We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Lake Resort and Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #28 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our first trip to WDW as DVC members in December 2011, our home resort is Bay Lake. Our 3 previous trips at WDW we stayed at the Beach Club; two very different resorts. We have 3 children ages 13, 10, and 7. Certainly nothing to regret at Bay Lake - the 1-bedroom villa very nice and spacious for a family of 5 - fantastic view of the Lake and Cinderella's Castle as we had a corner room on the 8th floor. We watched the MK fireworks from our balcony 4 nights; fun times. Bay Lake is very convenient and clost to MK, so a plus. Pool was very nice and a great view of the Lake. The downside to the resort is that you really do not get the DIsney look and feel, the lobby is small and kind of reminds you of a secluded condominium for adults only. This is a very nice location and resort for adults only; would not highly-recommend if you have young children as the environment is what I call "Disney Sterile". So if you are big on being surrounded by the DIsney Magic, this is not the place. Nothing negative in regards to the resort cleanliness, location, rooms, it is just not a Disney Themed resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marines49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
There are newer reviews for Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

First off I want to tell all that if you wish to spend a lot of time at Magic Kingdom during your visit to Disney World Parks then this place is #1 for you. It is a 500 yard walk to the main entrance to Magic Kingdom. It is the only hotel that is walking distance to the Magic Kingdom.

Ok now to really review this place. The first step into the Studio room it seems a bit tight. The nice modern bathroom there when you walk in. Then a surprise when you get past the bathroom. A small nook with a kitchenette. The kitchenette provides a sink, a microwave, a fridge, and a coffee maker. It has cabinets available for storage. It also has a small area for a place to make sandwiches or store things. My wife used it for getting ready in the morning cause it has outlets for hair straightner or hair dryer.
The sleeping area was nice. It had plenty of room. A full dresser for storage and a flat screen TV. There was a small couch that is a pull out full size bed.
We were on the first floor and had a patio. It faced the Contemporary and the Bay Lake. Not a bad view for not asking for anything special.
The pool area in nice. It has a bar/snack area with seating and umbrellas. There's also a water slide and a hot tub. Nothing special but I'm not at Disney for the pools.
All in all it was a great place to stay. We as a family love MK and will go back because of its approximity to MK. In addition it is pretty much in full lock down at all times. We found this out because of a few of the negatives for us. Checking in is only done at the Contempary Hotel and so is dining. No food places inside the Bay Lake Tower. There was a front desk but it didn't have someone there 24/7.
Can't wait to have a room facing MK to watch the fireworks during a late night dinner. Hope this helps making a decision in where to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garypaul1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I can not say enough about this hotel/villa! We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children 6 yrs. of age (twins). The number one asset was its proximity to the Magic Kingdom and the fact that it was on the monorail. We were able to walk from the Magic Kingdom to the hotel on those nights when the monorail was exceptionally busy (such as the night of the Not So Scary Halloween Party). We had 2 bedrooms, one with a king and a very large bathroom. The other had 2 queens with a large bathroom, and there was a kitchen/family room with floor to ceiling windows where we could watch the fireworks every night! There was an additional bathroom with a washer/drier in the hall. Could not have been more perfect and would definitely return! Also we had rented a car because we were going to a condo on the beach after our Disney trip and not only was the parking free at all of the parks but very convenient too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice41762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Loved the whole thing! Good pool, great access, super clean, terrific room & furnishings.
Super attentive staff as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom/3 bathroom suite for a group of 6 adults and 3 children, including 2 infants. It was a great accommodation especially with its proximity to the Magic Kingdom. Being able to walk to the park with 3 strollers was a great benefit. We could watch the fireworks from our 2 balconies. Our adult kids joked that they are spoiled now and will always want to go back here when visiting Disney World.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanineL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We own at BLT but up until now have never stayed there. We were not sure what to expect after staying at most of the other DVC resorts and the reading some poor reviews.

Pros :
Locations! You can't beat it if your trip propose is the Magic Kingdom. You are also so close to the MK bus depot that you can get to other resorts easily.

Vila: Our 2 bedroom was enormous. 7 adults for 6 nights and we never felt cramped. Master was similar to others at DVC with the jetted tub but the shower was a nice touch. Kitchen was nicely equipped.

Top of the World: Amazing. Views, great service, and prices were reasonable.

Cons:
Theme was dull. We had family staying with us for the first time at Disney and I found myself often explaining to them that the other resorts were much better themed. It just feels modern, like a Hilton. I wish they would have made it more "jetsony".

Wear and Tear : Very noticeable on the chairs and table in the kitchen. Our kitchen sink leaked and our toaster had to be replaced.

Pool: eh.not great compared to other resorts. The hot tub was closed some of the time and when open was full of kids.

Lobby: Love the lobby in WL, BC, and BWV where you can just sit and watch the world go by. BLT is lacking this.

We also found the cast member here to appear less genuine than cast members at other resorts. We were given wrong information several times and in general they were just unhelpful.

I am happy we own here because the location is great but I am really looking forward to the Grand Floridian DVC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hotel is wonderful. We were on the third floor with a Magic Kingdom view and we had a perfect view of the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom each night. We had a one bedroom villa and there were four adults and once child in the group. The bedroom had a king size bed and the living room had one chair that pulled out into a bed for one person and the couch pulled out into a bed for two people. All of the beds were comfortable. I was surprised at how comfortable the pullout beds were. There is plenty of room and having two bathrooms was very nice.

The pool was smaller than it looks in the picture but was nice. There were two lifeguards on duty all the time. The pool area had free use life vests for children if needed and plenty of towels available. There is a nice large slide the kids will enjoy and I noticed a small one for toddlers. The Disney staff built a small fire on the beach and had free marsh mellows and sticks and later at night they set up an outdoor screen and show a movie. I think they have these types of activities all year round so if you want to take it easy and still entertain the kids this is a nice way to do it. You can find a schedule at the hotel or ask the staff.

One tip..use the online check in to let them know when you will arrive. Once in a while they will have your room ready if you arrive early in the day.

Room Tip: Use the online check in service.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SouthMississippian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $557 - $1,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing