We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #32 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice hotel, well located for a family trip to Disneyworld. I stayed here on a convention, so all-business. The layout is open and inviting, the pool area is great, fitness center is adequate... the one thing they need is better/more dining and entertaining choices in the resort..

Room Tip: get a room with a pool view, so much nicer than looking at (and hearing) a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,980 - 3,986 of 5,635 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Love it! The closest to the paradise, beautiful place , great service, good food prices average, there was construction but it didn't boter us at all , lots of fun activities for every body we have a 4 year old and he had a blass in the pool , there is a resort fee and daily parking fee but it is worth it , can wait to go back!!!!!:-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fberducido1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so glad you and your family had a perfect vacation while staying with us. We have quite a few exciting new features that will be completed in the coming months so we hope you will come back and experience all the new and fun things we have planned !

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Love this hotel for its location, friendliness and overall service! This was our second stay in a year and I'm glad to see nothing has changed. Good fast free wifi, clean rooms, quality bathroom products and the grounds and pool area are immaculate. The smaller pool area is currently undergoing work but that didn't bother us as its not close to the hotel and rooms. We used our points to access their club lounge. Beautiful smoked salmon each morning for breakfast and complimentary soft drinks, tea and coffee etc. are always a good start to the day! It just confirms why we are loyal to the Hyatt and Andaz brands. Don't waste your time looking anywhere else.

The only thing I would say is the self parking is expensive and each day or night you have to walk though the function areas to get to your room / lobby. Its a trek too. Everyday there was something happening, organized dinners, business functions and so on. Walking through the middle of it was at times embarrassing with your shopping or in pool attire surrounded by professionals in suits.
If there was a better way to the hotel from the car park we never found it. Go by the roadway to the front door and it would take twice the time. Apart from that its a total winner!

Room Tip: Get the pool view rooms as you can see the Disney fireworks from your balcony each night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Having friendly service and a great location are just a couple reasons our guests love staying with us. As for convenience, our self parking lot is just outside our convention entrance. Any time our guests want to avoid walking through this area, they can go up the sidewalk to the left of the convention area, then turning right, under the canopy walkway directly into the hotel, thus completely circumventing the convention area. This is also much shorter than walking to the front entrance of the hotel. Thank you for your five point review and we look forward to your next visit.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Grand Cypress for a 4-day conference last week. At first I found the modern (circa 1980s) Asian theme a little odd. But it grew on me quickly. And we found hotel grounds/layout to be quite functional. While the hotel is currently undergoing a limited renovation, the work didn't disrupt our stay. We found that hotel staff, from the Front-Desk personnel, house-keeping to the restaurant staff to bend over backwards for all our requests. We needed a late checkout (past the 11am policy), because our 2-year-old was sick. The front-desk accommodated us and even asked if we needed a doctor or other medical staff. We ate at the Cascade American Bistro. I ordered the Mahi Mahi tacos, which were fantastic. We later ordered room service and my wife had some delicious salmon pasta, while I ate the margarita pizza and lava cake. All were, again, fantastic. And promptly delivered. The pool staff was also great. We ate some good grub pool-side (nachos and club sandwiches as well. The only disappointment was the limited complimentary hotel transportation to the theme parks. 2 morning departures and one return just didn't give us much flexibility. So we opted for a car service to take us to the parks. All in all, it was a great stay and my wife said she would love to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the hotel pool area and you can see nightly Epcot fireworks at ~ 9pm from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort hotel and letting the Trip Advisor readers know that your experience with our level of service and the quality of our food was worthy of a 5 point rating. The level of service we provide and the quality of food that we offer are two major reasons why we have so many return guests. Our goal is to always provide excellent service and provide an excellent dining experience. I am glad to read that we have once again done just that.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just returned from a weekend at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. Of all the times I have travelled for business and pleasure in the past 30 years, I have never had this type of experience.

Our room was arranged and paid for by a vendor of my husband's company. At check in, the hotel had no credit card on file for the room, so I gave my Discover card (supposedly as a courtesy). I was not told my card would be billed for anything, and that when the vendor checked in later in the day, the room charge would be transferred to his card.

The property is NOT user friendly for anyone using their own vehicle during the course of the day. There is a gated parking area (not free) that is a walking distance from the rooms. You need to scan a card to get in and out of the parking area. There is a "resort fee" on top of your room fee that is non-negotiable. Make sure you inquire about this before making a reservation! This fee includes Internet in the room, boat rentals, bikes, and the like. We only used the Internet.

The room was on the small side, and strangely appointed: not even close to enough lighting, a balcony only wide enough to stand on, a closet door that when opened is the bathroom door... Weird. We left the room at 9:15am on Saturday, requesting maid service with some extra bath towels. When we returned at 1:30pm, we had received neither. I called the front desk for a second request and did not get the towels. I hunted down the maid eventually, and got my towels from her cart. The hallway was littered with dirty plates, cups and empty pizza boxes throughout our stay.

The biggest problem I had with this property, however, was the email I received a couple of hours after check in. Discover card sent me an email saying that a large purchase had posted to my account. $577 from the Hyatt Grand Cypress. WHAT!? Upon investigation, the hotel charged this AND a $150 charge for a two night stay that was not even on my dime. I have NEVER been charged anything on a credit card before I even spent one night at a hotel, let alone ALMOST DOUBLE what the final charge would be. I was told it would take up to 72 hours for the charge to be reversed.

The landscaping and grounds are nice, but the construction by the pool is LOUD. Stay away until construction is over (I would stay away, period). There are so many options in Orlando to choose from. We did not even receive a "how was your stay?" when we checked out. Please, please check out some of the other several hundred properties in Orlando before staying here. We have stayed at MUCH BETTER.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stmirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Stmirli,

I was sorry to hear that your experience in our hotel was less than satisfactory. We certainly strive to make every guest's stay exceed their expectations. Obviously, your requests were not properly handled for which I apologize. I would like to clarify that at check-in, your Discover card was NOT charged, but simply verified and a credit hold was temporarily placed for the anticipated amount of your stay. This is a standard practice with all hotels and car rental companies. Unfortuantely, the person who you expected to pay for your room had not provided a card yet to cover your charges and it was necessary to request that you establish credit to obtain a room, again a normal practice in the hotel industry.

If I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me,

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
407-239-1234

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stay in this hotel from 25/08/12 for 10days. Good location , fantastic pool and ground. Shame We don't have much time to enjoyed as We almost go to parks every day. But We have great time here. Food was good. We have takeaway sometimes, Buffet breakfast was good and We have JP service us almost every morning and He really looking after us well! One day we come back from Disney park tired and hungry. We found cookies and milk await us in our room! What a treat. There was a review before We went saying hotel porter asked tip before helping him, that made me worried .but it is not what I experience . They asked us do we need help when the taxi arrived.they are happy and polite even you refuse help.We are already planning to go back next August with more of our family members. Shuttle is a very good help.room was nice too ,

Room Tip: You don't need to pay for pool view rooms as you can see the Disney firework from corridor every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 687Syau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Even though most of your time was spent at the local theme parks, you did note that you had a great time here and that our staff was happy and polite. Special thanks to JP for making your breakfast experience extra special each day ! He is truly an an example of the hospitality we provide here at the Hyatt. Thank you for your review and we hope that you will return to visit us again soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A fabulous stay for our family again :in spite of renovations taking place to enhance resort in quieter time.Rooms are excellent with keen rates & staff who go that extra mile to aid guests .I will never consider another hotel in the area as long as rooms are avilable.Views of lakeside,pool,Disney etc depending on room selected.Our son had a pool view & we had a lake view on a lower floor ;everybody delighted.Amenities are fab & son & girlfriend loved their allergy free experience room.They felt it aided sleep & congestion associated with climate changes & air-con.Breakfast buffet is amazing & agin staff their do all they can to help with any requests.Our front desk adviser Ana was amazing in accomodating us after a disappointing night in a nearby hotel!Initially this hotel could not offer us rooms on our dates but we were so happy when rooms became free after renovations.Apoint learned from this experience;never settle for 2nd best & stick with what you know & like {if possible}.Unfortunately this wasn't an option for us this time but Hyatt made up for it!!!Highly recommended for all ages & whether you want to be active & use the kyaks ,pedalloes etc,play golf or tennis or just chill this hotel suits all!Great for young families too & complimentary treats were given to the kids during this period of improvement.The hotel obviously took the sensible approach of withholding rooms until guest disruption was minimal ,unlike their competitors who we had the original misfortune of booking with.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are lovely but so are the lakeview.I like a lower floor as i don't like heights or lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words about your overall experience here at the Hyatt. Also, being a return guest speaks volumes to readers. Knowing that you loved it once and decided to return, then once again having a great experience and letting the Trip Advisor readers know about it makes deciding to come visit us all that much easier. We appreciate the 5 point rating and hope that you will return yet again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,467 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,759 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 340 in Orlando
3,222 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $192 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing