We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2009

These are the first words you will here upon your arrival and believe me they are very appropriate.
We arrived, my wife, daughter and parents. We was given a 2 bedroom villa close to the Hospitality House as requested. We was also given a ground floor villa which I had my doubts about regarding the security of my 3 year old as I feared she may be able to walk out of the villa and into grounds via the patio area. I was informed by the Receptionist that if we were unsattisfied in any way then don't hesitate to inform her and she will attempt to resolve the issue. So off we went to our accomodation.
We opened the door and immediately thought aloud "WOW". You cannot but appreciate the space provided that is unless your are used to 5 star hotels! The villa was very spacious and clean. Everything was fresh and as a bonus for me we ahd a view looking over the water onto a par 3 green on the LBV golf course.
Now, for any of you that have stayed in Disney property before I will try to make comparisons (we have only stayed at POP Century Value Resort & Caribbean Beach Moderate Resort before). The bedroom containing the 2 double beds with toilet, double sink, bath & shower is roughly the same size as the room in POP. The master bedroom containing the biggest bed I have ever slept in my life with accompanying jacuzzi, sink, toilet, double sink and walk-in shower is probably 11/2 times bigger than a standard room in Caribbean Beach. Add to this balcony/patio, kitchenette, washing machine, drier, closet and a large living area this place is like being at home except it has AC which is a must. As it transpired the patio area was enclosed so had no concerns regarding my daughter's safety. Later the same eveining reception rang to check if we were satisfied with the accomodation and to see if we needed anything, now thats customer service.
There is a TV in the main living area as well as one in each of the bedrooms. The 3 seater sofa in the living area folds out into bed if required leaving a futher 2 seater sofa to sit on. There is also a dining table and chairs set for meal times.
The kitchenette comes complete with fridge/freezer, cooker, coffee maker, cups, glasses other utensils, cutlery and crockery. A word for UK tarvellers especially, there is NO kettle to make your cuppa with. We went to Walmart for supplies and purchased an old whistle type kettle there for around $8 !
Old Key West is a huge site and I must advise that you view a map and attempt to recommend your preference regarding your villa location in advance of booking.
There is an onsite general store, sit down restaurant, counter service take-away service and bar.
The pool is big and has a lovely sand castle theme about it including a water slide. There is also a whirpool and play area along with tennis courts.
I must recommend that should you decide to go to Downtown Disney for an evening then please make use of the resort ferry service. It is about a 10 minute boat ride that is relaxing and hassle free. The ferry accomodates prams/strollers and is accessible to the disabled (this includes the use of an ECV).
Ps. for all of you who travel with cameras, camcorders etc. there are more than enough plug sockets available in the villa to charge a number of items at once.
Old Key West is situated a short distance from Downtown Disney and if you drive like myself is ideally situated for access to all parks and the I4 and 535 and 536. The reosrt is clean, pleasant, quiet and vast. There is so much space it is unbelievable.
We cannot understand bad reviews of this resort and did not see anything that we could have complained about. This place is a paradise.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
5  Thank mjhan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

We loved OKW resort. We stayed in unit 5622 and it was perfect location. We had a pool just steps away. The resort is spread out so having a car was helpful. Unit was spacious and clean. We did not use the Disney dining plan and had lunches, snacks and a few dinners at the townhouse. At some point the interior could use updating but for us it was just fine. Loved the location to Downtown Disney and the boat ride was fun. It was only about 5 minutes to all the parks and we had a parking pass so getting in and out was easy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Olivia's was ok, priced high. We had one breakfast there on the last day and for an omlette and scrambled eggs it was $29. But if that was the worst part of the vacation it didn't even matter. The large pool with slide was great but packed. We did the parks in the am and rested in the afternoon so my 4 yr old could get ready to go back in the afternoons. Am not dissappointed at all and will be back to this location again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Old Key West was a great place to stay. It wasn't my first choice, but the opportunity came so we took it, and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a very quiet resort, very big. I would describe it as charming almost. The rooms weren't anything too special, but they were nice. We had a studio which was probably smaller than the regular villas - but we still had our only little balcony and kitchen area. The staff was friendly. The pool was nice. It seemed to be a good location. Close to Downtown Disney which was nice for us at night when we wanted to go out. The only issue we had was that our room was in the very back of the resort and one night we had to walk all the way back from the pool because there was no form of transportation that late - which was actually a long walk.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stagejunkie782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have just returned from this great place and we had a fantastic time. Rooms very clean and met our needs. Set back from the hustle and bustle and a very welcome retreat after a day in the disney parks. We travelled with our teenage children and it was ideal.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VERA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hotel is OK as somewhere to rest after a hard day at the theme parks. It is reasonably quiet (with the exception of the rooms right near the entry road as buses are very regular and noisy) with only one restaurant and one quick service counter. The menu never changes at either (and is much the same as every other Disney restaurant). The parking is close to the rooms which is convenient but there is no real sense of being part of something. The rooms are a bit motel like.

This resort is just so 'OK' that I am unable to provide a more thorough review. If you are just after a base it is reasonably clean (although would benefit from a renovation) but if you like your holiday to have a bit of a wow factor don't go here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed in a studio room upgraded from Pop Century - this was a fantastic upgrade, the room was much bigger, had a fridge for free, very quiet. We stayed in building 54 which is at the second bus stop on the route (most of the time - seems to be different from Downtown Disney, the bus always ran the reverse route so we were 4th then! out of 5 stops). Building 54 is opposite the laundry building, the lovely quiet pool, a nice little play area with slides etc, ice machine and vending machines - building 55 is right next to it. This place is serenely peaceful and the staff were great - helpful, not intrusive and usually knew all the answers (not necessarily about how the Magical Express works IF you have a return coupon when you arrive - if you have that booklet simply wait until the day before departure and you will receive a new Magical Express coupon for return to the airport saying the time to catch the bus etc).

Olivia's restaurant was not good, that would be my one complaint - slow service and the food was pretty average to poor (but then so was Chef Mickey's for dinner when we went there, so every place has an off day I am sure). Best character meal - Crystal Palace breakfast in Magic Kingdom. Best quick service - Earl of Sandwich in Downtown Disney - great sandwiches and you can choose a bottled drink and from a selection of deserts / sides.

Bus service from Old Key West was excellent - quiet most of the time and we only had to wait 20 minutes one time and that was for Animal Kingdom - and every other day we saw loads of buses for that park, so it was a one off too! There is also a small boat to Downtown which runs frequently from behind the main building and lets you off at the Pleasure Island end of Downtown Disney (close to Planet Hollywood).

The main pool is large and has a great slide, there is also a kiddie pool and play area right there and plenty of seating and sun beds. There is a game room with free games of pool, air hockey (just give them your room key). If you want a busy bustling place though, which a big food court and arcade etc, then choose the PopCentury or somewhere like that instead.

All in all, we loved it here and would go back any time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herzo1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

we meant our best friends from Ohio we are from Ga. We booked on-line and said we wanted roooms close to each other. When we walked in to check-in which we also did early check-in on-line. Neither one of us had people that could speak english. They let us believe we had rooms together. They didn't explaine the set-up and that it really wouldn't had been feasible. We were in the park almost the whole day until we got the message our rooms were ready, when we got their our rooms we at either end of the unit. We were told if we took the second floor we would be close. So we drove down to the lobby and by that time they had a hard time finding anything but said one could be up and one could be down we said OK. When my husband and I walked into the room it was very musty and had mold in the picture. For what we paid the room did not appear clean, the toilet was lopsided, we didn't have time to go back down again but the next morning the manager said our room would be cleaned top to bottom, when we got back the picture was at least changed out so we couldn't see anymore mold but we could still smell must and the mirror on the bathroom door had something running all down it. I just don't feel we should had to go down again, I hadn't had a vacation for years and I didn't want to spend my whole time down at the lobby trying to get an expensive hotel seem like an exspensive hotel. No one try to contact us to see if everyting was satisfactory. It was not full when we were there. I really feel if we had to be offered a step up in the accommodations we should have. It was heartbreaking. We really didn't use the resort for anything but breakfast and sleeping we really didn't want to spend anymore time in our room than needed. Bev Azbell-315 Comanche Trace, Auburn,Ga. 30011

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wababawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.7 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $364 - $1,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing