tjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where do I start, Pete the coach driver really made this trip he was a laugh a minute, very informative and well organised. Pete really made this and made sure we were always ahead of the game with his advice on the routes to take in Kennedy Space Centre. The Airboat ride was absoloutely spot on and was miles better than I and my 8 year old expected. Pete kept us all entertained and was punctual and always stuck to his word and made sure everybody had a great time and my son really took a shine to him. Definitely the best trip of my 2 weeks holiday and would definitely recommend Florida Dolphin Tours. I won't hesitate to use this company again on my next trip to Florida. Well Done Pete and Florida tours keep up the good work. Paul & Oliver

Thank 321Rennie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Top company! We booked two tours through Florida Dolphin Tours and we were so pleased we did! they simply were one of the best tour operators we have used. We went to Kennedy Space Center on 8th May, our driver Pete was absolutely brilliant, very informative, helpful and funny! My boyfriend proposed to me at Kennedy and once back on the bus Pete even announced it to the whole bus which was very nice. On 13th May we took a trip on a Airboat safari and then on to gatorland. Once again the experience was nothing but excellent with Dolphin tours, driver was excellent and organisation for the day was brilliant. We cant wait to go back to Florida and use Dolphin tours again.

Thank DebsEngland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Dolphin Tours also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Florida Dolphin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing