We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Club Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #72 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Club Resort”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are DVC owners and have stayed at all the properties except OKW. We kept it for last because we hate the lizards, bugs, and general critters around the resort. To our surprise, we fell in love with the place. The unit was ready on arrival and in the area we requested, imagine that, no other DVC resort has EVER done this for us. Great variety of food at the quick service. Excellent bus service to/from parks. Car parking is near units. Largest units of all DVC property and we love it even for 2 people. No couch instead you get 2 Queen beds. Excellent shower. Carpet is old and could be replaced and shower drainage is a bit poor. Enjoyed the Miller's Road section, short walk to Community area, quiet pool and bus stop. Building 19 pool had tons of bugs in it and could use better filtration. EXCELLENT air conditioning, freeze you out of the place. Ceiling fan. Didn't use the patio because of the wildlife but it looks pretty. Table top ironing board but we requested full size and was accommodated. Older, quaint, and pretty much what you might stay in @ Key West. We are staying on with a 3 day cash stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singlemom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    766
    282
    95
    56
See reviews for
1,742
323
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We (my husband and 7yr old daughter and I) stayed here for 2 weeks and loved it alot. Apartment was huge and very clean, mousekeeping did a great job. The pool area had cast members every day from 1 till late to entertain the little ones witch was lots of fun for our little girl who looked forwrd to it when we were not at the parks. The resort is very big but we found it lovely to walk around and look at the lakes and pools and scenary, just so beautiful. The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant. We ate at Olivia's 2 times and found the food here very tasty and lots of it too and again very friendly staff. Our room was in building 16 and very close to reception and right in the middle of 2 pool areas (1 quiet and 1 the main pool) We found the busses to and from the parks great and never had to wait more than 10 minutes for one to come along and take us to our park of choice each day and home again. We are big Disney fans and i am glad to say this did not disappoint in any way and we would definately stay here again although we like to try different accomadation each time we go to Disney and we have never been disappointed by any yet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynfranelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from our big family Disney outing in Orlando. We wanted to try out Old Key West and everything Disney had to offer but their food recommendations. Rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath villa and there were absolutely no complaints about the room or service to the room. Very nice and up-to-date furnishings with tv's and dvd players in all rooms. Our stay included all the Disney transportation we could stand to use.
My Breakdown:
>Property is nice, however, you must be close to the main pool or take a bus to it, or hoof it. The other pools are nice but not as much for kids as there is no slide or activities.
>Waiting for the buses is like waiting for the rides with less noise. It all starts the second you come out of your rooms and that is not too much fun. When i picked up the SUV for Universal I ended up keeping it the whole trip to be able to come and go from he parks in a less herded manner.
>Far too many rules and unlike a your typical vacations where the hotel and its employees will do everything they can for you....here they will not bend any rule under any circumstance.
That means if you run up to the restroom with your son who is about to pee in his pants after the person just locked it..."sorry Sir the bathroom is NOW closed".
>No complaints on the food...other than the obvious Above-Norm Prices.
>Bid complaint on its the first time anywhere in the world where I have had to pay $3 per soda from a vending machine on a hotel property....Tops is $2 and 90% of the time less than that. So they hammer you any chance they can and that for some reason surprised me as we were not currently in a Theme Park but rather in a 4-star hotel.
in closing DISNEY WILL BE DISNEY...and we will keep coming back.
Also their SENSES SPA is the ABSOLUTE WORST SPA FROM START TO FINISH! We hit the spa's as destinations quite regularly and were so dissatisfied with the lack of service after 1 hour we cancelled all remaining services for the week and walked out. HORRIBLE...wait for home to relax with a spa you know...You will need it after Disney!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit and it was great. The room was huge with a great laundry area and full kitchen. We can't wait to come back! We had a view of the lake and were close to the main building. Our room was ready for check in by 11 am

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madymik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

OK- trying not to drink the Disney Kool-Aid here. We're recent DVC owners & this was our 1st onsite Diz hotel experience. Did not start well when the check-in car lane was packed with a charter bus & several cars. We quickly backed up & parked in overflow/pool area. Check-in went smooth (had balloons up front for kids) & our room was ready (around 2) when we got there. We were in Turtle Cove area blding 35- right across from the bus stop which was nice. I've read the reviews and knew there were no elevators so OF COURSE our room was on the 3rd floor no elevator!! Hotter than heck (or raining) and lugging all your stuff up/down those stairs was not 'the Disney experience' one thinks of. Still we're young and I'd hate to think of my parents having to do that so I didn't complain or ask to switch rooms. The studio room itself was nice enough- nothing more outstanding or worse than any hotel I've stayed in. I was disappointed there were no screens on the TINY porch (I think that's a must in FL.) We had several mosquitoes and a dead cockroach (better dead than alive! Welcome to FL!!) hanging out in the bathroom (see previous comment about screened-in porches!) One suggestion- put at least 2 luggage racks in the studio rooms. The one was great but we had to use chairs (I don't put suitcases on the floor in FL b/c of aforementioned critters!) for the other suitcase which left nowhere to sit!!! The staff were all friendly & lots of activities (after noon) at the main pool. We were closer (walking distance) to a smaller pool but my son wanted to 'do' the water slide so we hopped a bus to drop us off at the main blding. (Yes I said bus- HA!) A few notes as someone who's been to Diz lots but 1st time on Diz property: I felt a bit 'trapped' on the property. Food choices get old after awhile and you're miles away from anything that you don't pay the Diz premium for! Staff is friendly & there are lots of activities for kids to do. But many other resorts can say the same thing! The music piping throughout the pool area made me want to rip my ears off after awhile (lots of reggae and Jimmy Buffet.) Perhaps turn down a bit or add LOTS more songs so you're not hearing the same ones 2 times/day every day? (Staff may appreciate that, too- or perhaps they just block it out.) All in all I don't know that I would pay more to stay here vs. another 4/5 star (non-Diz hotel/resort) in the area. But if you're dying to stay on Diz property, you should treat yourself at least once. Though perhaps choose a resort with elevators!!!!

Room Tip: No elevators! You have been warned!! Blding 35 (Turtle Cove) is across from the bus stop and happe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMD0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just returned from a one week stay in a one bedroom villa, two adults with two children. Loved OKW! Villa was HUGE and having a washer and dryer in the unit was invaluable with kids. Villa was clean, comfortable, and we can't wait to return. Only negative was having to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtotrvl29877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are a family of 5 with 3 kids ranging from 11 to 15 y/o. Our check in went smoothly, for the most part. I requested a different location from what we were originally given right off the start because our room requests were overlooked and I didn't want to take any chances with the location. They quickly obliged and we ended up right next to the turtle pond pool, which was quite convenient. Room was a great size for our family allowing all of us to spread out and get some separation time when we got hot and tired from a day of trudging around the parks. Unit was clean, well stocked with all we needed for eating breakfast - which was all we ate in the unit, and well tended to by housekeeping staff. Regarding staff, that is where I will put my main complaint comment... too many staff that don't "habla" english. Housekeeper would just smile and nod and say "towels?" A couple of the guys running around on the golf carts we tried asking something of couldn't really understand us, and one lady working at the customer service counter who was of middle eastern descent I believe was hard to understand unless you listened very closely. None of these people were crabby or anything of the sort, they just weren't very helpful because they couldn't communicate. I'm probably going to review the parks too and comment on experiencing the same thing. To me, if you are going to have an employee out mingling with the general public, they should at least know some basic english. Otherwise, we had a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again. Was a nice, quiet place to relax when taking a break from the parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinifan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#66 of 339 in Orlando
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.0 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing