We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Good Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #31 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The service and friendliness at resort is amongst the best at the Disney properties. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Location is the best of all resorts for the Magic Kingdom. The parks are always kept very clean as well. Here are my concerns: 1) The magic bands are very convenient, but they still have a few bugs to work out 2) The crowds at the park have reached a point where Disney needs to consider restricting admission, finding ways to shorten lines or expand the parks in line with the increased attendance. 3) The food quality at the service restaurants are very good, but the quality at the quick food areas within the resorts and the parks have gone down. 4) The fitness room is poorly designed in the Contemporary. The cardio area has low ceilings above the machines and the weight area is minimal in utility and function (get a fitness expert to design this area better). 5) The rides break down/shut down too frequently. We missed several rides because of extended closure.

We have visited Disney for the last 10 years. The price/value comparison is hitting the point where we are trying to decide if we will ever return. We love the place, but not sure if we are really getting our monies worth at this point versus other vacation options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    395
    124
    42
    20
See reviews for
1,120
169
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just stayed in the Bay Lake Towers in the two bedroom, three bath. We paid $900 a night this hotel doesn't compare to any other hotel that we have stayed within the Disney hotels. The room looks worn and dated. The carpet needs to be replaced. We ordered room service one night for our family of five, after we got in from the parks one night. The food was not edible. My daughters turkey sandwich had a long black hair in it. Then the fries were hard and cold the rest of the food was hard like it had been in a refrigerater uncovered for a couple of days. The price was unbelievable and we didn't even eat it. The next night we tried the cafe downstairs the food was better but, it took forever to get our food. They are way too understaffed to handle all of the people. We stayed for four nights the first night our room was cleaned good. The rest of the days all the cleaning people did was make our beds. They even left the dirty towels in the floor until next day. Last year we stayed at Saratoga Springs which was so much nicer and a lot less expensive. The best hotel is The Grand Floridian which the prices of that hotel are similar to the Contemporary but, they are like night and day. The service, cleanliness and food is wonderful at the Grand Floridian. Don't waist your money on the Contemporary Bay Lake Towers it's not worth it. The only good point about this hotel is the ten minuet walk to the Magic Kingdom and the use of the monorail.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kthom631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great place to stay. Had a 1 bedroom condo with full kitchen and hide a bed. Worked great for our 2 grandsons and us. We would stay here again. Is next to Contemporary with Tram stop within and this building is actually between the Contemporary Resort and Magic Kingdom. Was able to see fireworks at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed in the studio and it was very comfortable. The service was excellent and we enjoyed dinning at the nearby contemporary. It was incredibly convenient to the Magic Kingdom and my family enjoyed the fire works up at the top floor lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Bay Lake Tower at Disney. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with a view of the Magic Kingdom. The room was beautiful with all the amenities you would want including a full kitchen and three full bathrooms. The only complaint that I have is the quality of the drinking water. You could not drink it. We ended up brushing our teeth with bottled water. It is hard to believe that Disney can't find a way to purify the water.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDCUP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

3rd year back, second time to the Bay lake and still love it.
This hotel is perfect if you have young children going to the magic kingdom .
We always have a 1 bed villa which is great as once the kids are down you can chill out.
The only bad point with this hotel is the lack off a bar as you can not use the one at the top of the hotel unless you are a Disney vacation member and the contemporary bar is so small and quite poor really.
So when the kids do go to club Disney (very good) for the night the only really good bar to have a drink is in the Grand floridian.
I will go back again and stay here but i hope they start letting you use the bar even if theres a small charge.
(Our maid who cleaned our you 7435 was excellent )

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

3rd time I've stayed here. If I could permanently rent a room to have as a second home, I would. I love this hotel so much, I really think of this more as an apartment, a place where I could really live. Was here from 8/2-8/6/14 with my 15yr old DS in a Lake View studio room. Love the view, the Electrical Water Pageant, the Monorail, the walk to the MK, the shops, the walkway bridge, the food!!! OMG on this trip, I only ate at Contempo Cafe and room service and the pool at BLT but it is the best food ever!!! (Delicious) with great service. From check-in to check-out and everything in between this hotel offers the absolute best! Stayed on DVC points but would definitely pay the big bucks to stay here. Fortunate that this is a DVC property! Best hotel in the world!!!!!

Room Tip: Request a lake view close to the walkway, 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#66 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Property: Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing