We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing once in a lifetime service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
des moines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing once in a lifetime service!”
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Perfect stay at the Grand Cypress! You will be greeted at the gated entrance by a smile. You will then drive up to the hotel entrance and asked your name. As you walk into the hotel they will greet you by name. The lobby is grand. Ask for a room facing Epcot, as you will be able to view Epcot and Disney's nightly fireworks. The ammenities are to die for! There is a waterfall pool and so many comfy chairs to choose from. The pool towels are very thick and are given to you at the pool. They have free kayaks, pedal boats, sail boats and canoes. You can take these onto the beautiful lake. Near the lake is a beach with chairs and hammocks.
The rooms are spotless! I am VERY picky too! If you are a family, you may want to book either two double (not queen) beds or get a king and ask for a roll-a-way bed (only offered in the king room). As for family room service, the pizza is a quick inexpensive choice. You will not be so pleased that you stayed here!

  • Liked — Amazing service!
  • Disliked — Our stay was too short!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outwardboundcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,343
    1,259
    385
    172
    123
See reviews for
2,279
1,052
92
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Stayed here as part of a family trip to Florida to celebrate our wedding. We wanted somewhere slightly upmarket to recover from the flight, close enough to Seaworld and shopping, before we hit the madness that is Disney!

As you enter the resort it is easy to feel you are slightly away from it all. We received a great welcome as we pulled up in the car, and this continued as we checked in with a glass of champagne and a guided tour to our room.
The rooms are spacious enough for a family of four and pretty standard for this grade of hotel. What stands out, apart from the level of service. are the facilities. Great pool area, hot tubs, bikes, walks, horse-riding and golf. It would be easy not to leave the property! What makes you leave might be the cost of eating in but there are many places to eat within a short driving distance.

Visiting in October we got a great rate. As we were handed some bottles of cold water as we left for the Yacht Club we agreed this would be worth another visit.

  • Liked — Service and facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickihof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Good location and nice looking building but, once you are inside, you realize just how long it has been since this property has seen an update. The rooms are average size with fair beds, worn carpet, old fashioned 19"TV, and a floral trellis wallpaper in the bathroom that has to be seen to be believed! Has that damp and musty old Florida scent...

Booked this stay through Amex Centurion and cannot believe that this property is part of their program.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bocae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My husband and I and our two children (ages 11 and 14) stayed at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress this past week. We had an excellent stay there.

I wouldn't normally comment on check-in, but the woman who assisted us really was exceptional. With the exception of one guy who worked in the gift shop - who was only so-so, everyone at the Hyatt was friendly and helpful beyond what I expected. The man who took our bags to our room offered a brief, interesting tour that gave us our bearings at the hotel. One man doing maintenance, stopped to explain some of the art we were looking at in the halls. The doormen were always there and always friendly, and the restaurant staff were excellent, too. Shortly after arriving we went to the Sports Bar. A man upfront and the hostess apologized for a 30 minute wait, but offered to call Hemingway's (another restaurant on site) so that we could be seated immediately. We took them up on the offer, walked to Hemingway's and were greeted and seated immediately.

The grounds are amazing, and reminded us a lot of a past trip to a Playa del Carmen resort. Technically the Hyatt has two pools, but it looks like one. The smaller one was 82 degrees, on the warm side for our taste. The other pool which is enormous, was 71 degrees, a bit on the cold side, but still doable on a 80+ degree day. There is a long cave like area over part of the pool that is beautiful, shaded, and fun to explore.

At the lake, we used the walking trails, Hydro bikes, Aqua bikes, and paddle boats at no additional cost. We were in Orlando to perform at a relative's wedding, and had hoped to have some fun, but also be able to relax. As busy as this hotel is, we really did feel like we could relax. It didn't seem to keep the same hectic pace that much of Orlando has.

The included hotel shuttle we took was a very comfortable coach bus. The shuttles ran exactly on time and was so much easier than driving and parking at theme parks, as we have done in Orlando in the past.

We had a lakeview room with two double beds that were very comfortable. The rooms are decorated in a Florida style and were immaculately kept. Before you go, look for a picture of the bathroom wallpaper, so you aren't surprised when you get there. The bathrooms are good size and clean, but not as nice as the rest of the room.

One downside for us was the price of food. We expect to pay more for food on vacation, but it seemed to me the price exceeded the value? The food we paid more for was delicious, but I'm not convinced it was worth the price tag. All of the kid's menu selections at the hotel that our kids chose were reasonable and nicely done.

The only major glitch we encountered was that we put our Room Service breakfast card out the last night, so that we could have breakfast in our room before leaving for the airport. When the food didn't come, we called and were told security had never picked up our card. They did apologize and provided our food in just over 30 minutes. Our driver had arrived a bit early. He waited outside the entrance for us while we quickly ate.

Our stay wasn't perfect, but I would still consider it to have been Excellent.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Cost of Meals
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Visited the Hyatt with my family of 4 the last week of March. From the time we arrived, till we left, the service was outstanding!!
On arrival asked for an upgrade and they took the time to show us the different rooms. When there was a housekeeping issue in one of the rooms, they responded by upgrading us to another room. We had to leave early and they couldnt have been nicer, we'll be back just because of how well they treated us!
The hotel itself is a beautiful alternative to the Disney properties. The property is a little dated, but still kept in great condition. There are multiple pools and one was heated. Be careful of the large slide... it's made of concrete and if not completely wet will rake your back!
Food was outstanding with breakfast buffet the kids loved!
All in all an great place to stay! We will return.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuckyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Cons:
Booked and later confirmed a king room. Recived a double. Could not be tranferred to a king because the hotel was full.
Booked a non-smoking room, but my room filled with cigarette smoke several times each day. I complained several times, nothing was done.
Sink was clogged. (Fixed immediately however)
Charges for everything. Slow internet service was $50 for my 4 nights. One glass of orange juice from room service is $4.50 plus delivery. Fridge rental $15 a day. Other charges equally rediculous.
Delivery drivers from restaurants not allwed to hotel.
Hotel is far from airport with no free shuttle. Rund trip $32 per person to hotel by shuttle.
Never received any compensation for my room troubles.
Pros:
Nice resort area with paddleboats, canoes, walking paths, etc.
Nice landscaping.
Lots of nearby restaurants.

  • Liked — resort area
  • Disliked — crappy room and service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmeistermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

On the plus side, the heated pool was nice and the staff were pleasant, and the grounds were beautiful. On the negative side, when we first checked in they put us in a room next to the ice machine. I went back to the check-in desk and complained. The girl at the desk said here is a different room two away from the ice machine on a different floor. We went to the new room, and, guess what, right next to the ice machine. Went down to the front desk again, they apologized, and "upgraded" us to a room that was far away from the ice machine! As far as I could tell, that was the only upgrade. After finally settling in, we realized the only thing you could do here cheaply was swim and breathe. For example, if you wanted to use the minibar to put in your personal items they wanted to charge you $45!!!! The Easter brunch was $55 per person!!! Upon checkout we were charged a $15 per night "Resort Fee". When I asked what this covered they said the outdoor features to be used by guests. Yes, but you have to pay for those anyway! Bottom line, find something else.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,457 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing