We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable decor with a fantastic view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #30 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Adorable decor with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a nicely-styled, vibrant, modern Disney villa! Loved the room. We spent 3 nights here in a lagoon view studio. It was colorful and comfortable and oh so chic with a spectacular lagoon view! The bathroom is a bit small, but I used the mini-kitchen area as my dressing room. There are no restaurants in Bay Lake, but the Contemporary Resort is a short stroll away. Bedding was very comfortable.

Room Tip: I think the park view rooms are premium, but really, they just look out at parking lots with the Mag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    421
    133
    45
    21
See reviews for
1,205
179
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A year ago, the review I gave was, "magical". This year not so much. For the first time since joining DVC, I was not greeted with a "welcome home" fromthe security gate person. John was down right rude. I get that he may have had a bad day, but there is a Disney standard. He frowned, had us spell our last name 3 times, even though he was holding the driver's license, told me he needed my paperwork, which I had none since I checked in and did everything online. I gave him the reservation number, and he grudgingly let us though. It put a very dark spin on our 17th "Spa Weekend". The people inside were normal friendly DVC people. The room had some problems. The toilet paper holder was loose, the plugs on the desk in the bedroom were loose and not working, and it was dark. The lighting was horrid. My daughter left her debit card in the check folder at Top of the World and got no help whatsoever in finding it. Two days later after canceling the card it was found(at 12:45am).
I enjoy being close to MK and going to the Top of the World lounge. Our spa day was at Shades of Green, so this was nice in that it was close. Next year, I will go back to Wilderness Lodge or Grand Floridian. The plusses didn't make up for the minuses this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is the closest to the Magic Kingdom, therefore if you walk it takes 10 minutes maximum to get to the entrance turnstiles. We had a theme park view for this visit, so it was great for watching the fireworks right before bed but if you don't have the points required for a theme park view you can head up to the Top of The World Lounge and they have a pretty good view of the fireworks (DVC Members Only). We brought most of our food with us but for items like milk, we went to the little shop in the Contemporary (The hotel right across the walkway) and it worked out fine for us. Magic bands made our vacation much more convenient because you don't need to pull a card out of your pocket and you can just scan the little mickey on your wrist to whatever you need to access. For us, Fastpass+ wasn't really needed for most of our park days but we used it a few times. To add onto all of that, the weather was very nice (65-80 degrees for whole trip with little rain). We will definitely be back this next year!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend floor 5 because that's the floor that the walkway is on and it is proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squiidwaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time staying at the Bay Lake Tower and it was a great experience. We had a perfect view of the magic kingdom fireworks and it was also great to sit and relax while watching all the different boats, buses, etc going by. We will definitely stay there again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had another great stay at BLT. This is our home resort for DVC and we love it. The staff is excellent and strive to making your stay memorable. Timed the walk from BLT to the Magic Kingdom, and it took 7 min. That is for a family of six with all four kids 8 and under. My 8 yr old and 6 yr old made the walk, I pushed the other two in a jogging stroller. Had a chance to try The Wave over in the Contemporary hotel. The food was very good. Service was a bit slow, and the theme of the place was not what you are used to at a Disney resort but we were ok with it. Can't wait for our next visit to BLT.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJ525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The state of this hotel is extremely disappointing. For a less than 10 year old hotel of expect a lot more. The furniture and walls were all scuffed, the bathroom's pocket door was almost broken, the lights in the bathroom flickered horribly, there were broken tiles with rust stains in the shower, water stains that hadn't ever been cleaned off of the shower head as well as a very messed up drain topper.
The staff was decent but nothing impressive at either Bay Lake or the Contemporary (which you'll need to get to in order to access the monorail or shopping areas/restaurants).
I will not be returning here until significant improvements are made.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank tellemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The good - second newest DVC property at Disneyworld and just a short 5 mins stroll to the magic kingdom. A 2 min walk to the contemporary gets you on a monorail. Nice! Staff and friendly and the California Grill is the best restaurant on property. Phenom! Magic bands worked brilliantly and are a great addition to the Disney experience - make sure you book your fastpasses in ahead of time up to 60 days out. Booked with David's DVC and loved their great service and prices.

The bad? Rooms (and particularly beds) a but smaller than animal kingdom. TV also felt a little smaller and dodgy picture, definitely worse than at AKL. Worse at 10:30 at night they have abominable, loud water show on the lake. Thanks. Our 4am alarm is only helped by this. Not sure 10:30 is required especiallyw hen the magic kingdom fireworks can be seen at 10. Rooms generally let a lot of noise in (that said parents shouldn't let their darlings run riot at 3:30am either. Deadset morons!) so avoid this one if you are a light sleeper.

Doubt I would stay here again given the choices available elsewhere on Disney property and in other Orlando locales, that's said its clean and a decent location to MK so it's worth a try if you are weighing it up and then you can form your own opinion :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Property: Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing