We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As convenient as you can get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #23 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As convenient as you can get”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The amenities are great, the service is superb, the pools are amazing and well maintained --- and all of that pales to the perfect location. 2 minute walk to the buses to the various parks, 4 minute walk to the monorail, and 10-12 minute walk to the front gate of the Magic Kingdom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    439
    135
    46
    22
See reviews for
1,269
189
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

When we booked our trip to Disney World the only hotel option was Bay Lake Tower. I was not sure I would like it because it seemed to much like a hotel and not our home away from home. When we arrived we were greeted at the door by name by Kris and Ben, they made us feel so welcomed and special. Mary and Andrew who were at the front door also greeted us by name every day we saw them. We also met Alfredo and Renee the Managers, who were very nice and accommodating everyone was very friendly. During the week at Bay Lake Tower we ran into Kris, Andrew and Mary on and off and they always greeted us by name and asked how our vacation was doing. Ben had gone on vacation himself and called us from his vacation to see how our stay was going and if there was anything we needed. We stayed in a one bedroom which we had plenty of room for four adults, it was clean and bright. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you need a couple rooms and an apartment setting and can afford to stay here, you won't be disappointed. This Disney Vacation Club resort offers a whole new Disney experience with the convenience of MK proximity, monorail groceries, wine and restaurants all near by.

The added bonus is the rooftop lounge and viewing area for the fireworks.

The rooms are large and comfortable.

You can't go wrong if they have availabilty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderbird0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central cal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Just got home after spending six nights at the Bay Lake Tower. Let start by saying the staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath room with a full kitchen and laundry room. We had a pool and lake view that was also awesome for watching the thunder storms roll in. The room was clean and I have no complaints about it. The property itself was very well taken care of as most things Disney are.
My minor complaints have to do with the hotel's dining and bar options. There are four eating establishments on site; the California Grill (closed during our stay), the Wave (limited menu), Mickeys Kitchen (character dining buffet), and another semi fast food seat yourself place. What they need is a full service restaurant where you can go get a decent meal without spending $200.00 for a family of four ( ie. The Wave). The other issue I had was the bar situation. We would come in from one of the parks (Epcot, MK) around 1:00 or 2:00 in the afternoon looking for a cold beer or cocktail and all that was available was the Wave lounge. Friendly bartenders but the surroundings left me cold (I know contemporary), not a good place to relax. The Outer Rim bar looked comfortable, but it is only open from 4:30 to 10:00. The Bay Lake Tower has a bar, but it is only available to Vacation Club members. The pool has a bar, but who wants to sit outside to cool off.
If I had to do it over or next time, I would stay within walking distance to Downtown Disney. Plenty of places to eat and drink with choices to please everyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brokecheerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place was surprisingly nice as were the rooms, but in the spirit of critiquing the room, I'll point out my issues with the hotels, which admittedly were few.

We enjoy using the pool later at night, as do many hotel guests. This pool is so brightly lit, it feels like I am standing at the 50 yard line of a football stadium. In the pool, this was only an annoyance, but it made the hot tub unusable. The lights next to the tub were literally ten feet away, attracting thousands of the most heinous bugs I've ever seen. The only thing enjoyable about it was watching the five or six frogs climbing up the light post and chasing down some of the bugs. However, this was the first and last ten minutes we used the hot tub the entire stay. Huge disappointment. The only other complaint was the balcony. It was large and a great hangout, but only two chairs and a tiny table barely large enough to hold two wine glasses.

Yes, I know this sounds like nitpicking, but I'm just trying to point out my disappointments. Overall, I would stay here again, except we were only staying here while they completed the Grand Floridian DVC, which is our home resort. If not for that, I would stay here again. It doesn't have the 'themed feel' of a traditional Disney resort, but it is very nice and has a lot of advantages, especially the proximity to the Magic Kingdom, which is very walkable - a huge help when the mobs leave the park all at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I love staying hear! It's a 5 minute walkto gates of Magic Kingdom! They have a great pool on the lake side of the property. Hey, kids! There is an activity room on the ground floor, complete w/ PS3s. (For those rainy days, of course.) There is a landing and an adults only lounge on 16, great for watching the fireworks! You can also get a private viewing of the fireworks from your them park view suite! The monorail also rides right by! If you are on the lake side, the Epcot fireworks are visible. You also get the Electrical Water Pageant floating by, in the evening! What a view! Dining and transportation are available over in Contemporary, on the ground floor or by a land bridge on 5. But, there is also room service. (You can use your dining plan.) It's not perfect. It could be a little cleaner. But, it's our home away from home when we go to WDW.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic view of the fireworks, lagoon and floating pageant. Even saw Obama as he gave a speech on tourism in mickey's headquarters. Location is great, only thing against it is that it is a little soulless. My daughter complained that it didn't feel like Disney. It is connected by monorail with some of my favourite restaurants and of course the Magic kingdom

Room Tip: I always go for a marina view 10th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janoc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Property: Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing