We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in November and this was the hotel with best location. I would suggest to stay on Disney property due to the transportation between all the resorts and park. Overall this was a truly magical trip for my husband and I.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed at the Bay Lake Tower in a 1-bedroom accomodation. We are DVC members and recently bought points for this resort. We were eager to stay here since it was new, we own here now, and it was within walking distance to the Magic Kingdom.

We were very impressed, but to be honest, when haven't we been impressed with a DVC resort?? The check-in process is streamlined with the online check-in now, and you check in at the Contemporary and then walk over to Bay Lake.

We had a lagoon view. Our room was gorgeous. Not exactly my style in decor, but very stylish and hip. The floor to ceiling windows are beautiful. At night, at 10:10 p.m., there is a lighted pageant across Bay Lake, complete with music. The walk to Magic Kingdom is short, maybe a 5 minute walk. There is easy access to the Contemporary for the monorail, if you wish, through a skywalk. We watched the fireworks one night from the skywalk. The pool area is beautiful and and overlooks Bay Lake!

Everything was perfect. The only thing I didn't like, but it wasn't terrible, and this is common with a few resorts, is that you need to walk over to the Contemporary for any food, drinks and mug refills. This isn't terrible, like I said, but can be annoying if you forgot to buy extra milk for baby bottles and realize at night you need milk. It would be nice if there was a little convenience area in Bay Lake Tower, with some snacks, drinks and toiletries.

Overall, we were very pleased and will definitley stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

With so many positive reviews, we thought we would love Bay Lake Towers.  Instead, we were really disappointed.  The DVC studio is incredibly small and poorly laid out.  Unbelievably, the bathroom door does not completely close.  It is a slider door and when the door is slid shut there is still a 1/2 gap between the door and the wall.  Besides the obvious lack of privacy, steam from showering seeps into room adding to the already high humidity in the cramped quarters.  Equally objectionable is the fact that the bathroom sink is located in the same alcove as the kitchen sink.  Basically, you brush your hair and/or shave then turn around to toast a bagel or make coffee.  It is not appetizing or very sanitary.  

On a positive note, the location is extremely convenient with monorail access close by.  Bay Lake Towers is, in essence, an extension of the Contemporary.  The pool area is very nice and many rooms have spectacular views.  

On our 5 night stay, we found the Resort Monorail a bit crowded with delays.  The express monorail was fine.  With so many rooms at Bay Lake Towers, additional capacity on the monorail may be required.  

In conclusion, don't expect much space in the studio.  If you are looking for space and privacy Old Key West is a far better option.  But if you plan on hitting the parks all the time and you are a big Magic Kingdom fan then go ahead and check out Bay Lake Towers.  However, you might want to use extra points and get a one bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank droraback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We had a lovely 5 night stay at Bay Lake Tower. I was a bit worried about the size of the one bedroom suite as we were 3 adults and 2 small children, but we all fit in very comfortably. The best feature were the 2 full size bathrooms - one of them quite large. We also liked the fully equipped kitchen and spacious living/dining area. The children loved watching the magic kingdom fireworks from the balcony and enjoyed swimming in the pool. Location was handy and having the monorail was a plus. The only thing that we didn't like was the quality and variety of food in the restaurants and room service. Like the rest of Disney Resort and its theme parks, the food was very ordinary , tasteless and unimaginative. We tried different options - room service, fast food , buffets, "fine dining". After a couple of days I decided to cook our own meals as we all quickly tired of pizza, nuggets, burgers, etc... We were so happy then that we had that great kitchen in our suite at Bay Lake!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. We are Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton type travellers, and anytime we don't stay in a hotel like that, we don't expect much (and usually don't get much). This was different. First of all, we were upgraded from a 1 bedroom MK view suite to a 2 bedroom. It was HUGE. There were 3 full bathrooms. Marble countertops, undermount sinks, stainless steel, luxury linens, soft supportive mattresses, tons of pillows, nice toiletries, flat screen tvs in every room....and the view. We were dead center on the magic kingdom and saw the castle changing colors with the holiday lights and the fireworks right from our room. I cannot imagine what there is to complain about in this place. The fact that it is walking distance to the MK is awesome too. We used Garden Grocer delivery for grocery delivery, and it was great to have mac and cheese, fruit, cereal, snacks, and those smuckers uncrustables right in our freezer for quick meals for the kids, and stuff to take to the parks with us. We ordered room service as well and it was perfectly fine. Nothing great, but room service never is. The pool at bay lake tower is pretty shaded by afternoon, so at this time of the year, it is cold, so we only spent about an hour there one day. We were only there 3 days so we were in the parks almost the whole time. I would stay there again in a heartbeat--it was great. Nice to be away from the zoo that the main hotel is too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallfry0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Just returned from a week stay during this Thanksgiving break. There were six adult family members and one teenage family member. We had a 2 Bedroom suite so we used the foldout couch for myself and spouse. We slept very comfortably on the foldout sofa--never waking till the morning. There were 3 full bathrooms. A completely furnished kitchen and groceries for breakfast which I had pre-ordered and were delivered ontime by Garden Grocer made everything perfect. The stackable washer and dryer finished all the conveniences any large group could possibly need. Never underestimate monorail proximity--it was great to not have to wait at all hardly for the arrival of the next monorail We had a lake view and it was beautiful to see in the morning when we woke up. Expensive without the free dining now being offered but we were celebrating and it was worth every penny to make it the trip of a lifetime because it was all of that and more....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We are Disney Vacation Club members and we spent 8 nights at Bay Lake Tower in a studio. The studio is perfect for us as my wife and I can share the queen size bed and my 10 year old daughter can sleep on the pull out sofa. The room is snug, but how much time do you really spend there. We had a lake view facing the Contemporary Hotel pool and marina. It was wonderful in the morning when the sun was coming up and every night the water parade was in view at 10:00pm. We decided not to get a Magic Kingdom view room because it's just not worth the extra points to us since the view during the day is basically the parking lot.

The room was very clean and house keeping came in 3 times, which was more than we had expected. We were on the 6th floor which was very convenient to the bridge which goes over to the Contemporary. And it's also a very quick walk to the Magic Kingdom, so we really only used the monorail for trips to EPCOT and the Polynesian resort. The Top of the World lounge is great, but is restricted to Disney Vacation Club members staying at Bay Lake Tower. There is a "pack and play" available in the room as well if you have an infant, but I can't imagine setting it up and having the couch pulled out too. If you have more than 3 people, go for a larger room.

The swimming pool is really great with a fun water slide. There is also a snack bar and a soda station for refillable mugs. If you've been to Disney, then you know all about those. There is also a community center on the first floor with lots of activities for kids including ceramics, video games and coloring.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $555 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing