We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Disney, But not too close.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #24 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Close to Disney, But not too close.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First things first. The service was excellent, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and we didn't run into any hidden charges. Now the details:

Charges: There is a resort fee, and there is a parking fee. As long as you are aware of these, you will not be surprised. The good news is that there are no extra charges to use the bikes, rock walls, or paddle-boats. I can't tell you about the golf course because we don't play.

Shuttle to Disney: The shuttle leaves for Disney only twice a day, at about 9:00 and 10:00 and comes back only four or five times, in the afternoons. If these times are not convenient for you, then you will be on your own for transportation. This was fine for us, but if you are looking for hourly shuttles, then you will have to look elsewhere.

Heated pool: The pool was a good temperature, even though it was a little cool outside. Be aware that only one of the pools is heated, so don't be frozen out by the first pool you get to. The waterfalls by the pool look realistic enough, and my son had a great time wandering through the "caves".

Waterslide: Be aware that the slide has a minimum height requirement of 48 inches. This is pretty tall for this type of slide, so make sure your kid measures up before you book. The air was a little cold, and very windy the day we went, so my son did not want to wait in line for the slide. The air temp in Orlando is usually high enough that it won't matter, but don't plan to spend a lot of time on the slide in winter or early spring unless you are prepared for it. The top of the slide in not in the sun, which might be a good thing in July, but not so much in March. The good news is that the slide feeds into the heated pool, so if the line is short, you can be back in the water pretty quick. The splash pad did not seem to be heated, but it looked like it would be fun place on a hot afternoon.

Bike paths: The paved bike path was a little strange. It was quiet and peaceful, but when you got to the point where it looked like you would complete the circle, the sign instructed you to turn around and go back the way you came. It would be like having a jogging trail that went in a straight line, and then ended at a sign that says: "Good job, now face the other direction and continue."

Jogging trails: The jogging trails were a little better in that they seemed to end up back where they started without the benefit of forcing people to turn around. The landscaping is excellent, so you can jog through the property without ever worrying about the Orlando roads.

Paddle-boats: A good variety of single, double, and family boats were available to borrow and use around their lake. The lake is just the right size to paddle around and enjoy. I can see how it might get crowded if the hotel was packed, but when we were there, we usually saw only one or two other boats on the lake. There is also a sunfish you can use, but I never took it out.

Rock-climbing: There were several walls that were the right size for kids. My son was the right height for the smallest wall, which I think was a nine-foot "kiddie" wall. My son tried it once, and I think he would have done it again, but all he wanted to do was swim.

Dining: All of the restaurants at the motel are good, but we did not visit any of them this time around. We have been to Hemmingway's before, though, and it was excellent. For this trip, though, we were on a low budget, and we ate every meal at one of the restaurants just outside the hotel front gate. Because of the location, there are more than a dozen well-known chain restaurants within a mile or two of the hotel. We always found what we wanted without having to go out of our way in any direction. The chain restaurants might not offer the quality of the Hyatt, but they are a pretty reliable choice, and cheaper than hotel food or theme park food.

In total: If you are spending all day at the hotel, you might run out of stuff to do after a couple of days. But if you are using the hotel as a break from theme parks, it will add a dimension to your vacation that is easily as good as Disney's on-property hotels.

The atmosphere is family-friendly, without being as over-the-top as some other local hotels. Between the bikes, the paddle-boats, the heated pool, and the rock walls, The Hyatt Grand Cypress gives you a lot of things to do on the days that you are burned out from theme parks, or just enjoying a break during a conference. I would recommend it for family or for couples, unless you are specifically looking for something cheaper, or some place right on the Disney property..

Room Tip: If you pick a room just to be able to see the fireworks at Magic kingdom, don't get your hopes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave2Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,276
    1,237
    376
    167
    119
See reviews for
2,236
1,038
91
1,169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lots of on-site activities (pools, bikes, boats etc.) We were greeted with champagne when we arrived and got a nice room with the lake view. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed is very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that it only has one small jacuzzi and it's hidden away from the pools. It would be nice to have a larger and/or multiple jacuzzi closer to the pools. I've had good experiences with most Hyatt Regency hotels and was happy that we decided to stay here for our trip to Orlando.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eldenmc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was the best I have stayed in! Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean rooms. Very big. I will be back!!! We had a great night sleep and the Television was very big. The pool area looked great but we could not enjoy it because we had to leave the next morning. The free breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldeanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for noting that our hotel is the best you have stayed in. With our helpful and friendly staff and 1500 acres, you will have to return so that you can truly enjoy all that we have to offer. We appreciate your review and we hope you will recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This location is simply divine! I was here for a conference so the selection of the hotel was not a decision made by myself. But, im sure glad this hotel
was selected. The rooms are spacious, and the laundry list of activities and amenities are endless. There's something available for every person in the family. The pool area is super clean and the staff members are pleasant! I must say that the only two suggestions I would give to the visitors of this hotel is to bring snacks, there no where on site to purchase an inexpensive beverage. Secondly, there's a Walgreens not far away, buy your own bottle of wine and leave it in the room. The alcohol is a bit pricey. ( Theres not happy hour) But overall they hotel deserves 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanishaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
When coming to our property for a business meeting, we hope that you pack some leisurewear as well. Our pool and hot tubs are open 24 hours a day. Thank you for noting our endless amenities and that our staff is pleasant. We do have a gift/sundry shop here in the hotel that offers snacks and drinks as well as our Palm Cafe for a casual lunch whether dining inside or on the pool deck. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Orlando for a business trip. We love the hotel so much, we chose to add a couple of days. They have an extensive outdoor facilty and water activities. We kyaked in the lagoon, rode bikes over 5 miles of trails. They have beautiful white sand beaches right next to the pool. This was heaven in Feb ! Being from NH this was a treat. The macaw in the lobby, named Merlot was a lot of entertainment. The grounds were beautiful, and the restaurants great. We had a long talk with the art director of the shops, did not buy anything, but very friendly and interesting. We would highly recommend this as a great place for families as well as couples, lots to do, and very easy to get to. Downtown Disney is just a 10 min car ride away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggrabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
So nice to read that while coming to our hotel for business that you added a few days because you enjoyed it so much ! Our many amenities were utilized by the two of you and we are glad you truly enjoyed them. We hope that when you plan a leisure vacation, you will consider coming back to our resort. Thank you for taking the time to let the Trip Advisor readers know that business can mix with pleasure!

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just returned from Orlando having attended some celebration dinners for my friend's daughter graduation from UCF and for their 25th wedding anniversary.

As most travelers do, I chose a hotel for both location and price. In this case I thought I'd treat myself to something special and went for a 4-star hotel via priceline. I ended up with a room at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress for $103 a night....or so I thought.

First, the Hyatt has a pretty amazing property and amenities...which amounts to your first shake-down for an additional Resort Fee of $22 a day. When I questioned this charge, the woman at the desk (who is just the messenger here) told me this charge was clearly outlined on my Priceline receipt....which is a big BULL-oney sandwich. I checked my Priceline receipt when I got home and there is NO mention of this "Hotel Fee" which was presented to me at check-in as a "Resort Fee". Feel dirty yet?? But wait!!! Here comes your second shake-down. You will also be charged either $13 a day for self-parking or $26 a day for valet. Again, checking my Priceline receipt shows that this additional charge is also NOT mentioned. Had enough yet? Here comes your third shake-down....My friend and his 16-year old daughter came to the Hyatt to visit. Originally we we going to use some of the outdoor amenities, but the weather didn't fully cooperate, so the Hyatt staff shut down all activities. Of course there is no refund of the Resort Fee for inclimate weather. My friend's daughter requested that I buy a virgin Frozen Pina Colada for her. I decided that sounded good too. My friend opted for the full octane version. Let's guess the tally for 2 non-alcoholic drinks and 1 alcoholic (barely) one. If you guessed $33 you would have been right. That's $11 dollars each!!! Ouch! Ouch! Ouch! Clearly the concern of the management/owners of the Hyatt is money, money, money. Caring about people takes too much effort.

Two noteworthy aspects of the Hyatt are actually some of the people there. Housekeeping keeps an immaculate room and are very considerate and friendly with guests. The most enjoyable are the gentlemen who assist with your bags/luggage. They are all very friendly and engaging. In just two days my favorite became a gent by the name of Tim who shared amusing stories of flying on an airplane with a frozen turkey and small microwave oven. It was all part of an interesting and somewhat romantic story that you'll need to ask him about.

The real total for my $103 a day room was $157.97, which is approximately $55 more A DAY than I was quoted.

$103.00 Room
18.37 Tax & Fee
13.00 Self Parking
.85 State sales tax on parking
20.00 Hotel Fee
1.43 Hotel Fee sales tax
1.32 Hotel fee occupancy tax
------------
$157.97

It's a very pretty hotel and has much to do on good-weather days. I simply had enough of the misleading prices, high prices and miscellaneous "shake downs". I won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NuK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr. G,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay that you sent to me directly, wrote in the Hyatt survey as well as posted here on TripAdvisor. As I previously communicated to you, Priceline does note that there are additional fees on their website when booking a reservation. I am sorry that you apparrently did not see that the notation. The hyatt.com website also provides detailed information regarding our resort. As you know, I credited the Resort Fee back to your credit card and apologized for any misunderstanding that you may have had.

If you care to further discuss, please feel free to contact me again.

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
407-239-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Took my family to SeaWorld and Universal Studios over Spring Break in March 2013. Rooms were very comfortable and food was excellent. Staff was very helpful. Lots of restaurants to eat at offsite nearby. I ran the 4 mile running trail upon arrival. We hit the resort pools daily after visiting the parks. State of the art pools, fitness center, hot tubs. Lots of onsite activities for kids and teenagers. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddyCookeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad you enjoyed our many activities. Thank you for noting our very helpful staff. If your travels take you back to Orlando in the future, we hope that you will stay with us once again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 336 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing