We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Do not stay here!! Dirty Horrible hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Enclave Hotel & Suites
Ranked #224 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
“"Do not stay here!! Dirty Horrible hotel"”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

1st time family holiday to Florida, we were all extremely excited booked a virgin holiday package as you would expect Virgin Holidays to have a good standard of Hotel !! This is not what we got, arrived at hotel check in was ok. Then we got to our room to be greated by what can only be described as a dirty, horrendous room their were bugs running round the bathroom sink, the shower looked like it hadnt ever been cleaned, the bed linen was dirty and the carpet was thick with dirt. The rooms were old in need of a major renovation lights did not work, bathroom taps did not work. I do not know how anyone could recommend this hotel or say it was suitable for family's it is beyond me. I have never left a bad review about a hotel before on here (I have never come across a hotel this bad) and we travel a lot. Please think twice before staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We sincerely value your thoughts and opinion. We apologize for any disappointments or frustrations you experienced during your stay. However, we're appreciative that you made us aware of them. We constantly strive to improve upon ourselves and will take this as an opportunity to do so. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    1,667
    1,051
    584
    678
See reviews for
3,258
1,020
53
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

So you spend thousands of pounds to take your family on a once in a life time holiday to Florida and this hotel is recommended to you by your travel agent so you book it through them! You arrive at the hotel all seems well until you get into your room... And the first thing that comes into your head is this is in desperate need of updating! The sofa bed's mattress was absolutely filthy and so was the unironed scruffy oversized linen that was provided for it! The springs had gone in both mattresses so when someone moved during the middle of the night everyone else in the room was woken up! The bathroom... What a disgrace! The last guests hair in the shower, basin, behind the back of the toilet seat and the inside if the toilet was something else! There was remains of old soap and dirt on the soap dish. The floor in the bathroom was filthy and the carpet needed a good vac! The grab and go breakfast for three of us was ridiculous, we got a carrier bag which contained a Cheerio bar, a small Danish and an apple with three very small cartons of apple juice which you get on a plane with your inflight meal! So due to being starving we bought some bread to have some toast, the toaster didn't work, neither did the kettle, neither did the bedside lights or the tv remote! Your supposed to get your room cleaned every three days after 8 days we had to ask someone to clean our room, well if you could call it cleaning, was just the same as when we arrived apart from we ended up with about 15 towels in the bedroom which included dirty and clean! We attempted to complain but the so called manager informed us that the real manager was off that day! Surprise surprise nothing got done! Really really disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are very sorry to hear this about your experience with us, and we will be passing your review along to our management team. Our guests’ experience is very important to us and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope that you and your family will consider staying with us again, so that we can show you our true potential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

wishaw scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

my husband, myself and my 2 children arrived at the enclave suites after a 9 hour flight from the uk and no sleep, as we had been travelling through out the night. check in was ok and the card given for us to go to the suite, well i nearly passed out when we opened room door, the walls were all marked and the table and chairs were all scratched, the room had a thick sticky shag pile carpet it was terrible(me putting it nicely) so i duly made my way straight back to reception and asked for another room, which i was given only this time it was even worse the wall paper was hanging off the walls.so back down to reception i went and asked to speak with the duty manager on that night who was Vera, but i had to wait as there was another unhappy couple in front of me, the reception is needing a face life as i sat on a chair and sank into it as it was that old. Anyway after speaking with Vera we were shown a third room which was ok , and Vera informed me we would get moved on the Sunday when a better suite became available, needless to say this did not happen. the best thing about this hotel is the friendly and accommodating staff, the location is fantastic for i drive and the car parking is great also.
the maid services were excellent and the room was kept clean, in fact on the 3 rd day hotel services came to our door to see if we were ok,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay got off to a bumpy start, but we're so glad that we were able to assit you. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and will certainly pass those along. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed here before but this time was not so good...our daughter was "eaten alive" by bed bugs. Although the hotel staff just fobbed it off as "a possible allergy to the laundry detergent". The cleaning manager came and checked our room after we mentioned the bites all over our daughters body to another member of the cleaning staff. She told us that she couldn't see any bugs but the bites did look like the tracks that bed bugs leave. She then said that she was going to call in an exterminator...so what does that tell you??????? We didn't even get so much as an apology from the Hotel Management. When we informed them (and I would have thought that this would be something they would keep up with), they just fobbed us off and pretended like they didn't even hear the words "bed-bugs".

We will definitely be looking elsewhere for our next trip back to Orlando.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marrianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very important to us, and we so sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit. Please rest assured that we sharing your feedback with our management team for future improvements. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just back from another stay at the Enclaves, stayed there 2 years ago. We were not disappointed, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Albeit the free breakfast is a bit of a downfall and the breakfast at the Hotel which you have to pay for is none to appealing but with Ponderosa just a 5 min walk on I Drive this was not a concern. The rooms are clean, comfotable and very spacious and everything you want is close at hand. The pool area is always clean and they provide the towels which is a bonus. If you dont have a car the I Trolly is a bonus and cheap, expecially to get you to Golden Coral for dinner. Looking to go back again in 2 years time and will definitely be booking the Enclaves. We read the reviews before we went out 10 days ago, which did give us some misgivings and wondered if it had gone down hill but no. I would'nt take any notice of the bad reviews on here, some people are nevery happy and just love to complain. If you are going out to the Enclaves shortly have to fears you will have an enjoyable holiday staying here.

Room Tip: They are upgrading a lot of the rooms, get one Pool Side or one facing out over the Lake towards Wet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dysneydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for a second time, we appreciate your loyalty. We’re delighted to hear that you had another fantastic stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayedin enclave for 2wks with my 2children,niece,mum we were put of by alot of the reviews and was going to change to different hotel ,but we said we will see for our selfs when we arrive if it was that bad ,whenwe arrived we checked in right away and in our room with in 15mins our room was right facing the pool on 4th floor in second block well what can i say hav booked to go back nex yr we all love it ,staff were fab and were was lovely cant wait to go DONT LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for review. We’re thrilled to hear that we exceed your expectations on your recent visit, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

2 guys going to the daytona nascar race. it was cheaper and easier to fly into orlando so we stayed here. great location. great price. 2 bedroom was nice. nice pools. everything real close to hotel. old and outdated but will def stay here again. thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian021833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
1.2 mi away
Avanti International Resort
0.3 mi away
Rosen Inn
Rosen Inn
#104 of 339 in Orlando
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Resort and Suites Orlando International Drive
0.3 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosen Inn International
Rosen Inn International
#123 of 339 in Orlando
6,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Enclave Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Enclave Hotel & Suites

Property: The Enclave Hotel & Suites
Address: 6165 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8254
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Enclave Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious two bedroom/two bath suites and deluxe studio suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and private balconies. Located just off famous International Drive and 5 minutes to Universal Orlando. Two outdoor pools plus an indoor heated pool & spa. Free continental breakfast and shuttle to Universal and Sea World, small fee for Disney Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Enclave Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Enclave Hotel Orlando
The Enclave Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing