We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hated to leave!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2005

During our very first trip to Orlando, we stayed at the Old Key West Resort. It was absolutely fantastic! We had a two-bedroom villa, and everyone (5 in our party from age 9 to age 50) had more than enough space. The kitchen made it easy to prepare breakfasts (who wants to go out hungry first thing in the morning?) and other meals as necessary. It was fabulous having the washer/dryer....no dirty laundry going home! We experienced some of Hurricane Wilma as it passed through FL, but was kept updated constantly by messages from the resort. The cast members were friendly and courteous. The resort grounds are beautiful with golf courses, pools and play areas throughout. Super quiet, easy access to shuttle buses. It is a bit difficult getting around the actual resort grounds, though. You have to walk and/or wait for a shuttle bus to get to the Hospitality House, restaurant or shopping. We hated to leave...and would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Dwarfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,502 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2005

Stayed in OKW (room 3834) from 10/25 to 10/28/05 as a member of the Disney Vacation Club (DVC). Checked in early on 10/25 to find a room that was not cleaned! Dirty Towels, trash, were still in the room. Called the front desk and they stated they were sorry and would have it cleaned. We left the room to enjoy what everyone does at Disney -- Parks etc... Came back to the room late in the day to find that it appeared clean. However, after pulling back the bed linens, we found that the sheets were not changed nor the blanket (not the beadspread). The sheets had all kinds of hairs and stains. Needless to say we were upset and felt that this is certainly not Disneyesque. Also noticed that the toilete was not cleaned. I won't get into details. We again called the front desk and heard the typical we are sorry. The housekeeper that came to the room, about a half hour later, said she was sorry but insisted that the sheets were changed. I showed her the sheets and she mentioned that the sheets were cleaned but the laundry doesn't get out everything. OMG!! Anyway, we watched her change the sheets. I never mentioned the toilete. I just cleaned it myself with baby wipes.

Concerning the room, it is located within 20 yards of Bonnet (sp?) Creek Parkway. OMG!! We felt like we were sleeping in downtown NYC. The noise from this road penetrated the walls and was alway heard during our stay. Tractor Trailer Jake Brakes were the worst. We couldn't even sit out on the balcony because of the noise. I don't even have this kind of noise at my home and OKW is supposed to be my home away from home. We were very disappointed. Quality of the room, revealed some wear and tear. Windows were dirty, dead bugs around the outside of the door and its lamp. Balcony area was dirty with cobwebs and deadbugs.

Lessons learned -- First, check the room carefully and make sure its cleaned. If not, call right away. The staff seemed concerned and did try. However, don't expect anything for your inconvenience except for an apology. Second, when checking in, carefully look at your room versus its location to the highway and even the bus routes. If it is next to either, demand a change before you accept the room. Especially if it is off season during the week. I know there had to be better rooms.

Getting around -- Rent a Car!! To get to the main hospitality area (bar, restaurant, marina) you have to wait then take a bus! Or, walk about a half mile.

Overall, we were not impressed. However, in the greater Orlando area, finding good help is difficult at best and we understand that. Next time, we will stay at a DVC resort that is attached to a regular Disney Resort, i.e. Boardwalk, Beach Club, or Wilderness Lodge. There is more to do within walking distance and the properties are better maintained because of the traditional hotels located immediately adjacent.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank HK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2005

We stayed at Old Key West resort at Disney World 10/15-10/22/05 and had a wonderful time! This was our first trip to Orlando and the experience far exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in unit 1514, which was within walking distance to the hospitality house. We had a HUGE one bedroom unit with plenty of room to spread out (great for our 2 kids, ages 8 and 10!). We loved being able to park practically right at our door and not have to fight for a parking spot. The unit was extremely clean and well maintained. We were having a problem with the A/C and when we called the front desk they had someone there to fix it within 15 minutes. Regarding housekeeping, some reviews have said you get housekeeping here and others say you don't.... we booked our visit directly with Disney (assume that might have something to do with it) and housekeeping came every day to bring fresh towels, laundry soap, shampoo, etc, and make beds every day (even though this is something we could have handled). The beds were extremely comfortable (even MORE so than home!). Even the hide-a-bed was comfortable for adults! My husband and I loved having coffee in the morning out on the patio (which looked out over the golf course).
We had a car during our visit, which was really a necessity since we went to the local Winn Dixie to get food for our meals (this saved us a ton of money since we were not having to eat out all the time). The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare simple meals. We did use the bus service, which worked out great on days that we returned to the parks late in the afternoon/early evening. We never had to wait long for a bus and it was nice to get a break from driving.
I have heard some people comment that this is not the place to be if you have kids-- well, our kids are 8 and 10 and they loved it. They enjoyed the pool with the slide, the game room with ping pong and video games, and they also had fun playing a family game of shuffleboard (all free for hotel guests except for the video games!).
I think it really depends on what you are looking for, but this place was great for our needs and very quiet and relaxing. We did take a look at the Boardwalk Villas during our stay, and although we liked the pool area a little better, we did not like the fact that you had to park in a huge parking lot and then make your way though a hallway to get to your room.
One more comment-- every staff person that we came in contact with, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to maintainence, was extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough about what an enjoyable stay we had. Feel free to e-mail me with questions!

22  Thank mkelchner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
486
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Disney's Old Key West resort is our "preferred" hotel...and usually the basis for how we compare other hotels/motels/inns/etc. We own a membership at this Disney Vacation Club resort, so you have to assume there's a little bit of bias in our views.

Firstly, we've no experience with 'renting for cash' as we members call it. All of our stays at OKW have been through our membership. There is a one big difference between renting a room and making a vaction club reservation: Cash guests get daily mousekeeping. Members do not receive daily mousekeeping services, though they are available on a cash basis, cost depending upon the size of the room. Most DVCers like it that way...no strangers coming into the room especially since we might actually be relaxing there and not running the parks, but it's something that non-members who are staying on a members reservation may not be aware.

OKW was originally called simply the Disney Vacation Club. It was Disney's first timeshare, and as such they were figuring things out. One of the big differences between the OKW resort and the other DVC's is that Disney built along the traditional timeshare architecture lines with the idea that the Vacation club would be a community of members. That's why it resembles more of a suburban condo development than a traditional 'hotel resort' design. It is also not the WDW Park Commando type resort...it's laid back, relaxed, a slower way of vacationing.

As mentioned through out the other posts, there are 4 basic types of rooms: studios (large "hotel rooms" with a wet bar, 1 Bedrooms (Large "apartments" with a big livingroom/dining room/kitchen, a seperate master bedroom, a laundry room, a "shower room" with toilet/sink/large shower, and a "bathroom" with a large whirlpool tub), 2 bedrooms (a 1BR with a Studio attached), and the "Grand Villa" (essentially a 3 BR "house"). Odds are likely very slim you could rent a Grand Villa for cash...members snap them up quickly.

Notes about the rooms:
1) Studios all come with 2 queen size beds. There is no sofa. There is a microwave and small fridge (basically no freezer to speak of).
2) Older 1 Bedroom villas do not have LR access to the toilet room...you must go through the bedroom to get to the shower/toilet. The newer buildings do have access to the toilet/shower rooms through the laundry room. If you have a need for privacy in the bedroom in a 1 BR, see if you can get in the higher numbered rooms).
3) Some 2BR's are "lockoffs"...a 1 BR with a fully equiped studio (and 2 entrances to the "rooms"). Some are dedicated...no wet bar/second entrance in the "studio" portion.
4) Studios do not have laundry facilities, but these are available for studio guests near the quiet pools.
5) 1BR and up all have full sized washers (top loaders) and dryers.
6) Since there is (usually) no daily mousekeeping for members, most members just wash the towels daily...throw them in the wash on the way out, dry them when you get Home. Cash guests don't have to worry about this.
7) Most cooking essentials are in the rooms. At the time of this writing, stoves in the kitchens are the smooth-top electrics and the cookware is non-stick. The Fridges are full size, and there is a dishwasher but we think it's noisy. There's a microwave over the range.
8) I don't know about suburban dwellers, but for us city folk, there is lots of counter and cabinet space in the 1Br and larger units.
9) All units have "real" balconies or patios. They're large enough for at least 4 people to sit around a table, and generally have pleasant views of the golf course or some water feature. It's amazing how peaceful it can be sitting on the "veranda" at dawn drinking coffee enjoying the sunrise.
10) 1Br and above have DVD players in the living room. DVD's are available for rent for cash members at the store at the Hospitality House. (Conch Flats)

Since the design is akin to an condo complex, parking is available right outside the door for most buildings. We usually drive to all of the parks except the Magic Kingdom. There are buses that loop the resort and that go to all of the parks, but when you live in the city, buses are too much of a reminder of the daily grind, so we drive usually. However, the bus to the MK drops you off near the park gates, not the Ticketing and Transportation Center so it's usually quicker than driving then taking the monorail or ferry.

There are a few pools throughout the resort...the main pool at the Hospitality House has a large "sand castle" slide and a play area for kids. The other pools are more simple designs.

Some folks think it's not a very kid friendly, but I think it depends upon 1) the kids in question and 2) the parents. Based on my experience growing up and vactioning with the family clan, we'd have loved OKW as kids, but we also didn't grow up in the Nintendo era and we grew up in the city with summers at the shore...my perspective would be skewed by that.

Conch Flats, the general store, has all of the basic souviniers for the resort as well as sundries and a small (but still large for a "hotel") food section. It's WDW, prices will be higher than at home, but there is enough choices for breakfast and snacks (including microwavable "meals") that you could theorhetically cook all of your meals and not eat out once.

We've eaten at Olivia's once. We liked the food, and the servers were very pleasant and engaging, but if we're in the resort, we generally cook in the room or grill (there are grills near the pools, bags of charcoal/alum. foil at the store).

There are a limited number of buildings with elevators, and all buildings have ground floor rooms. If you need an easily accessible room, be sure to request either an elevator building or a ground floor unit for medical reasons. While quieter and having a better view, marching to the 3rd floor after putting in 10 miles at the parks can be a challenge.

Whether one will like the resort will really depend on what type of accomodations they like. OKW isn't a hotel resort...there's no room service, its' not compact, there are no interior hallways, night clubs, only 1 restaurant, and possibly a 20minute walk to get to the main building from the farthest rooms. Most of the staff are pleasant...but not pampering. For us as city dwellers, it's like taking a break from reality moving to someplace more laid back and tranquil. For our country friends, they prefer the hustle and bustle of the Hotel resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond
111
Reviewed September 22, 2005

My bestfriend and I with our daughters stayed at Old Key West Resort. The resort was beautiful and the rooms were excellent! The only problem we had was house keeping it was horrible! We had a hard time getting house keeping to clean the room. One night we had to call to get clean sheets! When we called house keeping, the young lady that answered the phone was very unpleasant to talk to. When I reported it to the woman that was in charge of the resort for that day she made an excuse for the woman that was rude which I didn't appreciate. I don't want to take anything from the resort because like I said it was beautiful and the rest of the staff was very helpful, but house keeping was terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Olive, New Jersey
236
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We recently stayed at Old Key West from September 4-9. The room was just perfect for our size family, there was four of us. We stayed in a studio and had two queen size beds and a small kitchenette, which had a coffee maker, microwave, toaster and a small kitchen sink.

We stayed in room 3020, the problem I did run into was all the noise. We had the disney buses passing right by our window from 7:00 AM thru 2:00 AM. When I sat out on the balcony in the morning it was so noisy with the buses going by. They would go down the road turnaround at a circle at the end of the road and come back down the road again. Also they would start cutting the lawn at about 6:30 AM. I was going to change rooms but it seemed like everyone would have the same problem. If the layout of the resort was different the buses would not be going right by our room.

When we stayed at the Caribbean Beach Resort, the buses would go on a outer loop around the resort, it was so much quieter. So happy to be home where my morning are quiet again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2005

I found Disney's Old Key West Resort to be just what our family was looking for...Inside of Disney with easy access to all the parks, yet quiet enough to get away from it all too. Our room was lucky enough to be situated right near the Main Lobby, Restaurant, Pool, etc...making it only a short walk to catch the bus right before it left the resort to go to the parks.

I highly recommend this resort to families who are looking for a home like atmosphere with spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mdigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.7 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.8 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $319 - $972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing