We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Grand Cypress is a nice looking hotel when you first enter the lobby. We loved Merlot, the macaw.

We usually stay at the Disney Boardwalk Resort but wanted a different experience on this vacation. As others have commented, the property is very large. However, I cannot comment on the facilities as we only used the hotel to sleep before heading out to the parks.

As for our room (I am only writing about our room because there are a few different configurations. However, I think many rooms are like ours), it was very SMALL for two double beds. I really don't know what they were thinking. Who did they think would be sleeping there? The beds are MUCH TOO SMALL for two adults so I guess they felt that the each adult would sleep with a child (The last thing we wanted to do!). They should put king-size beds in these rooms and sell them to 2 adults only.

The closet door situation is dangerous. If someone is coming out of the bathroom and someone else is by the closet, you could potentially decapitate that person by unwittingly pushing the door into them.

There needs to be more room for luggage. We always seemed to be tripping over it.

The built-in piece of furniture that runs the length of the wall can be a real pain if you drop anything behind it (You can't move it and it is practically impossible to reach fallen objects). THEREFORE, DO NOT PUT SMALL OBJECTS (E.G. JEWELRY) ON TOP OF IT.

I have no idea why they have a "cool box" instead of a refrigerator (You cannot put formula or medicine in it). So, if you want cold soda, go to the 7-11 around the corner and buy it cold and then put it inside. When something cold is placed inside it will stay cold.

As I always say, the pillows are mushy foam, so if you hate them as much as I, bring your own.

I feel that there were just not enough restaurants on the property. Breakfast at Cascades was fine but a 45 minute wait for dinner was ridiculous!

I understand the situation with the shower door. I have the same in my house. The reason for the half-door is if you are taking a bath, it prevents you from feeling closed in. However, since most of us are not bathing, a full door should have been installed.

Also, the situation with the resort fee. Every high-end hotel does this. What I don't understand is why cheap hotels can offer free breakfast and wi-fi and the luxury ones charge for everything.

I disagree with others who felt that the service was impersonal. I felt that all the staff members were pleasant and helpful.

So in conclusion, I would try another hotel. Not that this hotel was terrible but I just feel that there are nicer hotels nearby to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUE-ZEE-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,340
    1,259
    385
    172
    123
See reviews for
2,278
1,051
92
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week. House Keeping was a nightmare, they did not clean the room well, did not stock the bathrooms.
The Restaurant Cascade was a disaster. We went for dinner after coming back from Disney Parks at 8 pm. We were told the wait was going to be 45 minutes, but the pager buzzed at around 8:35pm. We were seated by our server, water was poured into our glasses and my wife and I had some tea. Then for 45 minutes we were totally ignored. No bread, no refilling water... NOTHING. The server was going around the table and not once did he look to see if we wanted anything. I finally had to get up and talk to the manager. Luckily the food we had ordered came in at around 9:45pm or I was ready to walk out of the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeetu063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. Please acept our apologies for the shortcoming in experience in our Cascade Restaurant. We take pride in our service and when our guests are not completely satisfied, we take it very seriously. Please contact our food and beverage department personally to discuss further. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you on your next trip to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed 4 nights over Christmas weekend 2011 and it was fabulous. Great location that is close to all the theme parks. Lots of restaurants and gift shops nearby. Hotel is on the same exit as Downtown Disney. Plus - we could see the Epcot/Disney fireworks from the hotel. We used valet parking and never had to wait on our car. There is a colorful McCaw in the lobby that provides a lot of entertainment to adults and children alike. One night we returned to the hotel and there was a sugar cookie station set up for guests to ice and decorate their own sugar cookies. Bedding was very comfortable and NO BED BUGS! We will be back. This is our permanent Orlando hotel.

Room Tip: We requested a fireworks/pool upgrade upon check-in but there were none available. We still saw the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinRaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our resort. With our central location, we are within 15 minutes of all the major theme parks. Our hotel offers several restaurants with a variety of food types so there is something for everyone. We hope you return again and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Loved it here! Away from the crowds. Would come here again even though it's a little chilly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

For the price we paid - under $100 a night - this seemed a great deal. Its a solid 4 star resort with a lot of amenities. But its also your typical large, and i mean REALLY large property with impersonal service (with a few good exceptions.)

The room size was adequate. But we missed the luxury of a bathtub to bathe the little kids. What we did not realize till the last day was that the couch was a pull out bed - would have been nice if we had been made aware.

What was not expected:
An automatic 22% gratuity charged to room service orders over and above a room service charge.
Self parking at $12 that was quite far away from the lobby. If you are getting a car, just get used to paying the $23 for valet parking. These guys were great! Then again, we did tip well each time they got the car out.

We would have liked if the parking charge was included in the resort fee. Aside from that - no major problems.

Good to know:
Lots of restaurant options around the corner. From Dunkin Donuts and McDonalds for breakfast to Mexican, Chinese, Steak, Italian... all within two minutes drive of the hotel.
While the entrance of WDW is two minutes from the hotel as well, it takes about 25 minutes to drive to Magic Kingdom. Be prepared to shell out $30 for a cab ride if you dont take the sparse offerings of shuttle services.
Door to door from hotel to any of the WDW parks is about one hour if you choose the hotel transportation option. Makes us believe we would have been better off at a resort hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a lake view room means nothing - be specific and ask for a lake view room at the central par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent 5 nights here over this Christmas and we just loved staying there! The staff are extra friendly and attentive and always address you by your name:) We enjoyed the pool area with the kids-there are 2 slides there, several hot tubs and a large pool area. The only thing that would make the pool area better would be if the whole area was heated. Although my son quite enjoyed swimming in the chilly one through the cave tunnels.
The breakfast buffet is thoroughly delicious and a great way to start the day with a view and listening to a waterfall in the restaurant. The lobby is beautiful and there's a parrot named Merlot the kids enjoyed talking to. We took advantage of some of the activities like biking the trails and paddleboating in the lake:) It was a fun time! The abundance of elevators is great too=very minimal wait times!!! Also there are large windows to view fireworks at Epcot at night although it was very brief the night we went to watch it. They offer some shuttles to Disney and Universal but there are only a few times when they operate-the Universal shuttle was really crammed the day we took it. The disney one wasn't as full at all. If more shuttles were leaving for Universal it wouldn't be that bad. We tried the room service pizza and it was delicious! Great pizza for a hotel and we made it our Christmas dinner. My son thought it was quite fancy when they brought the cart in our room and then it turned out to be so tasty on top of all that:) We would definately stay here again! The price was great too compared to some of the prices I was quoted for this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rphsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
So many good things to say and the first one was our attentive staff ! Our staff is the backbone of the Hyatt. Taking care of our guests is what makes the Hyatt so special. Our amenities are plentiful and thank you for staying with us and enjoying all we have to offer. Having excellent places to eat on property rounds out to a perfect holiday getaway. We hope you return soon and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a wonderful little stay at this hotel. Upon checking in, my husband and I were offered a glass of champagne which we thought was a nice touch and great way to kick off a vacation. Our room couldn't have been more perfect for my tastes. It overlooked part of the lagoon and was very pretty. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and the bathroom is spacious. The shower was quite large, but there wasn't a bathtub (we didn't need one so that was okay). I didn't like the fact that the bathroom door was shared with the closet. If you were getting something out of the closet, and someone opened the bathroom door, you'd got bonked. Minor inconvenience though. We spent most of our time outside in the lovely grotto pool, going down the waterslide, and taking the kayaks out on the lagoon. There were many more on-site activities (which you do pay for in your resort fee). We stayed at this hotel because of the activities, but if you were going to spend your days at Walt Disney World, etc., then I would rethink staying here if price was an issue. You want to be able to take advantage of all the amenities. My husband got us two drinks at the grotto bar and it was ridiculously expensive. We were charged a fee just for ordering at the pool bar (which we weren't told ahead of time). Terrible marketing on their part - we didn't order any more alcoholic beverages or otherwise after that. The grounds are beautiful and I enjoyed walking around the pathways. It's a big hotel, but somehow it didn't feel that way. Great design. We self-parked which wasn't a big deal. All in all, I would definitely stay here again, but I would avoid the extra hidden expenses (like the grotto pool bar) and overly expensive restaurants. As a matter of fact, my kids want to know when we're going back next...

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon for a great view at a lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyride64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,402 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 337 in Orlando
4,197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,451 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing