We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, nice area with a good connection to Disney parks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed for a week in a two bedroom apartment with four adults and three kids.

The resort is big, well maintained and quiet enough. You are able to go everywhere at the resort by foot or free buses that run to parks and around the resort "20 minute" interwall (could mean anything from 5 to 50 minutes).

In the apartments you have everything you need to make and eat food, wash your laundry and so on. The only big downside is that the local shop is a poor one. You really need to go shopping for food with a car or a taxi - closest big foodstores are 10 minutes away.

Remember to use park-extensions while visiting Disney.

It's not a cheap one but good base to explore parks and swim on the pools or just lay down and relax on hot pools.

As a Finn I liked the idea of a lighthouse sauna - but if it's an sauna it should be hot, there should be more stones on the stove and you really should be able to throw water on stones on stove :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerntraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2010

We have been members of Disney Vacation Club for 17 years. The main thing we have enjoyed is superb service. However, it seems even Disney has been taken over by accountants. When we booked our 16 day vacation (11-27 December 2010) the online reservation system no longer works. We had to call and spend nearly an hour on the phone. Even DISNEY struggled to book our room. Online check in didn't work. During our stay, despite more than 10 phone calls and 4 visits to the front desk they never could get our room card working right. In the 16 day stay Disney never cleaned our rooms, not once. We called, we begged, we went to the front and talked to the manager, we threatened, nothing could convince them to provide the cleaning service. All they would do is bring more sheets and towels, never clean. We had no frying pan, and called three times to ask for one. They brought a large pot, a cookie sheet, and shampoo, then we gave up, quit asking, and went to Wal Mart to buy one. They had a can opener that couldn't open cans, when we asked for another one they brought it, and another cookie sheet. I think the main problem is nobody speaks English, they are VERY nice but completely incompetent. As a lifelong fan and vocal booster of Disney, it is very disappointing to get constant repeated lousy service, albeit very nice and friendly, kind of like my trip to remote parts of India where only the village doctor spoke English . We are canceling our reservations at the spa, that's way too much money to blow if their service has also crashed. I was going to buy more Vacation Club Points, but not now.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DPLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed with friends in a 3 bedroom unit for our first trip ever to Walt Disney World. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. They tried their best to get us settled in early after our redeye flight. Our first day was booked into a studio unit which was comfortable and nice. The grounds are very well kept. It was a very nice themed resort. I can't speak to the value because it was paid for by DVC points. It was nice to have a full kitchen so we could eat as many meals away from the parks as we wanted to.
One problem, we went to use the playpen that came with the unit and the tenants who used it before us left it in nasty condition with something all over the pad. The cleaning staff should check those things. Also, the radio settings should be reset to a normal setting between tenants. We were only able to use it during the hours someone had set it for and there were no directions on how to reset it. Most 3 bedroom units are not wheelchair accessible. We had to carry our daughter up two flights of stairs in her chair. If she was any larger, this would have been impossible.
Otherwise, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Don't stay here if you can help it. The rooms are in no way deluxe and the service is terrible. Stayed here during the first week of December and was disappointed each day by the extreme lack of management of this property. From front desk staff who took almost an hour to check us into a room that was ready 5 hours later than promised, to the cleaning staff who left large medical equipment in our "clean" room, to a broken tv, to a combatitive restaurant staff, to an incompetent bell service team who couldn't check is in to our flight/issue correct boarding passes, this place has it all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripTaker043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

we stayed for 1 night in december.we decided to come to disney a day before our vacation package started and decided to stay at old key west.check in went smooth and hotel staff was very pleasant.it seemed like a very nice hotel when we arrived.we stayed in a deluxe studio room and were let down as soon as we walked in the room.it was straight out of 1992.the tv was a 13 inch box tv you could barely see from the bed and no wifi.all of the wall sockets that worked were so warn anything you plugged in (phone charger) would fall out of the socket.the worse part was when while sitting on the nice balcony and enjoying the view ,we noticed two dirty paper towels and large food crumbs under the bed .this was disgusting.we were acually considering joining the vacation club until this experiance,not a chance now,a total let down.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dadizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The place is perfect except a little too pricy. After heavy discount, one bedroom condo was 320 dollars per night. Once you have digested that, the place and the service is A++.
Imagine, after all the high prices, one still has to pay for internet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRKap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This was our first stay at Old Key West. We stayed in a one bedroom villa. The room was very big and comfortable for the four of us. We had a pretty view that included the golf course. I had heard the rooms were being updated and was dissapointed that we got one with older carpeting and tv but it was still a very nice room. There were full size washer and dryer and a full kitchen. The only other issue I had with the room was that you could not get to the bathroom without going through the bedroom so my kids had to walk through our bedroom to get to it. The grounds were really nice and the pool was a decent size. The slide was fun for the kids. We would definately go back here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matrix456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 340 in Orlando
1,758 reviews
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.8 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $336 - $1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing