We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We love this place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We love this place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This was our second New Year's Get-Away at Grand Cypress, with our 21 yr. old and our 12 yr. old daughters, and we all enjoyed it.. We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it, this time we stayed at the Regency Club Level where we had access to the concierge private lounge serving breakfast, evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, this was great, we really enjoyed it and took advantage of it.
The hotel is beautiful, the view out of your balcony is gorgeous, no matter which side you are staying at.
We stayed one whole day at the resort, went on bicycle rides in the trails along the lake, took out the kayaks, walked all around the hotel, and my husband played golf, which he really enjoyed.
We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,710
    1,057
    307
    151
    97
See reviews for
1,869
897
78
882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Took a last minute vacation & booked the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress via Priceline - a great deal at $105 a night (plus $15 daily resort fee). Following recent reviewer's suggestion, my husband phoned ahead & requested a room with king size bed & poolside view so we could see Epcot's nightly fireworks.

Although we didn't take advantage of the paddle boats & bicycles available, we did enjoy walking the paths & relaxing in sunshine by the pool areas. We opted to splurge on daily room service Starbucks coffee to go along with fruits & pastries we had purchased in nearby shopping center.

Clean rooms, very comfortable beds & friendly & helpful staff made this stay wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaafha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

I stayed at this property last weekend (December 26-28) and am pleased to say that I was very happy with the property. First, there is a security guard/guard shack at the main entrance of the extremely large property. That was a plus. We followed the signs and drove up the hill to the lobby entrance. Very nicely decorated with an Asian/Buddist theme, little statues, ponds, greenery and chairs made it a very relaxing lobby. The gigantic Christmas tree and gingerbread houses didn't really seem to fit the decor. Our check-in was extremely prompt, and the desk agent friendly and warm. A ride up the glass elevator took us to the 3rd floor. The carpeting was in very good condition, the hallway in good repair. My 5 year old daughter, while waiting for her dad to return from parking the car, announced that she hopes our room is beautiful. When she unlocked the door, she yells, "Mommy, our room is beautiful!" And, indeed, it was very comfortable, clean, and relaxing. Although it was in a Martha Stewart, garden theme, it was definitely in my taste. (My sister-in-law on the other hand said it looked like an "old lady" threw up all over it.) The headboard, and curtains were white with a large maroon based flower pattern. 2 large pillows and a bolster sat on each bed. All furnishings, carpeting, and linens were in excellent condition. Minimal sign of wear. The bathroom was oversized and following suit, was in perfect cleanliness. No mold, mildew, dust, or dirt. I could have taken a white glove and not found a speck! A weighing scale sat in the corner of the bathroom, very nice Eucalyptis Portico spa bath products were on the sink, and towels were in abundance. The A/C worked well, and I loved that there was a ceiling fan! The safe fit my laptop, and the fridge was a nice amenity to have!

We ordered room service - MISTAKE! $54.00 for 1 pizza, 6 wings, and a piece of cheesecake. Although the above was absolutely delicious, I wouldn't pay it again.... Not to mention, I woke up around 6:00 AM with terrible stomach cramps.

2 things that frustrated me - the parking. On the opposite side of the hotel, it took about 15 minutes to walk to the car from the room. The parking lot is huge, and late at night, hard to find a spot near the entrance. Since we had to pass through the convention area, I peeked in some of the meeting and banquet rooms. This would be a great place to hold a meeting.

And, around 10:30 on the day we were checking out, no one answered at the front desk. I tried calling twice with no answer.

I also didn't get a chance to check out the grounds, since we really just had time to sleep there. But, I was so impressed, I will definitely stay again!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the entire property! A+++++
  • Disliked — The distance to the self-parking lot.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

The Grand Cypress is a beautiful, large resort property with a modern building, a soaring atrium, and nicely maintained tropical landscape. My room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Although my room showed some age, the rooms are gradually undergoing renovation (Nov. 08). Ask for a renovated room if possible. The hotel has numerous but rather expensive restaurants on site. However, there are a wide variety of restaurants in all price ranges within a very short drive (not walking distance). A rental car for errands and some meals may be advisable. This location is very conveniently situated between Disney World and Universal, and the hotel offers a regular shuttle service (at no charge, I believe). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the concierge desk was typically so busy during my stay that it wasn't worth the long wait for service. The property offers a relaxing atmosphere without leaving the grounds too --- great family-friendly pool areas with waterfalls and faux rock formations, and for recreation decent gym, tennis, etc. Oddly, they have a lake and small beach too, but alligator warnings are posted.

  • Disliked — The gym was very hard to find and not well marked
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MensaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

Stayed at the Hyatt over Thanksgiving weekend - this is a huge resort currently undergoing renovation.

Nice pool area and lakeside location. Good size rooms - a little dated (think flowers and 1980's) but well maintained and very clean. Small Juliet-type balcony (ie no space for sitting out). All rooms are currently being updated on a floor-by-floor basis - though we weren't disturbed by any noise.

Location is close by Downtown Disney (a couple of minutes drive away) and there is a small shopping area equally close by (Crossroads) and located across a busy road junction. there are also a number of chain restaurants

Our stay included a free night and free buffet breakfast - which was a very good deal (although as ever a tip was expected by the wait staff).

However, the hotel is very large (think convention size) and when we were there there were very few guests which made it feel a little empty.

Also, the main pool is not heated and too cold to use this time of year. A smaller pool is heated and everyone tends to congregate around that.

The weather when we stayed was OK - warm during the day but cold in the evening. However be aware that at this time of the year it takes until very late morning for the pool area to get the sun.

There's a small cafe and shop on site in addition to the formal restaurants - though small items like drinks and cookies were expensive to buy.

Housekeeping in the room was good - always a plentiful supply of towels and rooms always made up by lunchtime. However, I noticed that someone had spilled potato chips in the corridor beside the lift and this wasn't cleaned up for over 12 hours. Likewise an empty cup outside one of the rooms lay there for a full day.

Overall, our stay was comfortable and the resort in summer would be very nice indeed: however, this time of year both the hotel and Orlando itself was all a bit dead and lacking in atmosphere.

  • Liked — Comfortable Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysReady2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Great hotel. Phenomenal resort. Onsite recretion activities are by far the best I've ever experienced at any resort.

  • Liked — The pool, resort servics like pitch n' putt golf!
  • Disliked — Two Double Beds instead of Queens. Booooo!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoResortsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This was part of a 2 week trip to Florida with 5 hotels booked via Priceline and 1 via the hotels website. They were all 4/5* hotels. This was a close call on being the best. I paid about $80 a night. There was a $15 resort fee which they added on at the hotel. However, this did inclde a lot. They allowed you free use of boats, pitch and putt, bicyles, shuttle bus to and from theme parks. We were given a room on the 22nd floor, overlooking the pool and could see Epcot and the Magic Kingdom fireworks in the distance. Room was a bit dated but not at all tatty. The shower was in the bath tub but was incredibly strong. The pool was unbelievable. I spend a lot of time in Vegas but the pool was very good even by their standards, 3 hot tubs, 2 slides, and a pool that went through a massive grotto. We used the shuttle bus to and from all 4 disney parks. They always ran on time. The outlaws picked us up for dinner from the hotel and while they live nearby they were raving about wanting to stay there for a night. It was an unbelievable hotel. They have started reovating all the rooms, so give it a year and the hotel will be a true 5* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank F1y_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 334 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#35 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,403 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.2 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing