We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Quiet Central Location in DisneyWorld”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Old Key West Resort if Disney's first timeshare resort, the villas are larger and very luxurious. The architecture and decor is soft pastel colors, and very comfortable. The beds were especially comfy; if you have a crowd, in a 2 bedroom villa you can spread out and still have lots of room, with a full kitchen and veranda Our room was facing a golf course, it was quiet, even when the parking lot next to the villas was full of cars. Disney buses routinely circle through the resort, so a car is not a necessity.
The staff, including the check-in was very efficient and friendly. One evening we ordered room service pizza, salads, and wings, it was delivered to our door on time, hot and tasty, even in a downpour! The kids loved the resort pools, and taking the shuttle boats to the parks from the Hospitality House. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room near the Hospitality House to cut down on travel time to the other pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PegLegPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks and it was perfect from start to finish. The 1 bedroom villa is massive, there was a washer dryer in the room, the view from the balcony was beautiful everything was clean and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. The food at Olivia's cafe and Good;s food to go were good but the choice was a little limited but as we had the Disney dining plan we ate most of our meals in the parks. The transportation to the parks can be slow if you are on a tight timescale, sometimes the wait was close to 30 minutes for the bus. This was only the second Disney resort we have stayed at, Animal Kingdom Lodge was the other and I rate this far better value for money. The main pool has plenty of activity during the day but there are also three quiet pools if you just want to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

ROOM
We stayed at OKW as a family (2 adults, 2 daughters aged 11 and 9) in April/May 2013. We had requested a studio in a quiet area near a pool and were allocated building 33 which turned out to be perfect and near the Turtle Pond quiet pool. Room was lovely, well equipped and newly renovated and felt very private.
The children preferred the main pool with its great water slide and the lifeguards were amazing, constantly vigilant and checking literally every inch of water, I felt very reassured, but it does get busy so it was handy to escape to the 'quiet' pool when things got too hectic. It's worth noting, however, that the quiet pools are not manned by lifeguards.
DINING
Olivia's restaurant is very good, although it would have been nice to have had another choice within OKW, but we enjoyed dining at other resorts and in the parks as we were on the fantastic dining plan which must have saved us a fortune! I suffer from several food intolerances and was very concerned before travelling that I would find eating out difficult, but I have to say that without exception within Walt Disney World the staff could not do enough for me - the chefs came to sit with me to tailor-make my meals - amazing and highly recommended to anyone with special dietary requirements!
LOCATION
OKW is ideal if you spend a lot of time at Downtown Disney and we loved the resort, particularly for its laid back, tropical feel, but I would have preferred to have been nearer the main parks. For this reason we are going to try Wilderness Lodge next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aimeecarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Disney's Old Key West many times and the place just keeps getting better.As a DVC member it's perfect for the parks and also the daily activities for the kids...They will love community hall..Also rent a boat and sail down to downtown which is fun..Rooms are large and really well configured.Disney knows how to run vacation resorts and the staff are trained to such a high level of customer service..We look forward to returning to Old Key West resort next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BGracey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Disney's Old Key West as part of our honeymoon trip down the East Coast of the US. We booked in advance so got a good deal which included park tickets, a meal plan and other perks including a book of vouchers. I must say that I would have found it to be bad value for money had we not had these extras included in the special offer and I honestly don't know how families afford it, especially if they don't have a meal plan included.
When we arrived, we were told it was a very busy check in time (lunchtime on a Sunday out of season?!) and so we waited in a queue to check in for around 15-20 minutes. When we got checked in the member of staff was very pleasant but seemed a bit under experienced and I asked quite a few questions as he didn't really explain all the details very well. This was obvious at the end of the week when we were told on the last day of our stay that we should have been given a refillable cup for the duration among other details left off!
Once we were sorted we were taken to our room by another very nice member of staff. When we arrived however the room was closest to the main road outside the resort so was very noisy and was a disabled room with a roll in shower and no bath. Considering they knew we were on our honeymoon this was not a particularly romantic room! Furthermore as it was a quiet time at Disney I'm unsure why we were shoved in the corner of the resort as there seemed to be plenty of spare rooms. We asked to be moved and were and were much happier with the second room.
The room was sufficient and was a nice size with most things you could need. However I think considering it's one of the nicer resorts the rooms are still quite plain and nothing luxurious. Therefore I probably wouldn't recommend staying in one of the lower grade resorts if you are going as a couple or with friends.
We had a few issues with communication during our stay which we were surprised about as Disney are known for their customer service. Firstly, a pack was sent to our home in the UK with vouchers etc in. As we were already in the US when this arrived we obviously didn't receive it. We rang ahead to ask if this would be a problem and were told no. When we arrived we were told our vouchers were dealt with by another party (although we had booked the whole stay through the Disney website) and following a few phone calls and visits to the front desk we finally got our vouchers half way through our stay. Then we couldn't use some of them as it was too late for certain things that needed booking at the beginning!! We also called from our room regarding laundry. We were passed from pillar to post and no-one seemed to be able to tell us how much it would cost to have items cleaned although it's advertised clearly as a service. We eventually got the answer a few days in to our stay but by this time we had given up and used the on site washing machines near one of the pools.
The rest of the stay was fine. The resort is kept in an immaculate condition and feels very safe and is quiet at all times of day. The pools were nice and the snack bars, shop and bar were all good. One very nice feature was the complimentary boat from the resort to Downtown Disney which we took on our last night. It was a really nice way to travel after the many over AC'd shuttle buses!
Unfortunately I can't compare OKW to other resorts as it's the only one I have stayed in but it was very nice and I can see how it would suit families as there is so much to occupy kids for a couple of weeks. I would say though that overall we didn't quite get the 'magic' we were expecting from Disney.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyD242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything is so well taken care of. It is clean, roomy and all the appliances in very good working order. On arrival, we asked if we could stay on the top floor. Upon our return from Downtown Disney a couple of hours later, everything was ready for us. No worries, no hassle.
The swimming pool is nice to cool off after a day in the Parks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IslandGirl_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being a DVC member, I've stayed at Old Key West many times. It's the most laid back of the Disney resorts. It's off the beaten path, being located away from the parks, so it's a little less hustle bustle.

The rooms are the biggest of the DVC resorts. The 2 bedroom is my favorite. Plenty of room to stretch out and relax. We're not park commandos anymore so we appreciate the amenities that OKW offers and spend a lot of time at the resort.

One of Disney's hidden gems is located here. Olivia's has great food in a Key West themed restaurant and is usually only half full. It's always easy to grab breakfast, lunch or dinner here.

Another plus is Downtown Disney being a short boat ride away. So that opens up even more dining options.

Welcome Home, indeed!...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#68 of 340 in Orlando
1,724 reviews
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#95 of 340 in Orlando
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $331 - $1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing