We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe
Ranked #17 of 425 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built by tourists, for tourists, this Roman Catholic Church was built in the 1980's to accommodate the 30+ million visitors to the Central Florida attractions yearly. The Basilica is not a regular parish church, but a tourist ministry that sits on 17 acres and offers a Rosary Garden, multiple Chapels, Museum, Pilgrimage Center, Gift Shop, bronze statues, oil paintings and art from the 16th century as well as amazing stained glass including a Rose window, Universe window, Rosary windows and The Magnificat windows.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Huntley, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went on a rainy day on our vacation. It was a beautiful church! The museum was very small, but nice. The gift shop was huge and there were some beautiful things in there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    189
    45
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Healing”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Healing came for my sister Sharon Swentosky while we visited the church. It's such a Blessing. I like that you can go anytime of the day and the church is open. Also visit the gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the third time we have visited the shrine during our stays in Florida. We attended Mass on six occasions and also confession. The rector is from Ireland and he makes everyone feel so welcome. The Bascillica is so peaceful compared to the theme parks and it is was lovely to take time out. The shop is brilliant as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming parish”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our Mass was beautiful! The priest was so welcoming and gave a great homily. We always go to this church when in Disney.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TM198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Whenever my wife and I are in Orlando we attend Mass here. In fact we like it so much we donated to purchase a family brick in the Rosary Garden. Beautiful Shrine. Also has a very large and extensive gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DBlaesserSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing