We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, if you can get a deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #30 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, UK
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, if you can get a deal”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were attending an exhibition and conference at the Gaylord Convension centre. I got a really good deal for this hotel (3 rooms, for 5 days) from Priceline. There is a resort fee of $22 per night plus parking. Food is good but expensive in the restaurants. The buffet breakfast (Fri-Mon) is amazing but expensive.

I was a bit dissapointed that they could find me a room for a business meeting, the recepion staff didn't seem to know who to ask and I got the feeling tht I was fobbed off with a "none available" answer when there were definitely rooms avaable downstairs in the conference area. We had our meeting on the patio and then the outside cafe/restaurant, which was very pleasant and probably much cheaper !

The hotel is an impressive glass shell withe rooms around two sides.

Room Tip: We went high for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,426
    1,288
    396
    179
    126
See reviews for
2,346
1,072
93
1,241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights just before Thanksgiving. The hotel is nice and close to Disney. However, there are lots of construction going on. The main pool is closed, only a very small pool is open and there is construction around that pool. The rock climbing is closed as well.
There were construction vehicles coming in and out during the day and these vehicles use the same parking lot as the guests.

The second day the construction noise started around 8AM which wakes us up.

I am a diamond member and used a suite certificate to upgrade to a two room suite. The food in the lounge is quite good. Overall it's a decent hotel but the construction really made lots of inconvenience during my stay. I wouldn't stay here before the construction is over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. Very nice hotel. Though I was there by myself, this seems like a very good hotel for families. Its in a great location, close to the Disney park entrance near Crossroads shopping center and I4. The lobby is open up to the roof area and is impressive, and the elevators are glass so you can view yourself zipping up and down as you ride them. The room was very comfortable and the staff always eager to assist. Price wise its not cheap, but there is quality for what you pay for. The pool area I can't comment on because it was under construction but from the models they had on display it will be quite impressive when they are through. I can recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards Epcot center and you can see Spaceship Earth from your room. You can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDave1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicott city, md
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Resort was really very wonderful, the front desk very friendly and fast. the room was nice with a great view and large room. the bathroom was different but modern. the pool area was under construction, but one pool was open and heated. they had paddle boat, wall climbing and golf. everything was green and clean even with construction going on. only complaint was the business center, did not have my confirmation number, so i wanted to print boarding pass, tried to sign on to look a my email, and they charge of internet. i thought the resort fee which they claimed include internet, but only wi fi. had to go to my room find number and then go back to the business center. did not use the shuttle, but should have more times.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dojsnowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights before staying in Disney. This is a very good place for families. Lots of swimming, eating, etc. close to all attractions and a very friendly staff. I travel for work a lot, and Hyatt is pretty much the only hotel chain that I use. So I usually do not have to pay for any personal stays, as I just use my points. I did notice, however, that the normal rate that I would have paid was about 250.00 per night. That's a bit pricey, but, the hotel is one of the better ones in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate your comments and noting we are a family orientated hotel. With our friendly staff and newly upgraded facilities, we hope that you will return again soon. We also hope that the Trip Advisor readers who have never been here will consider checking us out. Our best rates can be found on our web site. Thank you for letting the readers also know that we are one of the best hotels in the area. We hope you will recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

enjoyed a week of stay in the resort. lot of activities to do and staff are welcoming and helpful. rooms are well maintained and resort facilities are amazing. there is some construction under way but that did not bother us much. shuttle to disney parks comes a little late (upto 15 minutes) late but showed up every day. there is a resort fee of $25 per day but looks like every resort in Orlando charges similar fee. there is hertz rental location in the resort if you want to rent a car.

Room Tip: try fir higher floor lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lover_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for letting the readers know that our staff is welcoming and helpful. We strive to be the best we can every single day. From our clean comfortable rooms to our delectable restaurant offerings and friendly staff, our resort is a place to come and getaway from the stresses of life to relax and reinvigorate. It is amazing what a weekend away can do for the mind and body! We appreciate the review and hope you will return soon. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hyatt Regency Gran Cypress is now my favourite hotel in the world. Of course the location is brilliant, being close to Disney, a very short drive to Universal Studios and SeaWorld. And of course, you can drive over to Tampa for Busch Gardens. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, helping children pour drinks and making them Sno-Cones. I didn't really go to the restaurants, but each morning I went to Cascades for breakfast. You have the option to buffet or order it. I chose buffet each time, and the buffet has an amazing large variety of food and drinks, including muffins, waffles, pancakes, toast, egg and more. Merlot the hotels parrot was very entertaining, apart from when he gets angry and makes the loudest most annoying noise you've ever heard, and it echoes all around the hotel, but it dosen't go as far as the rooms. If you are flying with British Airways, make sure when checking in for your return flight online, you don't use the hotels computer, as there are problems with B.A's security settings. Mostly, you can't check in for return flights from Orlando anyway. The room was clean, the T. V had a wide range of channels ( even more including HD coming soon! ). The shower was good, apart from water likes to spray onto the floor outside.
The pool was well positioned, with slides for the kids. We took a big advarntige of the bikes, and often went for a bike ride. The trail was closed at the time, so we went cycling around the golf courses. Also, they offered pitch and put, a small selection of golf holes inside the hotels resort, on the other side of the resort, they had a whole massive golf course. This was all included in the resort fee. Unfortunately, we stayed during some construction work, but if you choose the right room, you can avoid the noises. And they stop after 6PM anyway. We also went canooing and kayaking often, once again, all included in the resort fee. We had a nasty shock at the end of our stay when we looked at the bill, well over $2000!
There were I think 18 floors, but we stayed on the 2nd floor. If your scared of heights, don't pick a high level, and if you do, don't look down over the edge! You get a good view of the Disney fireworks from the top floor's window, and a good sight of nearby thunderstorms, but FOX 35 kept us aware of that. If you can't sleep on the first night, don't check out. You WILL settle in.

One last thing, when navigating to the hotel, if you are using a sat-nav, don't turn left onto Hotel Plaza Blvd, as you will have to go around a big loop that takes about five minutes to get around. Instead, take the next left after Hotel Plaza Blvd, then turn left again when you see the grand cypress logo.

When you stay at the hotel, you proberbley won't need to be food shopping, but Wal-Mart and Publix are nearby, just like a range of restaurants.

Tip: Sign up for Hyatt Gold Passport and get perks like a free newspaper every day!

I would like to give a big thank you to all staff members who helped us during our stay and we hope to stay at another Hyatt hotel again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starsky135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We certainly like the title of your review :-) !! Thank you for taking the time to let the Trip Advisor readers know of your outstanding visit with us. With so many activities to enjoy and several restaurants with a variety of options, we are a destination resort. We are so glad you truly enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future. We are nearing completion of our new poolside bar and grill to enhance guest experience. We are looking forward to an amazing 2013 summer season and hope many new Trip Advisor readers will come check us out. If any readers have questions about our resort, please contact me and I will do my best to answer them. Thank you again for your review and hope to see you soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 338 in Orlando
5,547 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing