We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial day weekend 2012....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #31 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice resort; so much to do on the property. Got a suite from the diamond upgrade, but it is basically two connected rooms with balconies facing the Disney. Great view, able to see the firework from the room every night. Overall service was great. Hemingway's was good, not great for its price. But service was as good as any restaurant we have been in the area. Had a reservation right before the kitchen closed; was coming back late from the Universal. Called the restaurant, was able to make it just in time. Servers were attentive and were not rushing us.

The only negative part was the complimentary transportation. Leaving the hotel, the bus was packed; plenty of people were standing. We waited for the bus in Sea World for a hour; just to find out that the bus drove by and left. No sign; driver did not come out to the waiting area. We ended up taking a cab back to the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,571)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,895 - 3,901 of 5,571 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

First stayed here in 1980, was one of the best hotel experiences of my life! have stayed 20+ times since, so I do not dismiss this hotel totally. The past few years have seen a change for the worse, do not know if it is new management or what. There is now a fee for self parking($12) or valet($23) in addition to a mandatory $25 per day mandatory "Resort Fee" that is for activities previously free for guests. No effort made on accommodating guests requests that are made on reservation, such as room location requests or check in times. No upgrade to best room available for this Diamond member of Hyatt Gold Passport. Room service is about the only food available until 6PM, and is poor selection of typical hotel food.
Still is a beautiful resort, undergoing renovations, again, so there is hope that management will follow other Hyatts upgraded service to its repeat clients.

Room Tip: Higher floor pool view rooms have view of Disney fireworks.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2y2r2onot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Oct, 2012 & was underwhelmed by this hotel. People were very nice & attentive (thought it was difficult to get waited on poolside occasionally despite having ample staff). This was a business trip so did not have the family in tow. Choices for lunch very limited (nothing open but poolside cafeteria) & couldn't even get a cocktail in lobby until 4PM. Most distressing thing was the service fee they tack on to everything. Make sure to check your food & bar bills so you don't add additional tip like I did (not intutitively obvious they'd added tip already).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We first visited the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress in July 2010 and had a fabulous time. We were planning our return before we'd even left but it room us until October 2012 to come back.
On check in we were told that the heated pool was shut for refurbishment. A bit annoying giving the cooling temperatures in October but okay. It would have been nice if this were obvious when we booked though.
The rooms and lobby were as lovely as we remembered. The level of cleanliness was good and the rooms are lovely and spacious. The housekeeping was of a reasonable level but it did fluctuate each day.
We went to bed happily on our first night but after this it all went wrong. 8am the next morning we hear loud banging and drilling. I called guest services whose attitude was "so what?" so we went down to reception to speak to Natalie, the manager. In fairness to Natalie she was very apologetic, offering us a $100 refund or to help us move. Neither of these options was great for us, we had chosen Orlando as our destination specifically to go to the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress so moving wasn't ideal. Also $100 off our total bill was really insubstantial compared to the nightly room charge.
At the time of year the hotel seems to cater for mostly conference guests whom I guess will be awake early and so not bothered by the noise. When on holiday though you do not want this rude awakening every day. We appreciate the need for renovations in order to maintain the hotel, what we don't appreciate is not being told about it, not when booking, not even on check in. Had we known about these works we would have visited at a different time. Even booking now you are told that most rooms are completed by a small number may have closed balconies and in THESE rooms you may have noise between 10 and 8. The noise reverberated throughout the hotel, we were on the other side to where the works were being done and the noise started from 8am without fail. This notice was not published when we booked.
Other areas of the hotel had also fallen in standard. The pool areas were often dirty, used glasses and cigarette stubs were littered around the hot tubs for hours. On our previous stay the waiting staff would send a thank you note to your room the morning after your meal. This was a lovely touch and it was sad to see it gone.
Finally, we booked a table at Hemmingways for 8pm, we arrived promptly but were told there would be a 15 minute wait for our table. When we were seated there were a number of tables free. Our food was served disjointedly and despite informing staff of a gluten allergy both on booking and on seating no advice was given. This is not acceptable from a fine dining restaurant.
Overall, this hotel is still a good hotel, indeed (when renovations are over) new guests will probably think it's great but it is such a shame to see the standards slipping and consequently we will probably not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you were not made aware of our upgrading of the facilities prior to your arrival. We have tried to make sure that information is well posted at all reservation sources including hyatt.com and all the wholesalers that service the United Kingdom. Apparently, whoever you booked your reservations with failed to share this information. Nevertheless, we did attempt to fairly compensate you for the inconvenience. Hopefully, you will return in the future after all of our renivations are complete.

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

They are remodeling, and many things don't work like the TV, they do not even show what channels they have,because they are changing the cable company... no pay movies, no mini bar, all over construction, the menu is not even a shadow what it was some years ago, but you still have to pay as it is a 5 star hotel.... have been here many times in the last 16 years but I think is going to be the last, no fishes in the lobby, only a lonely parrot, they renovated but now if you are in the bathroom an you not realize that the closet door is the same for the bathroom and you are sit in the toilet an one of the kids open the room door everybody that is passing by will see you in the toilet.... Is not play ground for the small kids anymore

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colora6969696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I wish that you had contacted management in order to understand better the improvements that are happening in our resort. We are in the process of converting our TV and movie system to a new "state of the art" interactive Roomlinx system. The inconveniences that you mentioned were only temporary. We are also building a new Recreational Island with fun water features for the kids. As far as fish in the lobby ponds, we have not had them since shortly after the hotel opened as the environment was not ideal for them. Hopefully, you will return once our upgrades are completed.

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Orlando, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from 2 glorious weeks at the Hyatt and I am pleased to say that having stayed there from the 90's that the hotel and staff are as wonderful as ever!
Before we arrived I contacted Fred Ditto and Steven Ballot with some specific requests for my room and they went above and beyond to make sure they were met and our expectations exceeded.
The reason for this trip was for our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday and the service we recieved ( a massive thank you to Vann and Abe ) was just fantastic! We recieved complimentary champange in our room when we arrived, with other touches the whole way through our stay which made it extra special.
With regards to the current work taking place at the pool area, we really were unaffected by this as the area was cornered off and the disruption was minimal.
If you are eating at this hotel please do try Hemmingways - we ate here 5 times and the food was exceptional every time, also you have to try the sushi at Cascades it is absolutly amazing!
I'm pleased to say we will definitely be returning next year as the service and standards here are exceptional - it really is a tropical oasis!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor overlooking the lake - that way you get a view of the pool and the fir...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orlandoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are all so glad you had a wonderful time here at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress celebrating your anniversary and husband's birthday. Our staff is always committed to giving our guests the attention they deserve. A bit of preplanning on your part made your stay one to remember and I am glad our staff went above and beyond to exceed your expectations. Happy anniversary to both of you and a very happy birthday to your husband. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for letting the Trip Advisor readers know customer service - above all - is crucial. We hope you will return again so that we can do it all over again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having read some of the reviews of this lovely hotel on this site, I was honestly starting to dread my recent stay on holiday with my family. I need not have worried. Those who have criticised this hotel and said it is more like a 3 star venue MUST be seriously delusional. This is a very high quality hotel with an immense array of activities and amenities for both the holiday maker and the business user. The rooms are lovely, the food great quality and good value and the staff are wonderful. NOTHING is too much trouble for any of the staff and they all go the extra mile without being asked. I have stayed in a huge amount of hotels all over Europe and VERY, VERY few of them come close to this venue. 5 star in EVERY respect.

Room Tip: High floors with a good view of Epcot for the outstanding view of the nightly Fireworks.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 340 in Orlando
5,710 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $183 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing