We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #73 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This was our first stay at Old Key West. We stayed in a one bedroom villa. The room was very big and comfortable for the four of us. We had a pretty view that included the golf course. I had heard the rooms were being updated and was dissapointed that we got one with older carpeting and tv but it was still a very nice room. There were full size washer and dryer and a full kitchen. The only other issue I had with the room was that you could not get to the bathroom without going through the bedroom so my kids had to walk through our bedroom to get to it. The grounds were really nice and the pool was a decent size. The slide was fun for the kids. We would definately go back here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matrix456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    756
    275
    93
    56
See reviews for
1,710
315
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

After many visits to Disney, this was our first time staying in a Disney Resort and we have spoiled ourselves for future visits!

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a renovated 1 bedroom villa and it is huge. It was only my husband and I but there's no doubt it would be still be spacious for a larger family (sofa beds in lounge area) and with a fully equipped kitchen you could make some savings by having some meals (especially breakfast) in the room. Really comfortable superking bed and a jacuzzi bath!

Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Loved the boat to Downtown Disney and the buses run regular enough for them not to be a problem. Location of the resort was great for nipping to Downtown Disney in the evening (10 minutes on the boat, probably 8 minutes on the bus).

Lovely pool area with a sand 'beach' and kiddies pool.

Not so goods? There's no wi-fi which in this day and age is rather poor. The counter service restaurant does not accept the Disney Dining Plan and the bar is tiny and geared more to men sitting at the bar and not somewhere I felt relaxed having a cocktail or two (although the bar man was very friendly and an excellent cocktail maker!).

We enjoyed our stay and it was lovely to come home to the Old Key West Resort every night. We have already booked to return next October!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is my favorite resort. I am a DVC member and travel there 1-2 times year. Rooms need cosmetic updating and i am anxiously awaiting the completion of the refurb in progress. Minor complaints: noticed stairs to water slide were moldy and slimy, had an odor. need a good scrubbing, as it was grossing me out every time i stepped on them. Wireless internet-PLEASE! garbage disposal sounded like it was ready to blow up, clearly in need of repair. Weirdly enough, the edges of king-size mattress felt like i was kneeling on a rock when climbing in-could definetly use upgrade. kitchen needs food storage containers for leftovers.
The room was clean, pull out sofa for my son was comfy, staff friendly, grounds beautiful, buses prompt, room quiet, love free DVD rental. I did not eat Olivia's.
Bring you own groceries! It is a must and cuts down on needless wait times for food and snacks. Love the afternoon/ eve breaks enjoying my own cooked meals on the balcony!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just returned from our second stay at OKW it is a very nice resort and the one bedroom villa we had was lovely plenty of room for my family of five. The kitchen was well laid out and had everything I needed. The room wasn't spotless but but housekeeping came every day and always left the children shaped towels which they thought was great! The sofa bed wasn't comfy but the main bed was fine. Having a washing machine and dryer was a huge bonus for me with three small children! (the studio rooms at OKW we had last year didn't have them). Oliva's restaurant was very good we ate there a few times and the food and service was always excellent. The disney buses didn't seem as good this time had a few 30 minute waits but always got a seat. The only thing that really bothered us as a family is the villa location we were in block 50 it's on the main road with lot's of traffic noise and is a very long walk from main hotel and a fair walk to pools ect. we had a car and often drove to get around the resort so if you are staying I think the best location is the Miller Road area and while I was there the rooms there were being renovated at that location! All in all we enjoyed our stay but have booked to stay at Sartoga Springs next year! oh if you stay over the halloween period try and go to the Mickey's halloween party it was a very good night!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyMadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have stayed in most of the disney hotels but this was my first time at OKW. This is the first vacation club property that was built. Most of the rooms have been updated but they still have an outdated feel to them. The biggest plus for this place is the room sizes. The 2 bedroom unit is huge and if you are traveling with a gang and need space then this is the place for you. It even comes with a full size washer and dryer. I found this place to be very spread out. We had to take the car to get to the pool. You can choose to walk or wait for the bus which will take you around the resort. This place seems to have alot of bus traffic which creates noise and chaos. We also experienced noise from the people above and below us which woke us up at all hours of the night and in the morning. We were moved to a quieter section (bldgs 45 and 46) and still heard our neighbors. People passing by on the boat one morning even rudely yelled out "to wake up all our neighbors who are still sleeping in their rooms" This place doesn't have any elevators so if you are staying on the 3rd floor, be ready to get into shape. We ate at the restaurant Olivia's once and it was very good. Do not order a pizza ever from the company that delivers to your room. It was horrendous for 28 dollars. I am getting sick of the rip off disney prices. I think this was my last trip for sure and I don't think I would go back to Old Key West.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Old Key West was built in the early 1990s, and while it's been very well maintained, it has an early 90s feel - old CRT televisions, putty-colored land-line telephones, and absolutely no wireless access, even in the lobby.

Most of the other visitors we met around the two lovely pools were locals who had driven down with a car full of groceries. This is definitely the way to experience Old Key West - NOT the way we did. Coming off a cruise, we arrived to empty refrigerators and were entirely dependent on the shuttle buses, which are necessary to go to the pool, snack shop, restaurant, and all the resorts.

We felt like we spent our entire vacation waiting by bus stops. Taking a swim in the main pool, for example, required waiting for a bus to go to the pool, and waiting for another bus in your wet swimsuit to get back from the pool. If we wanted a snack, it meant waiting for a bus. On the final day, I realized at 11pm that I didn't have change to tip the housekeeper. A dilemma - wait for a bus to the lobby/concierge and then wait for a bus back again, or stiff the very kind cleaning staff? In the end, I had to borrow some cash from my six-year-old daughter.

One great feature of Old Key West is its restaurant, Olivia's, which had excellent Caribbean cuisine for both breakfast and dinner. Stay elsewhere if you don't bring your car, but eat at Olivia's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We had planned to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge for our second October stay but found Old Key West to be a better deal. The two bedroom villa is wonderful for a family. It was very roomy and comfortable. We were in one that was not yet refurbished. It was a bit worn and dated but it didn't bother us at all. The only negative with an older unit was the quality of the beds. The king was fine but the two queens were hard and creaky. The bathrooms are large and the four sinks make early morning starts quick and easy. The full size washer and dryer were wonderful (soap included). Our unit was on the third floor and we loved the view and quiet. It would be difficult with strollers or mobility issues but otherwise no big deal.

We came back to the room one day and found our key would not work. There was a problem with the battery in the lock. It was quickly and efficiently fixed. Housekeeping was spotty - some days great and some days just adequate.

We used Disney transportation about a third of our time there. We found it to be very quick and usually uncrowded. Maybe it was just our timing but we would probably use it even more next time (and there will be a next time!) we stay at Old Key West.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.0 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing