We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again, Way Over Rated, Review from a Travel Agent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #70 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Findlay Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never Again, Way Over Rated, Review from a Travel Agent”
Reviewed December 10, 2006

As a travel agent specializing in Disney World Travel, I have sent many clients to this resort, and thought I had a good idea what to expect from the Disney Vacation Club resorts in general. I couldn't have been more wrong. This trip consisted of my husband, myself, and our 3 children. We spent 6 nights at Old Key West Dec 3-9, 2006, in a studio room.

The Good
The resort itself is visually attractive, and beautifully landscaped. The main pool looked quite fun, and was recently updated. It was tool during our stay to enjoy the pool.

The Bad
Our studio room was not large by any means. A very standard hotel room. The room itself was nothing special. Very plain. Could have been staying at Motel 6 or similar. Although the beds are advertised as Queen Size, I feel they were full-size beds. Small, and uncomfortable, with wooden frames. Good for banging your shins on. The decor was very dated. Bathroom was small with a sink, and tub/shower.

Food at Olivias was pretty good the first night, as we were starving. However, on our return trip, the steaks were way overcooked, and we really didn't enjoy it much at all.

The Boat ride to Downtown Disney "sounds" very quaint and fun. However, it runs infrequently, and is not convenient to get to from the rooms.

The Ugly
Please remember, if you do not have a car, this resort is not for you. It is a huge resort. We had to rely on the busing system to even get to the main check-in house for drinks/meals. This "internal bus" only came around about every 45 minutes. Totally unacceptable. It would take an hour to get to the Hospitality House to get a coffee in the morning. Very, very inconvenient.

The theme park buses ran about every 30-60 minutes. Then, there are 5 bus stops. The bus has to stop at each one before leaving the resort. So, after waiting 30 minutes for the bus, you are on the bus driving around the resort for another 30 minutes. It took over an hour to get anywhere. One evening, I had to exchange a dress in Downtown Disney (which is 2 minutes away). It took me 2 HOURS to get there and back, spending less than 15 minutes in the store. I waited over an hour to get a bus for my return back. The busing is just terrible.

On to the room - The bedding does not fit. The mattress pads kept slipping off. There was no fitted sheet. We ended up sleeping on the bare mattress every night. I request more bedding, and was told I would be charged for it.

There is NO HOUSEKEEPING. We stayed for 6 nights. Only one day did someone come to the room. They really must have worked hard, because when we returned we found the room exactly the way we left it - minus trash and adding 4 new towels. That was it! I called and found out you don't get housekeeping unless you spend a total of 9 nights.

We were given 4 bath towels to last for 3 days. We requested more, and were charged $6.

Check-In
A disaster. They had overbooked the resort, and couldn't find us a room. They disappeared into a back room for over an hour, and finally came out, magically finding me a room. The manager remarked "This is good for you, but bad for the next family" How nice... Then, we were overcharged for the Dining Plan. They charged me twice, which meant trip to the check-in counter, another disappearing act from the cast member into the back room for an hour, to get this fixed.

Food
There is no "food court". There is a food coutner with an extremely limited menu. 4 choices for breakfast, and premade sandwhiches for lunch. There are no modifications allowed. I requested a breakfast sandwhich with a bagel instead of the croissant - no, can't do it, a turkey sandwhich minus the mayo - nope, sorry.

Is this really supposed to be a deluxe resort? I was frankly shocked. We have stayed at many Disney Resorts (our favorite is Animal Kingdom Lodge), and have never had this poor of service, or been this disappointed. We had an absolutely wonderful time at the parks, and really enjoyed the Christmas decorations and shows, but will not be returning to the Old Key West. I think it should cost about $59/night for what you get, perhaps less. I unfortuanely won't be able to recommend it to any of my clients either.

Hope this review helps someone trying to make a decision about where to stay. Have fun at Disney!

  • Liked — Landscaping
  • Disliked — Slow Buses, Uncomfortable beds with sheets that don't fit, Inconvient to Disney Parks without your own car, No housekeeping
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay at the Vacation Club Resorts
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank jenmillstreamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    766
    282
    95
    56
See reviews for
1,745
323
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

Just got back from a 5 day stay at OKW. We arrived around 11 a.m. and were able to check in with a choice of room location. We opted for building 33 on the 3rd floor, knowing it would be quiter and it was near a bus stop.
The resort is everything that people have said it was, it is beautiful, the rooms are large, and the resort is very quiet and laid-back.
Our only complaint comes from the restaurant, Olivia's.
Out of 6 people eating dinner, 3 liked and 3 didn't.
The food is disappointing compared to everywhere else we ate.
Make reservations for dinner early or there will be nowhere else to go if you want to eat at the World's restaurants.
All in all I give OKW a rating of 8.5 out of 10. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank polaris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This was our 7th time there in 11 years and we never ever had one issue or problem. WE love this property so much that we are now Disney Vacation Members and proud of it. Anyone that rates this resort anything below a 4 + star is out of their minds. I highly recommend this resort and have had friends that have gone down to Florida for a vacation at WDW loved the property too. In fact, some joined the membership as well.

  • Liked — The staff could not do enough for you
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Had fantastic 2 weeks at OKW. 2nd visit and very happy to be home again. 1 BR apartment with all necessary amenities, great being able to access disney parks via buses. Food in Olivia's restaurant was a let down but not bad.
Check in and concierge excellent. Very homely and calm atmosphere.

  • Liked — personal service
  • Disliked — Food in restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank drrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This is one of Disney's Vacation Club resorts. As always it is themed and theirs is "Key Wey". The rooms are comfortable, the service is impecible. Our air condiditoning did not work our first night and the staff moved us into a close room and comped what we had charged to the room that day. The "cast members" are always smiling and ready to make your stay the best stay. The room we stayed in had a full kitchen and sitting area. Our balcony overlooked a landscaped area. The beds were super comfortable and the room was clean. I would suggest eating off of the resort though. For the price, the food just ins't that great. You can get a better meal at a great price at Epcot.

  • Liked — Everything you needed was there. It was clean and it was comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room towards the back of the property for privacy or near the pool if you want more fun and convenience.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank map06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We have just returned from a week of Walt Disney World. This is my 11th visit to Orlando and must say this resort helped make it my most relaxing (if that is possible at Disney) WDW trip ever.
Old Key West is in the "Home Away From Home" category of offers by Disney. Our family of four stayed in the smallest unit there--the studio and had ample space for the week (9 and 10 year old boys). The studios have a microwave and small refrigerator, but the villas (various sizes) have large kitchens & living spaces.
The resort experience was community like. Because it is large, there are four stops where buses come around every 10 or 15 minutes to take you to the main house (pool, groceries, store, rentals--boats, DVD's, games---restaurants), or various theme parks and Disney locations.
We had good service and food at "Olivia's." We liked it so much we eat most of our meals there. We spent one day at the resort rather for some rest and relaxation vs. hitting the parks and activities. Well worth it.
Old Key Rest does not give you that hotel feel. It's more quiet and offers an enviornment of tranquility away from the hustle of the crowds.
By the way, late September is a very good time to go to Disney. The lines were not too bad. Most of the people were older or couples with very young children.

The main pool is fun for kids featuring a large sandcastle with a winding slide. There are several other more quiet pools scattered around the resort.

We paid $299 per night for the stuido.. There were 2 double beds so the four of us shared. One good feature was the "Disney Express" (must make reservations) a bus that picked us up at the airport and returned at the end of our stay. They played nice orientation video on the way to---and "The Incredibles" n the way back. It made the journey seem short.

Overall I would say this is probably the best Walt Disney World hotel we have ever stayed in as far as family goes.

We have stayed at Portofino Bay (Universal Studios...excellent for a couple), Gaylord Palms, Dolphin/Swan, Marriott World Center, Hyatt, Hilton & others. This is our favorite for family so far.

  • Liked — Condo feel--not "hotelish. Quiet and away from the crowds, but accessible.
  • Disliked — Bus rides (but not too bad....it's Walt Disney World)
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask front desk the name of your bus stop & how to identifiy buses (internal takes you to lobby) before you leave the check in area.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Texasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

My family including a 3 and 6 year old just got back from a 5 night stay at Old Key West and we really enjoyed it. We had a very good location (as requested in advance) and could easily walk to the main bus stop, lobby, shop, restaurant, pool, etc. We were in building 14. I agree with other reviewers that if you're not close to all this, it would be a pain to always have to drive or take the bus. It IS a large and very spread out resort. We had a 1 bedroom and it was huge! The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in with a huge jacuzzi tub my kids loved and a sink next to it. In a separate area behind another door was a toilet, double sinks and shower stall. The balconly is accesible from living room and bedroom so if the kids are asleep in 1 room, you can still go out to the balcony from the other room. The living room had plenty of space with a dining room, sofa (that converts into a comfortable sofabed-I tried it) and a loveseat. Living room and bedroom both had TVs. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and we got a lot of use out of it. When I checked in, I asked where a grocery store was and was given printed directions to the closest one. We ate all our breakfasts there, packed snacks and had a couple of dinners too. The store is small and combines basic food and drink necessities, alcohol and basic souveniers. The restaurant food is ok but not great but coconut break is excellent. It did take a LONG time to come out even though they weren't very busy. The snack back and bar are close to the pool which is handy but prices are typical Disney, $2.50 for a small soda, etc. I did notice people with refillable cups which are $12.99 but can only be refilled at hotel, not throughout Disney. Pool was very nice and slide was great for my 6 year old. Jacuzzi was nice. Baby pool basic but had chairs and tables nearby and was next to playground so it was practical. Playground was just ok. No swings. Equipment is too hard to use for toddlers. Steps are all made of concrete and are too high. But ground was sand which was nice for them to run around in. At the bus stop, it says shuttles come every 30 minutes which worried us at first, but we never waited more than 15. The boatride down to Downtown Disney was very enjoyable. Maid service was good. Everyone at the resort was pleasant, friendly and good with children. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious accommodations, kitchen, atractive resort, nice pool, good location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Request building within walking distance to lobby/store/main bus stop area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gibtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#66 of 339 in Orlando
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.0 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing