We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best ever Disney dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanaa

Sanaa
Ranked #40 of 3,678 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $36
Cuisines: Indian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sanaa serves African cuisine with Indian flavors for lunch and dinner at Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas — Kidani Village in Walt Disney World Resort.Sanaa means ""artwork"" in Swahili, and as its name suggests, Sanaa offers its Guests beautifully prepared food, served in an artistic atmosphere with a stunning view of the savanna.Before dinner, relax in the comfortable lounge beside the spacious dining room. Once you're seated, choose from an array of delectable, African-inspired dishes.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best ever Disney dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I had some concerns about the food at Sanaa since I am not generally an adventurous eater and spicy food isn't my thing - but I knew I'd love the atmosphere and it was my daughter's pick of a spot to celebrate her college graduation. The setting is outstanding. To be able to eat at a table right next to the window and see the giraffes, birds, zebras, and other animals right outside the window is a great experience. Our reservation was at 5:30 and we checked in a little early and were able to get one of the window tables - highly recommended.

The food. was. amazing. We had the bread sampler with all 9 dips, which consisted of sauces, types of hummus, and salsas. Then we split an appetizer sampler and Tandoori Lamb. So wonderful. Some flavors were a little spicy but the flavor was so wonderful you don't mind. You can request things to be a little spicier - but they'll take you seriously! I didn't think the price we bad for a top Disney dining experience. Three of us with two entrees, appetizer, bread sampler, drinks, and after dinner tea came to $79, which isn't bad for the BEST dining we have ever had at Disney.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    448
    164
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
268 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food! And the animals eating with you are fun too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This restaurant is at Animal Kingdom Lodge. So you need to take a bus from Animal Kingdom. We did not realize this and had to cut our visit to Animal Kingdom short.
The reason we went is to see the animals while we eat. They were also having lunch and each animal came by sometime during our 1.5 hour lunch. All food was delicious! Try the naan sampler with the chutneys. Family had a great time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food but restaurant has an identity crisis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place serves some really good food, mostly based on Indian cuisine but also throws into the mix some western or American concoctions. The atmosphere might be African, but there is nothing about the food that is even remotely African. So despite the identity crisis this restaurant is facing, they do a very good job. Try their bread sampling with 12 different chutneys / dips. You wont regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food - One of our favorite restaurants at Disney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just spent a week at Disney and ate at Sanaa at least four times. Each time the food and service was incredible! We tried many of their dishes and found them all to be wonderful. The butter chicken was divine and you can't go without trying the pickled garlic appetizer. I highly recommend it. As with all of Disney's restaurants, it is a little pricey, but the dining plan makes it more affordable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dbeach2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sanaa Animal Kingdom Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant, located at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, overlooks the lodge's "African Savanna". As you sit to eat your dinner, you look out the window and see giraffes and zebras walking by. The food has an African theme and was very tasty, but the main reason for dining here is the atmosphere. While waiting for our table, we were able to walk outside to an outdoor viewing area for a closer look at the animals. It truely is a very unique dining experience. Advance reservations are highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanaa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sanaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing