We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #35 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed here as part of a multi stay trip, we are DVC members, and this was our first trip with them, and on Disney property.

All I can say is amazing.

We had a room of the 7th floor with a magic kingdom view. It was fantastic to view the fireworks at night from our balcony whilst listening to the commentary through the Disney Channel on the tv. Wonderful.

We also had a meal at the Californian Grill which is in the Contemporary side, a short walk across the walkway to get there. Food fantastic. Our reservation was quite late I think 9.45pm so as we were going to get seated the waiter kindly informed us that the fireworks were going to start shortly so he would save our table until we had watched from the viewing gantry outside the restaurant at the top of the hotel. Thanks for this as this was something we probably would have missed and it was excellent. We went back in for our food which was simply beautiful.

The hotels, both Contemporary and Bay Lake are amazing mainly for the location, quick trip on the monoraill or a five minute walk across. Everything was clean and service very good.

There is everything you need, from top class dining right through to good quick serve food. We also ate at the Wave which was again good food with exellent stafff in both the bar and restaurant.

Thanks Disney for making the 2nd part of our trip a memorable one and a location we wil definitely return to next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChesterfieldJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Perfect location if you are planning to spend most of you time in the Disney theme parks, however the hotel is shared with the contemporary hotel so it mention a trip in the elevator and a walk across a bridge to get to the local amenities. Lovely and clean and very modern, I would defiantly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gavlar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel was perfect for our trip. Our Harbor View room had a great view of the park and the fireworks. We walked to the park in the morning and rode the monorail back. The hotel is part of the Vacation Club (we are not members) and has a few quirks. For Club members, the linens and trash are only changed every 4 days. We had to remind them once that we were not members and would like new towels. The towels were there before we got back to the room.

My daughter loved the character meals at Chef Mickey's in the main hotel. Recommend booking reservations ahead!!!!! We had room service twice. The food was OK, but the services was fast and worked well since we were tried from the park. The Refrigerator and microwave were also handy.

This was our first trip to the park, but would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funk5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at Bay Lake Towers for five days this past week--a Sunday through a Thursday. We rented a one-bedroom unit (room 7710 which would be on fifth floor). The condo is listed as a lakeview, but also has a pretty good view of the Magic Kingdom. The building is impressive, clean and well-kept. Here are some tips:

We stopped at a Publix (love that GPS) that was on the way to BLT from the airport. When our condo wasn't ready upon our arrival, the groceries were kept in cold storage by the bell staff.

Checking in at the Contemporary for our condo at BLT was astonishingly quick and easy.

The pool is designed for and populated by children, so if you are looking for any type of adult pool accomodation (besides a lonely pool bar), you will not find it. My adult children said the Contemporary seemed to have a better pool, but a duck jumped in and they immediately closed the pool for cleaning as though that duck had been radioactive. Crazy....

You can get a list of lakeview units that also face the Magic Kingdom by going to dis-boards.com We submitted a list of units with our reservation about ten days prior to our stay and received a good one-bedroom lakeview unit with a view of the Magic Kingdom and the nightly fireworks.

Immediately after the 10:00 p.m. fireworks there is an Electrical Water Pageant on Bay Lake directly behind BLT. Go to the pool and look over the back fence. You can see the pageant from any room or hall inside the building but the music will be pretty muted. Outside, the music is easily heard. Very impressive.

You can view the fireworks from the fifth-floor walkway from Bay Lake Towers to the Contemporary and they are great with one caveat. From Bay Lake Towers, the fireworks appear to be coming from behind the castle and over near Space Mountain. When you are actually on Main Street in the Magic Kingdom, the fireworks appear to explode right over the Castle, which is a much more magical view.

The walk from BLT to the Magic Kingdom is 12-14 minutes, not five minutes as some have claimed. It's an easy walk and much faster than driving or taking the MonoRail. Vehicle and pedestrian traffic is very light along the way. Follow the sidewalk right out of the front doors.

The master bathroom far outweighs the usefullness of the smaller one. With a bathtub and separate shower, it is far more spacious. The other bathroom is pretty tight.

The kitchen had everything we needed. We cooked up egg mcmuffin-type sandwiches every morning as breakfast. You may want to bring a roll of kitchen-size trash bags as they don't seem to stock those. There are trash dropoffs on various floors.

With a washer and dryer, we were able to limit the amount of clothing we brought with us which was handy when it came time to pack all the suitcases with all the souvenirs that we bought. It was also nice to be able to dry towels and bathing suits.

The doors to the bathrooms are "pocket" doors with the exception being that they aren't pocketed in the walls; they hang off overhead rails. In that respect, I'd guess they should be called carriage house doors. If I had smaller children, I could see how they might have a problem opening and closing these doors because the doors are fairly heavy to slide open and closed. For us, the doors were perfect and more quiet than opening and closing regular doors.

The bathtub has a three-panel slider section that opens up to the master bedroom. While we didn't keep the wall open for any reason after examining it the first time, it seemed like a fun thing to have, rather than a solid wall.

There are deer in the field down by the tennis courts where the retention pond is. We also saw three otters (mother and pups)running into the brush one morning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dgw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in a 1br mk. This means we stayed in a room(s) with 2 full bathrooms, one huge mb with balcony, a huge living room with pull out couch and a large full service kitchen...did I mention washer and dryer? This hotel is great and quite. I slept like a baby and so did my 5 year old and husband. It's very close to MK (you can walk). The pool and slide are very nice as is the bar. This place is not a zoo like some of the other larger resorts.
Two great restaurants are also in the Contemporary. The Wave and California Grille. Very, very good.
Tip 1- The bay side vs the MK side is prettier and less noisy. The MK side looks over a parking lot so you can see MK and fireworks but you can also see the fireworks from the 5th floor outdoor walkway to the contemporary. Trust me. Bay view..better.
Tip 2- Rent or bring a stroller even if your kids are 5 or 6. The walking is brutal.
Tip3- Go one line to Gardengrocer.com for your food if you have a kitchen. They will deliver to your hotel and the staff will then deliver to you. Great service from them. We did mostly breakfast stuff, drinks and snacks and it worked out great.

Room Tip: Reserve early. This place is getting hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 001968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

You can't beat walking to the monorail and the quick walkway to the Contemporary for Chef Mickey's and the like, especially with small kids. Being as close as you can get to Magic Kingdom is the best and you can see the fireworks from one side of the hotel and the lake light parade from the other. The suites are nice but I have to admit I still prefer the look and atmosphere of Boardwalk and Beach Club, for a new resort, Bay Lake doesn't have as much to offer aesthetically and pool wise as the others, but again, comnvenience/location is key. They did do a great job on the kitchenettes, they look great and are well done. The carpets were not as clean as I expected and had stains, but we had a balcony from whcih we could watch the monorail and see Cinderella's Castle. Our room was also on the same floor and the second room from the walkway access that brings you to the Contemporary. You can also walk to the Magic Kingdom however, it is a slightly lengthy and not attractive walk (walk past all the bus terminals and across the highway through the parking lot). I did find it odd that the Bay Lake hotel itself does not have much staff nor any cafeteria, shopping, etc - you need to go to the Contemporary for everything. The staff at the Contemporary (which is where you check in) is as always - outstanding! Very nice and super fun, a couple staff members were chatting with and entertaining my wee ones while I checked in and they were awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DisneyCrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

OK for parents with small kids, if you can afford it you cannot beat staying within a 7 minute walk to the MK. Hotel is brand new. Pool has a splash pad . I wish they would let adults go down the slide with their kids instead of one at a time. if you debate doing Chef Mickeys, just do it, the kids really had fun. Try to get the 1 bedroom Villa, it has a kitchen and will make life easier.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Texan254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#111 of 341 in Orlando
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $548 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing