We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is not all about Golf!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It is not all about Golf!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has 3 amazing Golf Courses so I guess it must be the best choice in Orlando for golf lovers but that is not all it offers. Choices are: a variety of water sports, fitness, biking, wall climbing, heated pool, etc. The landscape is beautiful and a bike ride through the trails that surround the golf courses is a real treat ! Rooms are spacious and well kept. Staff is courteous especially at valet parking. Breakfast is good but expensive for Orlando standards. From the upper floor corridors one can watch the fireworks from WDW both Magic Kingdom and Epcot Center! Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cia2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort and letting the Trip Advisor readers know that if they are considering a golf vacation, look no further than the Grand Cypress Resort. We have 45 holes of Jack Nicklaus designed golf, driving range and at the Hyatt we also have a par 3 pitch and putt golf course which is fun for the entire family. We have several outdoor activities for hours of enjoyment. Our padded lounge chairs also make for a great afternoon of sun bathing. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will return again soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,140
    1,174
    354
    164
    114
See reviews for
2,126
1,006
86
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hotel is very nice, rooms are clean and comfortable. Location of hotel was great for our Disney exploits and there is a lot to do at the Hotel. Yes, there are a few things that may have irked me a little under different circumstances but I really feel the staff here did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. Case in point. Most of the pool area was closed for renovation which was not information readily available while making a reservation. However, they brought in portable hot tubs and inflatable slides for the kids to play on. For sure next time I'd like to know about the renovations when booking but a nice effort on their part to compensate. However, I was most impressed by the staff.

From Bell Hops to Concierge to Front Desk Staff we were always treated by employees that were clearly interested in us having a good stay. We made several requests to housekeeping for various things which were promptly delivered and followed up with a phone call to see if we had received what we had asked for. Once housekeeping realized our daughter was using the chaise lounge in the room to sleep, they made her bed every day and left her extra sheets. Our waitress from the Cascades restaurant even sent up Milk and Cookies for our kids the day after we dined there. We didn't ask for this, just an extremely nice gesture which was a hit with the kids and an even bigger one with their parents. Great staff can turn even a mediocre property into a wonderful stay. This is not a mediocre property by any stretch and the staff here turned what probably would have been a routine stay into a very pleasurable experience. Heck, even the kids noticed which is really saying something.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a wonderful time we had in this Hyatt.
After allocating us the wrong room we were moved with no bother to a quiet room with a sofa bed for our daughter with use of the Executive Lounge where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. The lounge was on the small side but was being extended as we completed our stay.
The facilities are awesome - the lake, the pools, bike hire, golf, climbing wall etc etc. Of course the weather helps but nothing could detract from the quality of the staff, facilities and restaurants.
Only downside is the charge to park your car - you don't have a choice but to use the car park.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I wish we were here in Summer 2013, so we could enjoy the great grounds with pools around the hotel. Currently these are being renovated. The reception staff was great, fully in line with the atmosphere of the hotel. Minor downside was a waitress and extremely cold airco in the restaurant, so we left soon after finishing our meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTulip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Ok first off you need to know I loved this hotel and came to it yearly for the past several years and even brought business associates to it to stay.. it is not a good place to go now
They are doing construction of the pool area so 80% of it is under construction. Good tip go on the shuttle to the Villas for a little quiet and a pool. Interestingly no one acknowledged this and they charge the full resort fee add on. I was in the Greenville Hyatt last week and they had some construction. The staff there was apologetic and they even offered a compensation by providing a free appetizer. Here nothing.... Ok if you want breakfast you can get a bike or have a van and go to the golf club. It is less expensive than the hotel by quite a bit. Be warned they put a service charge on the bill. In this case it was too much because the service was poor with the staff talking with each other rather than serving the guests. Finally what really ticked me off is that I ran into some one who said he got a free breakfast with his triple A membership. Sure i had triple A but the thing is I asked about using it and they said no!!! So hopefully they get their act together about who deserves a free breakfast!! Be aware 12 dollar parking fee Rooms are great The staff has generally been excellent in the past but I think they were bored because of lack of customers. So be careful If you want a five star hotel there are others in the vicinity that I bet will not disappoint. I will write about at least one next year.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Disney on a high floor so you can watch the fireworks Be sure to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Hyatt Grand Cypress near Disney several times and have always been impressed with the property despite the fact that it seems to be in endless remodeling for the last 3 years or so. This was the 1st time I booked it via a priceline "name your own price" bid. We were met at check-in with hefty mandatory $22 + tax Resort Fees and $12 + Tax Parking Fees that we have never seen in prior visits. When pushed for an explanation a front desk clerk said it is because of the way priceline prices the property; a dishonest answer as priceline only charges what the hotel agrees to sell for. The resort fee was particularly amusing as the main pool was drained for renovation despite pool services being a reason for the fee, along with Wi-Fi which I did not want or need in the age of smart phones; and best yet "Free" local calls. We were so disgusted that I will never bid for a resort around Disney again for fear of getting taken for a ride at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. We were additionally punished for our audacity to book via priceline with double beds (when we asked for a King) and a nice parking lot view. The Hyatt is more accommodating if you book through them directly.

Room Tip: Do not book via priceline name your own price if you want a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I went to Orlando for work and play. He was there for a Health conference and I tagged along for a mini vacation. We used the Mears shuttle offered at the airport to take us to our Hotel at a reasonable price. Once we arrived we were handed a complimentary glass of Champagne upon check-in. When we walked in our room, it was clean and modern. Though the balcony was hardly big enough to step onto and it overlooked the parking lot. Once we got unpacked, we toured the property. There are so many amenities available at the hotel. Golf, running trails, Gym, tennis and basketball courts are available for guests to use. We kayaked and laid by the lake. Though, there was construction, it never bothered us.

The complimentary shuttles to Disney and Universal parks were convenient and worth using to avoid parking or taxi fees. Just be aware of pick up and drop off times because they do not wait for late guests.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Orlando and hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter and don't bother getting a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#26 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,107 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.2 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing