We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Old Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband (then fiance) and I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with my sister and her husband (who are DVC members). The rooms are huge! My husband and I had our own large bedroom with 2 doubles, and our own TV and full bathroom. My sister and her husband had their own room with a full bathroom and hot tub. We had a laundry room, a common area with full kitchen, living space, and large table to eat at. We had a really nice balcony. The pools on the resort are nice. We rented a small boat one afternoon and went for a ride down to downtown disney area and back, very nice. We had a car and bought groceries our first day and ate some meals at our room. When the 4 of us all went out together, we used the car, but a few times my husband and I did our own thing and used the buses, which was never a problem, and waits were never very long, and the rides were always pleasant. This is a great resort for familes, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pangiebear1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

we arived at Old Key West from a long trip (Calif.) We opended the door and wow. There were 8 of us 4 adults 4 kids (under 11) The rooms were big they each had there own bathrooms there was a laundry room in the hall it was great not having to find a laundry mat. It has
a big living room with a full kitchen. Our view outside our villa was of the golf cource and it was so peacefull. Our villa was at the end of the road so there were no buses comming by .We went to walmart and got our breakfast stuff and some lunch stuff that kept some of the cost down. We had a swimming pool near us that was great but if you wanted to walk a little or take a short drive there was a bigger pool with a water slide and life guards the kids loved it. Disneyworld is a huge place but we thought our location was great once we got used to driving around. They had a boat that would take you to Downtown Disney and that was fun. They offer the busses for your convienence also but we rented a car and free parking when you stay at the resort so we just took advantage of that. I didn't eat at the resturant on the property but I talked with someone who did and said it was expensive and the food was not that great. The staff was friendly and they also had a kids area with staff that would do projects and stuff with the kids. I would totally stay here again. We stayed there for a week it was
$1,000. we split it between the two family's. My friends sister-in-law was the one who got it for us with her time share. I talked with some people that I met and they said the one room villa's for the night is $ 400. Ouch so if you know someone with a times share you'll get a better deal. We were lucky to get that price.
Hope you have as great stay as well

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadrunner128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Let's get a few things straight. Walt Disney World is about a famous rodent and celebrates a famous castle that's made out of fiberglass for the purposes of making money.

Another corollary: If you don't already live on a budget at home, you won't know how to have a budget when on vacation. Therefore, you will *always* worry about money regardless of your situation.

If you understand what I've just written, then you can let yourself have a fantastic time on any vacation to Walt Disney World. And my family did.

Old Key West is (I think) the oldest property in the World. Yet, when you think, "old," you should think "character," because that's exactly what this property has -- and lots of it.

We stayed in a 1-bedroom villa (for close to 1,000 square feet, it passes as a small apartment). Since we paid cash, we received laundry service every day (there is actually a card in the room that describes this entire process, for all those who've read previous reviews with people whining and complaining about the lack of such service when on Disney Vacation Club points).

We *drove* everywhere. While I did request -- and got -- a second-story villa near a bus stop, we never used the bus. We wanted the freedom to come and go as we pleased, and that's exactly what we got. We were never more than 25 minutes from the furthest park (Animal Kingdom) and getting around the World is easy *if you follow the following three keys to getting around*:

1. Know what area your resort is located (e.g.: OKW is a Downtown Disney-located resort);
2. Know the inverse of the direction of where you want to go;
3. Know the Park you want to go to.

If you know the above three things, then you will never get lost in the World, as the signage is abundant -- assuming you pay attention as you drive.

We would recommend this resort over Saratoga Springs (where we had a quick-serve dinner one evening) simply over the fact that Saratoga Springs is abundantly sprawling. No, really: the first time you enter that resort (and it is pretty), you absolutely *must* pay attention to where you go because you will get lost otherwise. It's flat-out enormous.

Old Key West resort is truly a "hidden jem" of the Disney Resort properties. We were able to secure it at 40% off, so we went with it. Next trip to Disney will likely include this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maestro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I have heard awesome things about the Disney experience. But I feel let down. First our rooms were not near our friends rooms as had been promised with our reservations. Then when we tried to rectify the situation the OKW staff didn't at first care, it didn't seem like a problem to them. We had to repeatedly state our case and then we found one caring person who helped. Our first room (we changed after 3 days to be closer to our friends) was not properly stocked with the little amentities. The beds were so uncomfortable, the A/C was either freezing or not cool enough and we had to climb three flights of stairs (no elevator!). Our second room was nicer, had most of the little amentities (they didn't leave coffee for the room, ugh.) Then when eating at Olivia's Cafe ($90 for a family of 5!) My husband chicken was raw and they offered him a "Hunk of prime rib". He had already eaten my daughters dinner (20 minutes before our waitress came by to see how everything was) and he wasn't hungry anymore. They offered nothing else. DON'T EAT THERE, NOT WORTH IT. And now, after the chaos of leaving, we accidentally left something behind and trying to get someone from lost and found to get back with us is terribly painful.
On a positive note, I did think the rooms were nice, with a decent amount of space.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smshunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
713
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at OKW for 10 nights in May 2010, with our twin 5 year old girls. This was the first time using our Disney Vacation Club membership, and OKW was the only resort we could get into that had all the nights available. So we booked and hoped for the best.

From the moment we arrived I got a good feeling...in typical Disney fashion, everyone was wonderful and welcoming. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was really a fair-sized one bedroom apartment. There was a spacious separate bedroom, then a queen pull-out in the living room. We also had a full kitchen, a walk-out to a patio with table & chairs, a jacuzzi tub (which the kids loved!), laundry facilities...the list goes on! There was nothing that we wanted that hadn't been included. We did a run to Walmart shortly after we arrived and picked up some very basic groceries that allowed us to start our days as leisurely as we wanted without having to worry about where to feed the girls.

The grounds of the resort were very nice as well, clean, of course, and really quite lovely in that pastel Key West motif. We tried 3 different pools - the main one with a waterslide was the big attraction, but the two "neighbourhood" pools we visited (closer to our suite) were great too. We also tried the community hall one evening - there were family games that we did with the kids for a couple of hours and it was a nice diversion from the one evening of rain we experienced.

Dining at OKW was very limited; we didn't try the full-service restaurant as the reviews hadn't been great, but the two counter service places were fine. We were on the dining plan so we had ample choices for meals, and as we were out at the parks or Downtown Disney most of the time, this worked out just fine.

The one thing I would note, is that we defintiely had an easier time of things because we had a car. We took full advantage of the complimentary parking at the parks and other resorts (very grateful for the GPS!) and avoided many hours of waiting for buses etc. You can certainly manage without a vehicle, but because OKW is more remote to some of the parks it did make it easier to be able to drive.

Much as we plan to try several of the DVC resorts over the years, OKW is defintiely on our list for a return visit! Apparently the rooms are a bit bigger at OKW than the other DVC properties, so it may just end up a favourite.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The rooms were dark and small. The beds were extremely hard! The grounds were very noisy during the night. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 7:15 am on the morning we were leaving (check out is at 11 am). The resort had one restaurant on site and one snack bar on site. The room was warm and we could not lower the A/C below 70 degrees. It was about 95 degrees out, with a feels like temp of over 100.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teachertraveler0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was a wonderful trip! The check-in and out were very easy. Our room was ready by noon. The rooms are beautiful and large. The employees are all very friendly. The grounds are very pretty and peaceful. We loved the pool and waterslide. Also enjoyed the boat ride to Downtown Disney. The only downside to our stay is that the bus ride to the parks takes a while since there are several stops to make inside the resort.
As long as you aren't in a hurry and like a laid-back vacation, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlann03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#69 of 340 in Orlando
1,724 reviews
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#95 of 340 in Orlando
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $338 - $1,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing