We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Nearby Hotels
$169
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$77
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$225
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marriott's Grande Vista(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$330
$313
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,711)
Filter reviews
2,711 results
Traveler rating
1,454
792
301
103
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,454
792
301
103
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshospitality housebedroom villamain poolturtle ponddowntown disneythe busolivia's restaurantdvc membersgurgling suitcasepeninsular roadmillers roadhospitality centerhospitality areasaratoga springsdisney vacation clubgrand villafull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
2,529 - 2,534 of 2,711 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Had fantastic 2 weeks at OKW. 2nd visit and very happy to be home again. 1 BR apartment with all necessary amenities, great being able to access disney parks via buses. Food in Olivia's restaurant was a let down but not bad.
Check in and concierge excellent. Very homely and calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank drrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This is one of Disney's Vacation Club resorts. As always it is themed and theirs is "Key Wey". The rooms are comfortable, the service is impecible. Our air condiditoning did not work our first night and the staff moved us into a close room and comped what we had charged to the room that day. The "cast members" are always smiling and ready to make your stay the best stay. The room we stayed in had a full kitchen and sitting area. Our balcony overlooked a landscaped area. The beds were super comfortable and the room was clean. I would suggest eating off of the resort though. For the price, the food just ins't that great. You can get a better meal at a great price at Epcot.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank map06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We have just returned from a week of Walt Disney World. This is my 11th visit to Orlando and must say this resort helped make it my most relaxing (if that is possible at Disney) WDW trip ever.
Old Key West is in the "Home Away From Home" category of offers by Disney. Our family of four stayed in the smallest unit there--the studio and had ample space for the week (9 and 10 year old boys). The studios have a microwave and small refrigerator, but the villas (various sizes) have large kitchens & living spaces.
The resort experience was community like. Because it is large, there are four stops where buses come around every 10 or 15 minutes to take you to the main house (pool, groceries, store, rentals--boats, DVD's, games---restaurants), or various theme parks and Disney locations.
We had good service and food at "Olivia's." We liked it so much we eat most of our meals there. We spent one day at the resort rather for some rest and relaxation vs. hitting the parks and activities. Well worth it.
Old Key Rest does not give you that hotel feel. It's more quiet and offers an enviornment of tranquility away from the hustle of the crowds.
By the way, late September is a very good time to go to Disney. The lines were not too bad. Most of the people were older or couples with very young children.

The main pool is fun for kids featuring a large sandcastle with a winding slide. There are several other more quiet pools scattered around the resort.

We paid $299 per night for the stuido.. There were 2 double beds so the four of us shared. One good feature was the "Disney Express" (must make reservations) a bus that picked us up at the airport and returned at the end of our stay. They played nice orientation video on the way to---and "The Incredibles" n the way back. It made the journey seem short.

Overall I would say this is probably the best Walt Disney World hotel we have ever stayed in as far as family goes.

We have stayed at Portofino Bay (Universal Studios...excellent for a couple), Gaylord Palms, Dolphin/Swan, Marriott World Center, Hyatt, Hilton & others. This is our favorite for family so far.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Texasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

My family including a 3 and 6 year old just got back from a 5 night stay at Old Key West and we really enjoyed it. We had a very good location (as requested in advance) and could easily walk to the main bus stop, lobby, shop, restaurant, pool, etc. We were in building 14. I agree with other reviewers that if you're not close to all this, it would be a pain to always have to drive or take the bus. It IS a large and very spread out resort. We had a 1 bedroom and it was huge! The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in with a huge jacuzzi tub my kids loved and a sink next to it. In a separate area behind another door was a toilet, double sinks and shower stall. The balconly is accesible from living room and bedroom so if the kids are asleep in 1 room, you can still go out to the balcony from the other room. The living room had plenty of space with a dining room, sofa (that converts into a comfortable sofabed-I tried it) and a loveseat. Living room and bedroom both had TVs. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and we got a lot of use out of it. When I checked in, I asked where a grocery store was and was given printed directions to the closest one. We ate all our breakfasts there, packed snacks and had a couple of dinners too. The store is small and combines basic food and drink necessities, alcohol and basic souveniers. The restaurant food is ok but not great but coconut break is excellent. It did take a LONG time to come out even though they weren't very busy. The snack back and bar are close to the pool which is handy but prices are typical Disney, $2.50 for a small soda, etc. I did notice people with refillable cups which are $12.99 but can only be refilled at hotel, not throughout Disney. Pool was very nice and slide was great for my 6 year old. Jacuzzi was nice. Baby pool basic but had chairs and tables nearby and was next to playground so it was practical. Playground was just ok. No swings. Equipment is too hard to use for toddlers. Steps are all made of concrete and are too high. But ground was sand which was nice for them to run around in. At the bus stop, it says shuttles come every 30 minutes which worried us at first, but we never waited more than 15. The boatride down to Downtown Disney was very enjoyable. Maid service was good. Everyone at the resort was pleasant, friendly and good with children. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Gibtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed in a two-bedrrrom suite at Disney's Old Key West resort for one week in August 2006. The suite included a fully-equipped kitchen, laundry, living room, small dining area, bar, and a balcony overlooking the golf course.

First, the good news. Old Key West is very quiet, lush with tropical vegetation, and Disney-clean. Rooms are very spacious. Buses run frequently, although we were never able to figure out the logic of the bus route through the resort. The pool is nicely themed and appropriate for young children.

Now, the not-so good news. The furniture in our room obviously had not been changed since the early 90's. Both the sofa and the loveseat had holes and stains. The bedspreads were frayed. The carpets looked somewhat newer but were beginning to show wear.

The biggest problem with Old Key West is the absence of elevators in all but a very few buildings. What were they thinking? We were on the third floor and it was very difficult to drag our heavy luggage up three flights of exterior stairs. Forgetting something on our way to the bus stop meant another breath-robbing ascent in the Florida heat and humidity.

If you stay there, ask for a groundfloor room.

13  Thank GJK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews