We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #31 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked a weekend stay (3 nights) at the Regency Grand Cypress for a pageant my daughter was participating in. Everything about this hotel is first rate. The room was comfortable and quiet, the pool was AWESOME, and we had a great stay. Here are a few things I liked:

- All the staff is friendly, even the custodial staff.
- We were not high up - 6th floor - but the view was excellent. Central Florida is so flat, it's easy!
- The location is killer. Except for some traffic Saturday night we never had a problem.
- Everything is clean clean clean, and they obviously keep it up. I visited this hotel 17 years ago and it looks just as good today!
- As everyone has said the pool and hot tub are AWESOME!

A few things we did not like:

- After the pageant, at about 7:40 on Sunday night, we wanted to eat by the pool. The poolside bar & grill hours say they are open until 8, but they had already closed up the grill. We had to find another place to eat.
- As others have said the elevators can get backed up. Should have been designed with more elevators.
- There are no lifeguards at the pool. It is so big that it's impossible to see all of it and so you cannot keep an eye on your kids. If an accident happened there is nobody to see.
- They need more parking. Both the valet and overnight lost are routinely full, and people park in the street in front of the hotel. It has been this way forever (at least since my last visit) and they are obviously not going to change it.
- Hyatt Regency prices. Bring your wallet.

Would I stay here again? Yes! But only for a special occasion, as it is pricier than we are usually comfortable with.

Room Tip: Lower floors will help you spend less time on the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,476
    1,303
    405
    182
    130
See reviews for
2,396
1,077
93
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Got a decent rate and stayed 2 nights. Room is clean but for the price they should offer queen beds instead of doubles. One complaint about the shower is the shower door only covers about 1/3 of the shower so it's easy to get the tile outside the shower wet, especially when you have a young child showering. The pools were nice but wish the main pool was heated. The grounds are well maintained. Variety of activities to do. We rode the surrey bike and went canoeing and kayaking. Very hard for 2 adults and 1 child to ride the surrey bike though since it weights 400 lbs. It's built for 4 adults to ride so that was a bit of a disappointment. Buffet breakfast was very good. Overall a nice stay but next time I'd try a different resort just to experience something else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided on a last minute trip to Orlando and walked in with no reservations. We chose this hotel because we wanted a fun hotel with a great pool. We were not disappointed! Within 15 minutes we were checked in for a 2 night stay in a king room with sofa bed for the kids for less that $100 a night. The rooms were decent sized, well laid out. The bathroom was luxurious. The whole hotel was simply beautiful. Parking was a bit expensive ($23/nt for valet) but we never waited more than a few minutes for our car, even at peak hours. Hotel is very close to a WDW entrance. Pool area was busy, but never seemed overly crowded (we were there in mid-July). Our two nights were so wonderful we stayed a third just to enjoy relaxing at the pool one more day. There is lots to do on property...fire pit, splash pad, mini golf, paddle boats, kids activities, swing in the hammocks, tetherball and it was all free. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stay 7 days, because we visited universal studios and Disney world, service was pretty good, when we arrived, and room was clean, we bough our tickets for both parks there, and I can said apart of the grand Manchester hyatt view and this one, I love both, incredible view, pretty hotel, pretty big hotel. Truly recommended.

Room Tip: We all the time stay in the gold club, because they serve breakfast,canapés in the evening and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olystroublestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Am not sure where to start! Check-in - 30 minute wait (800 room hotel; 4 check-in stations) Elevators - 5 for 800 rooms - in room 331, always waited and waited for an elevator - both going down and up. Usually went up to go down. Pool facilities - very nice. But, get to the pool very early - like 5:00 AM to claim a lounge under an umbrella (shade). Parking - don't go if disabled - very limited on a huge piece of property. Elevator to pool area is well hidden; if needed, ask directions. Stayed here for two nights (National American Miss pageant). Hotel commented - "A lot of people wanting to use elevators and facilities at the same time. So expect delays." This hotel is mis-designed for large conferences, events, etc. If planning to book your group, meeting, conference, convention at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress - DON'T!! This Hyatt is a total mess. P.S. if using GPS to get to this Hyatt, enter "one" (not 1) Grand Cypress Blvd; otherwise, enjoy the equestrian center. 18% gratuity on all purchases - please note.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AmigoJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Amigo Juan,

While I very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at out resort, I was quite disressed to see that you encountered several issues during your attendance at the National American Miss pageant. This was the ninth year of us hosting this very successful pageant and by the positive comments we have received from other attendees, your unfortunate experience seems to be the exception for which I sincerely apologize. I certainly understand that with the nature of this type of event, there could be times where there is a heavy movement of participants at select times.

I also would like to let you know that we have actively been working with Apple to correct their new mapping system where the hotel is incorrectly located. Hopefully, Apple will have this glitch corrected soon.

Again, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again at nexy July's pageant.

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel from 5/25/13 through 6/1/13. The property was awesome! The grounds were beautifully maintained. They also strategically placed statues that enhanced the Oriental motif. The newly renovated pool was absolutely perfect for adults to do lap swimming. It was just the right temperature and distance and very clean. We did 1 hour laps each morning for at least 3 days. We never encountered any interruption while doing the laps. We would come back just to enjoy the pool! The lounge chairs and towels were plentiful.

They also had other pools for the guests to enjoy – ones that were heated and smaller ones for the kids. The grottos were very interesting. The fitness center is just the right size and had sufficient equipment to please any fitness buff – from free weights to weight machines to elliptical and treadmills. It was spacious enough to do your exercise without anyone infringing on your space. It was open 24 hours and always clean and well maintained.

All of this activity worked up quite an appetite. It also made us feel less guilty when we indulged ourselves with the delicious buffet breakfasts and dinners at the 2 fine restaurants at this resort. We had the buffet breakfast every morning at Cascade’s and the food was plentiful, tasty and very fresh! We also loved dining at Hemmingway’s. Not only was the food scrumptious, the presentation was extraordinary and they photographed beautifully! We enjoyed it so much that we dined there for 3 nights. The wait staff was very friendly and recognized us from the previous dinners. My sister and brother-in-law visited us one night and they were thoroughly impressed with the resort as well as Hemmingway’s.

The staff was excellent and very friendly. We had a very comfortable room on the 8th floor facing the pool. Our room was always cleaned on a timely basis by a great chamber service. The room size and bathroom facility was just perfect for us. We felt right at home within the first day. We felt very safe on all of the vast hotel grounds.

The resort location is also perfect if you want to visit the theme parks. The parking facility is easily accessible and the parking fee is very affordable. We rented a car for the week and never had any issues with parking spaces. Furthermore, the entrance to the air conditioned resort is a very short distance from the parking area. You can even bring your luggage to the car from the resort without breaking a sweat! The distance to any of the theme parks (e.g. Disney parks and Universal Studios) is very short and convenient. We traveled to all of them without any issues.

Would we recommend staying at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? YES, especially, for its friendly staff, delectable food, and outstanding ambience!!! We would gladly return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LapSwimmer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

$125/night for a regular room is amazing for what this resort offers, the extra daily fees are worth it for all this resort has to offer. We stayed club level as we have at other Hyatts and other hotels. This one just wasn't worth it for us. The breakfast was great but the club is closed at 9pm every night (we were told if we wanted to view the 9pm fireworks we needed to get there before 9pm because they lock the door exactly at 9pm) and that means no club view of the 10pm show. Unlike other Hyatts there is no effort to put you on a club level floor. Everyone was very nice, front desk and bell service was excellent as was the manager of the palm court restaurant. We would absolutely stay here again just not at a club level. Regular room rate is a steal for this high quality hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deempell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,339 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
5,630 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
4.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 339 in Orlando
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing