We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #31 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

stayed here for a week in June 2013. Our villa (with theme park views) was absolutely beautiful. It was extremely comfortable, very clean and quiet. The closeness to the magic kingdom and the contemporary was also a plus. Great to just walk over to the character breakfast instead of having to leave your resort and hour earlier and hope you make it on time with park transportation.

Room Tip: theme park views are great. Can watch the fireworks from your balcony on a night you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed here with extended family (7 of us in all) and we really liked it. We had a two bedroom theme park view "villa". You can tell it's a newer property as everything looks new and well-maintained. It's a short walk to the Magic Kingdom from here which is great. One gripe I have is that there are no shops or places to get a cup of coffee in the tower itself - you have to cross the bridge to the Contemporary Resort. It's not that far but it's still annoying. The water from the tap also tastes funky so it would be nice if they filtered it better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltimoreFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Parking - no issues short walking distance

Pool - Not our favorite Disney resort pools but kids loved the waterslide

Staff - Friendly and helpful

Room - (1 Bedroom Villa) Like the contemporary theme however felt it was a little smaller than the other DVC properties we've stayed at. Kitchen area has a small island counter and had 2 chairs for eating. Living room - pull out beds were comfortable and had plenty of room. Loved the ceiling to floor windows in the living room. Master Bath - Wish there was a little more space between the bed and window opening for the whirlpool. It was too close.

Issues - Dryer timer didn't work. Didn't realize it until we woke up in the morning and realized it was still going for 8 hrs. Reported the problem and told it was taken care of. Next day had the same issue again. After talking to a manager for the second time it was taken care of.

Buses - We didn't use the buses on this trip.

Monorail - Short walk from BLT to get on the monorail. We found it was faster to walk to Magic Kingdom than ride the monorail. However coming back from MK to BLT it was quick taking the monorail.

Dinning - We used the quick service at the Contemporary. It was quick and tasted great. The walk wasn't as far as we expected.

Shops - Near the dinning area there were two shops to purchase gifts. There is also a small shop to purchase food items to cook in your room. Prices weren't terrible but you'll save money purchasing them off site at Walmart or Target.

We had a lake view but wish we would have gotten a park view.

Overall the stay was nice but not our favorite DVC resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having stayed in most of the Disney hotels we had the pleasure of staying in this one. We had a 1 bedroom villa with was great, loads of room and finished to a very high standard. You can walk to the magic kingdom in 7mins and you can use two get pools. I think we will always use this hotel again and a tip would be not to have a magic Kingdom view as the pool lake view is much better and cheaper, you can watch the fire works at 10pm from any floors viewing area and the walk way and you really only need to see them once. If you any lucky enough to be able to get a room then i would choose this over all the other hotels
Dave Claire 3 and 5 year old children

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have traveled many times to Walt disney complex and now that we are DVC members we are taking advantage of staying at BLT, the height of the Disney experience.
-location can't be beat. You are staying practically outside the Magic Kingdom
-2 bedroom villa on 3rd floor. We wanted higher floor but was pleased with our location.
-go for lake view, that view is more interesting, scenic, relaxing and cheaper than magic kingdom view. You will have plenty opportunities to see the view of magic kingdom from the bridge walkway.
-the 2 bedroom was incredibly spacious with 3 full bathrooms which I can see was luxury in comparison to other 2 bedroom villas that we have stayed in.
-modern contemporary decor rooms were well appointed with convenient features had 2 pack and plays located in closets utensils in kitchen just like home.
-restaurants, shopping, monorail short distance away located at the contemporary hotel adjacent to BLT.
-furniture slightly dusty, laundry room a huge invaluable asset, we washed clothes every day even during checkout, nice to be able to leave with a suitcase full of clean clothes.
-food adds up, best to go with dining plan. Front desk was very accommodating with last minute add ons to our dining plan
-balcony spacious and amazing with access from all rooms
- garbage disposal inconvenient, wish that and clean towels could be taken care of everyday
- stayed an extra day to relax before the end of our stay it was worth it
-make reservations for chef mickeys at the contemporary, a family must

Room Tip: 5th floor close to the walkway Special view of fireworks on top floor. Go early for a good seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After staying at several different Disney hotels, I'm convinced this is by far the best way to experience Disney World with very young kids (ours were 6mo, 3, and 5) -- if you can afford it. We went in January when prices were at their lowest, but it was still $350/nt for a 1-bedroom.

We started at an Art of Animation family suite, which was fine but cramped and far from the parks. Then we switched to BLT, and it was phenomenal. Spacious, new, beautiful, and family friendly:
-- ilfe-jackets by the pool, which had toddler and big-kid water slide,
-- easy access to Contemporary Resort which has a market that sells groceries (no need for a car),
-- in-room washer/dryer/highchair/packnplay,
-- we could fit the packnplay in the bedroom water closet so baby had private "room" and we still had the main bathroom,
-- our older kids slept in the bedroom so we could stay up later in the family room/kitchen (we slept on the pull-out),
-- WALKING distance to Magic Kingdom. We didn't have to take any shuttles or buses or even the monorail. This alone made it worthwhile, as I was able to stay in the room with a napping baby while my husband took the older kids into the park. When the baby woke, I could walk in and join them - no collapsing strollers or hauling them onto a bus. We could walk home for an afternoon rest-time and then go back for dinner. Since kids this age love the Magic Kingdom, it was perfect for us. Plus, BLT provided (Disney) movies on the lawn, smores by the jacuzzi, and we could see the MK fireworks from the roof. We could also take the monorail home at the end of the day if we were tired of walking (though it is a short walk, the boys liked the monorail too). There aren't any restaurants but the pool bar at the BLT, but it's connected to the Contemporary which has several options. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Bay Lake Tower Christmas Eve in a two bed roomed apartment. It was absolute luxury, it had two bedrooms, three bathrooms, kitchen with eating area, and a living area. It had everything that we would expect in an apartment, cooker, dishwasher, hairdryer etc. . We went up to the bar on the top floor which had a balcony that looked over Magic Kingdom it was something that was very special for Christmas Eve. We then ordered pizza from the room service to our room, that was nice too.
The next morning(Christmas day) we only had to walk a 5 minute walk to the gates of Magic Kingdom for the 7am opening where we saw the count down to it opening. We were allowed to leave the car in the car park at Bay Lake for the day.
Overall this was a very special experience for me that I won't forget and hope to be able to go back to stay for two weeks next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annjodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $549 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing