We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #21 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Sea Girt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been to Grand Cypress many times and have never been disappointed. Their rooms and common areas are fantastic. Their restaurants are top notch. (One note: we saw a large group clear out and didn't think we would need reservations for dinner at Hemingways. Oops. Valentines Day. Sold out to all of the locals who love the place. A good sign!)
All of our breakfast waiters were great. Pool staff and kids activity help, great. Housekeeping, super friendly. Concierge, extremely helpful. Rooms and beds, great.
Couple of items for attention: Resort fee and self parking add $35 to nightly room rate. A bit much. Shower door not extremely private. When traveling with kids and one is using the bathroom, one brushing teeth, there is no where to hide. Hotel is undergoing a reno. Some noise, some dust. Looking forward to seeing the finished product.
Overall, great stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLTraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Glad to read that you have been here many times and enjoyed your visit with us once again. Our renovations are nearly complete so it is nice to know that you already know that you want to come back to check it all out. Our staff works tirelessly to make sure our guests are happy and enjoying themselves so we are pleased that you noted that our staff was a great help. Thank you for your review and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,537
    1,006
    296
    146
    89
See reviews for
1,754
851
74
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband was at a conference and I tagged along. The pool area is still under construction but when it is finished it will be awesome!! There was still a pool open and the beach area (no swimming ) for r & r.
Our room was well appointed and clean with huge shower in the bathroom. I would have also liked a tub for a relaxing soak but not essential.
The grounds are huge and well maintained but there was not much available within walking distance. Restaurants in the hotel very limited. A larger snack shop or more casual food area would have been nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great attitude with the Valet. The front desk Very professional and relaxing. The Bellhop is the best that we have ever have. I cant wait to return and be able to enjoy a stay as I did again. Super stay, Thank you Hyatt for the great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and noting that each and every department you came in contact with was polite and professional. Our bell staff has combined experience of over 280 years !!! They are ever present in the lobby ready to assist in any way possible. You are more than welcome and we hope to see you back again soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty. It was the first time id been offered champagne at check in. the staff was super friendly from valet to the restaurant. The room was beautiful and very clean. We slept great the first night but unfortunately the connecting room decided to have the tv all night the 2nd then started having loud meeting first thing the next morning. We were disappointed that the majority of outside activities were closed as we had planned on spending the 2nd day on grounds. The resort fee should be reduced to make up for this. Luckily we used Priceline and got a great name your own price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPapaSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Throughout 29 years my husband and/or I have stayed at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. Each time we loved it, without exception. We brought a 4 year old grandson a few years ago, and he had the time of his life, and was treated like a little prince by the staff.we live in (south) Florida, and sometimes feel the urge to go on a mini vacation. This last trip was to meet our 19 year old granddaughter who flew down from NJ, and to meet her boyfriend for the first time. The hotel and grounds are undergoing a huge renovation, but our experience was still wonderful. The restaurants are excellent. And, the Piña Colada at poolside is by far the BEST ever! I couldn't resist a 2nd one. I do miss the birds (parrot?) in the lobby. The Hyatt Grand Cypress is my favorite hotel in the USA!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeenaM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your 29 years of loyalty ! We think it is great that you are now bringing a third generation to our resort. Our renovations are nearly complete and we hope you will return this summer enjoy all of our new enhancements. We do appreciate you taking the time to review our property and letting the Trip Advisor readers know that you rate this your favorite hotel in the USA.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is really beautiful, the locate of the hotel is amazing; it is near from most of the touristic places (outlets, disney parks,etc). the hotel has really big pools, tennis courts, golf, etc. the room was really good, it has air conditioner, a beautiful view to the hotel's lake and to the fireworks of the disney parks at night. the beds are really comfortable. also the room has a balcony. i loved the hotel, i really recommend the hotel. it is really new

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josee151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Worst weekend ever for the money spent in this hotel! I could have stayed at one of their competitors for cheaper and been just as happy. They lost me as a loyal customer.

Lets start with the bad things in order.
1) as you walk in to the lobby it had a nasty smell from the water that's in the middle and sometime the whole lobby smelled like gross cheese every time when walking in.

2)When we checked in,we got two champagne glasses of which my fiancé's glass had a visible lipstick mark.

3) the hotel is under construction and the good pools are closed which no one told us and they still charge you resort fees!

4) we had breakfast and again my glass now had a lipstick mark on the orange juice glass I got served!

5) the connecting room next to us were really loud at 6AM and all the hotel could do is give them warnings... They didn't want to move us to a different room.

6) this "resort" has a gym that you have to be taken to by shuttle... What resort doesn't have a gym in.

And the good things:

They do have kayaks which is cool,

And the only other good things is that the customer service was good but they never helped to solve our problem which in turn they will loose a loyal customer now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Btownevox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#30 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,151 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.2 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing