We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe
Ranked #16 of 424 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built by tourists, for tourists, this Roman Catholic Church was built in the 1980's to accommodate the 30+ million visitors to the Central Florida attractions yearly. The Basilica is not a regular parish church, but a tourist ministry that sits on 17 acres and offers a Rosary Garden, multiple Chapels, Museum, Pilgrimage Center, Gift Shop, bronze statues, oil paintings and art from the 16th century as well as amazing stained glass including a Rose window, Universe window, Rosary windows and The Magnificat windows.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful oasis”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

quite peaceful well kept in the middle of all the tourist crazy. Mass was started right on time and was truely a comfort in a week of crazy at Disney World

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet Bobi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    188
    45
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, New York
Level Contributor
347 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful shrine with Fantastic Choir”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was the second time that we went to Mass at the beautiful Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine. It is a lovely and large modern church. There are plenty of pews and visitors are always welcome. The choir was fantastic. Even though there were only eight members, it felt like we were at a glorious concert. While there take time to visit the gift shop. It has many religious articles that you don't find in other shops. The grounds are lovely as well and there is an outdoor rosary garden.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this Catholic Church!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The church is not so big, but it makes you feel like it's a cathedral. The resident priest always gives a good homily during the mass. If you're just visiting and praying in silent, nothing will distract you. I especially like to drop by their shop (store) whenever I'm there even just to browse. There's always something that will get you interested in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yoly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Frequently attend Mass here”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have been attending Mass here for the past few years as we are snowbirds. Since our tourist dollars helped build this shrine we feel close to it - having contributed at Disney's Polynesian Masses over the years. It is a "grand" shrine with beautiful voices to be heard and if you are in the area you should do yourselves a favor and stop in if only to see it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I'm not a catholic but, having attended a disappointing Protestant service during my vacation, I wanted to visit a more traditional church. Set in beautiful gardens, with plenty of places for a quiet prayer or reflection. It seems a million miles from the shopping malls and theme parks.
I attended part of a service; quite traditional, with a nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bestcornishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing