We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb break during our Animal Kingdom experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanaa

Sanaa
Ranked #40 of 3,677 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $36
Cuisines: Indian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sanaa serves African cuisine with Indian flavors for lunch and dinner at Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas — Kidani Village in Walt Disney World Resort.Sanaa means ""artwork"" in Swahili, and as its name suggests, Sanaa offers its Guests beautifully prepared food, served in an artistic atmosphere with a stunning view of the savanna.Before dinner, relax in the comfortable lounge beside the spacious dining room. Once you're seated, choose from an array of delectable, African-inspired dishes.
Jessheim
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A superb break during our Animal Kingdom experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Previously, we have eaten at the Yak and Jeti restaurant in the Asia section of the Animal Kingdom... however, this time we decided to make a reservation at the Sanaa restaurant at the Animal Kingdom lodge area in order to get away from park for some time. That was an excellent Choice. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very good, the restrooms had very good standard.... We really enjoyed our mango cocktails, the starter sampler of Samosa and two other dished was very taste. Our party of four chose four different naan signature sandwiches of chicken, bison, shrimp and lamb resp, and we were all pleased With our Choices. The dessert trio was so great along With a glass of amarullah and a cup of coffee.. The Tanzanian chocolate mousse was Heavenly, but we thoroughly enjoyed the chai cup and carrot cake too...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelgeMorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    448
    164
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
361 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Amazing food while watching wild animals roam around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sanaa is special. It's one of Disney's African themed restaurants and unique because the restaurant overlooks the "savannah" where many of the wild animals are free to roam around. While dining, we were "entertained"by the giraffes, wildebeests, African cranes, zebras etc. frolicking in their open space. The decor of the restaurant is charming, the staff are very attentive and knowledgeable regarding the menu but best of all, the food is amazing. We had the assortment of breads with our choice of 3 dipping sauces. It was followed by two of the slow cooked meals (note: you get to pick two meats for each slow cooked lunch). We tried the beef short ribs, the fish in curry sauce, butter chicken and spicy Durban chicken with both basmati rice and brown/wild rice. All four things were fantastic! Hard to pick a favorite. We lapped up every last drop of gravy with the wonderful pieces of Naan bread and were completely satisfied. Lunch for the two of us came $68.00 including tax and tip. A bit on the high side for lunch but well worth it. If this is beyond your budget, you can get less expensive items such as sandwiches and salads--all of which looked yummy as they went by. We will definitely go back for another great meal in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Interesting and different food. Ask for Savannah view when you make your reservation so you can see the animals, because only a few tables are near the windows. We enjoyed our dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food and relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on the dining plan, so the cost of the meal did not matter as much to us. The server allowed us to get smoothies as our drink. My husband ordered the steak and I ordered the shrimp. Both were very delicious. The restaurant was quiet and relaxing, a rare occurrence in Disney World where most of the dining is loud and rushed. We couldn't really see any animals from where we were sitting but we did wander outside afterward and saw a number of zebras. The desserts were delicious as well and our server was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank writersblock42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
304 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Disney's hole in the wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We received great service - we ate at lunch time. The alcoholic drinks were spot on with a good balance. The food well prepared, adventurous, and delicious. Naan bread with 3 choices for dipping sauces I highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ms.LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanaa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sanaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing