We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here many times before - will not do so again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #25 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times before - will not do so again”
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We have stayed at the lovely hotel many times before and looked forward to our latest trip - oh how things have changed!

No drinking water in the rooms unless it comes from the bathroom faucet (the cold just about dribbled out).

Plates from food took 3 days to be removed from our room, a cup we used on our first day was still there when we checked out!

No champagne on check in as usual - cost cutting obviously

The new Regency club is a disaster - the old staff don't like it. The room was not manned all the time, therefore kids ran in and out to use the computers even though they had to be accompanied by responsible adults at all times. It used to be such a warm friendly lounge with the concierge there to greet you - now the desk is empty and you only see the ladies at breakfast or the evening. As one staff member told us - she is no more than a glorified busser, which was not the job she signed on for. On the first day the door was not closed and anyone could walk in (so much for being in the hotel's words "exclusive" We waited 20 minutes on the first day before we went to tackle a waiter for a drink, 12 minutes the second day, trying to get a refill took just as long. When we complained he said "he hadn't noticed us" - isn't that part of his job? The new outside patio, which we were told was a great place to watch Disney's fireworks from closed as the first firework was set off at 9:00pm. Adults only hour has disapeared. The chairs on the "food bar" section are so small that you can hit your chin on the bar. The room is closed for 2 hours in the afternoon to restock ( goodness knows with what), between the hours of 3 and 5 - just the sort of time you would want to go and use it..... One afternoon the snacks consisted of 6 dried up cookies - and yes I do have pictures to send to head office. The automated coffee machine ran out of milk so we had to wait for 15 minutes while a fresh gallon of milk was brought up from the bowels of the hotel. They ran out of wine glasses one day - it is like a scene from a bad sitcom - the list just goes on and on - and for all this "enjoyment and exclusivity" we had to pay extra - well no more! We work hard for our money and we will not spend it with companies that have no repect for their guests

A "manager" came in and asked if everything was OK and when we replied "no" he said "oh OK" - obviously he had been to customer service training! There were two other guests in the room at the time who had stayed at least annually for many years, and they told him the same thing - service is appalling and they will not be returning next year.

We talked to other guests ithout mentioning our displeasure and they all freely said the service was bad and they were not happy. Why have Hyatt spent this huge sum on refurbishing this hotel only to cut corners and have standards drop.

There appeared to be several new "managers" in the hotel and frankly they all need to go.

The only bright spot in this whole sorry story was the check in staff and David Wittish - who shined as always - put him in charge, and maybe he can knock this hotel back into shape.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue45551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,274
    1,236
    376
    167
    119
See reviews for
2,235
1,038
91
1,167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My wife had a conference in Orlando and decided to tag along. Some old pictures didn't look all that great but when we got there??? Boy o boy, what a nice place. It's on a resort so has lots of grounds around it, nicely manicured and landscaped.

The rooms have been done up and considering we stayed in another hotel close by on a previous trip, this beats it hands down. The room size was good and the window as wide as the room so if you wanted a lot of light, you'd get it. Though there is a resort fee, it includes, parking, swimming pools, bicycle rides, canoeing and boat rides, golf course, game room, 24hr gym fully equipped... I can't remember all the other attractions but they were a lot and made our stay there pleasant. So for the days we were not going to disney (about 10 mins away) or Universal studios (about 12 mins away) there was enough to keep us occupied.

We didn't eat the hotel food. Don't normally eat hotel food cos we're mostly out so can't tell about that, but there are quite a number of restaurants in the building. However, I short 2 min drive and you'll find yourself in the midst of several eateries from Macs to Olive garden and the likes so it's proximity to all this was great too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alakowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This property is just amazing- from the rooms to the restaurants. Service was flawless and the rooms recently renovated and beautiful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and bring the family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2001a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

This hotel has everything.Quiet location , close to all of Disney World ,resort feeling as it has pools waterslides, bikes, pitch and putt, a climbing wall and sailing boats on its own lake and all this is included in the resort price .
If you do not wish to eat in the hotel within walking distance(about 7 mins ) are all the family restaurants and shops you would need.
The only criticism I have is that the hotel bus goes to Magic Kingdom in the morning and does not return until 7.30 pm.
The staff were very helpful and our 3 rooms were excellent especially the 2 joining for younger children , they had plenty of room. We could all see the fireworks in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennytourslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great hotel, we just stayed too short. They offer so many services: a very big and ordinary swimming pool, tennis lanes, a golf course and a large lake for sailing or other water activities. They even got jogging parcours at their terrain. And there still is more!

Rooms are just excellent: large with a big bed, a couch, a balcony and a superb bathroom. Everything has been well maintained and cleaned good. Service is also of a very high level. Really wanna go back there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I booked adjoining rooms here for our family of four based on the reviews. While the rate was excellent (AAA plus a discounted second family rate for the second room) I have to say, unfortunately you get what you pay for. Previously we had a wonderful stay in the Disney Wilderness Villas and those were prohibitively expensive during this high season time. This hotel was just average--and many parts were aging. The rooms were nicely renovated with pretty modern bathrooms. The sliding doors that serve the double purpose of closet and bathroom doors were a NIGHTMARE with a toddler and preschooler. I thought we were going to have an amputation and without a lock there is no privacy whatsoever. I laughed at prior reviews that dwelled on the door set up but they did prove to be a real problem! The pool area, while the water slides kept my 7 yr old busy, was really dated and not great. There is NO baby pool, which we didn't expect and not great for a hotel billed as an oasis for families. Restaurants were dated, uninspiring menus and mediocre food. The service was very good (with the exception of the crabby women working in the little carry out restaurant and grocery area near the pool--they were like prison matron personalities). Bellhops, valet parkers and front desk were very pleasant and ready to serve. Overall, I would not stay here again -- the hotel just felt to "tired" and the pool was not nicely done (the pool bar was downright gross). Also the fire pit and smores for kids was a joke--it was like a cement hole near the pool and nobody could figure out where to buy the smores. Overall, much nicer on the website than in execution.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

You won't be disappointed with this resort while planning a trip to Disney with your family. It is as close as most of the disney resorts and provides excellent service as a complete high quality resort. The pool area is outstanding and includes two water slides for the kids. It has a multitude of chairs to lounge while the kiddies are playing and also includes a beach with its own small lake. There is a bar within the pool area available for food and drinks as well as a restaurant directly off of the pool area. There are also hotel staff who will deliver your food and drink directly to your poolside chairs and charge it to your room! A climbing rock wall, golf, bikes, boats and much much more are all included with the daily 'resort' fee which is completely worth it. The employees were friendly and made sure we were always happy. There is also a starbucks coffee house in the lobby which is an excellent addition to any hotel in my opinion. The breakfast buffet within the hotel was also amazing and the most incredible waiter even had the entire dining room sing happy birthday to my six year old with a personalized plate of goodies (written in a chocolate script). I was more than satisfied with this resort and stay - I was absolutely impressed. I positively know that this would be THE place I would stay if I were lucky enough to return to Orlando. My only complaint is that with Disney so close and only seven days to stay we didn't get enough time to spend at this amazing resort for our vacation! Thank you Hyatt Grand Cypress for making our trip one of the most memorable family vacations I am sure we will ever have.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WtrSkiChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 336 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing