We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be a new favorite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We are DVC members and split our week between Old Key West Resort and Animal Kingdom-Kidani Village. We had a 2 bedroom villa at OKW and we loved it. First of all, the room was HUGE! Our room overlooked the golf course which was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and the enormous jacuzzi tub was a joy. The room was clean, and they even made us towel swans on the master bed. The only downside is that parts of the room show the age of the resort, especially the bathrooms. It made it feel like it wasn't as clean. The staff are exceptional, extremely helpful and always pleasant. The resort is definitely massive, so it helps if you have a rental car, which we did. It has a very laid back vibe to it. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphinnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,674 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We go to a Disney Vacation Club resort every year, but this was the first time we had stayed at the Old Key West resort. We stayed in a deluxe studio for 6 nights and had a great experience. The resort was very nice. The room was good although our neighbours were noisy at times. The resort had a nice shop (gifts and grocery), and a great restaurant called Olivias Cafe (we ate here three times, once for breakfast and twice for dinner), the food was excellent we highly recommend it. You can rent boats by the half hour and cruise all the way down to Downtown Disney, and they will loan any sports equipment free of charge (tennis, basket ball, etc). The resort is small compared to Saratoga Springs which is our home DVC resort, but we thought it was just right and plan to go there again. There are four pools, the main pool is the largest and loudest, the the other three are quiet pools with a snack bar and an arcade. One odd thing was that the laundry room was in the pool area. We didn't need to use it, but it seemed a strange place to put it?

Room Tip: Most buildings are two or three story's and I would recommend getting a room on the top floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a fabulous week at Old Key West in February 2013.

Had a 2 bed unit on the top floor, close to the Hospitality House. Was an ideal location, close to restaurants, drink refill station, bus stops and main pool area. Lovely view of one of the lakes from balcony. The space was fabulous for a family of five. One bedroom had a kingsized bed, the second had two double beds, and there was a sofa bed and sofa chair. Beds were very comfortable. We had two full bathrooms in the two bedded unit.

We were on the Disney Dining Plan, so used our kitchen for quick snacks and evening drinks only, but it was a well fitted space if you wanted to cook full family meals. We used Goods to Go for a few of our counter service meals and the team working here were soooo friendly! Some of my family are on gluten free diets, and both the staff taking our orders and the Chef who came out to speak to us about options were accommodating and helpful.

Mouse keeping were wonderful - and always had a friendly 'hello'.

We loved the convenience of onsite transport, found the dining plan great value, and look forward to going back to Old Key West in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to Hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKDisneyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in April - we were originally booked into a studio, but got a free upgrade to a one bed villa. We will probably stay here again next time b/c of the space! To be honest, I have two complaints- the beds weren't that comfortable & the couch bed was awful to sleep on. And, we have only seen the internal shuttle one time! We were afraid to go to the hospitality house b/c we knew we weren't in walking distance. Other than that it was clean, quiet, the kids loved the bath tub! The washer/dryer were soooo nice to have. The house keeping / front desk were very kind & helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am currently staying here and I really do not know where to begin. Last night we arrived and checked into a studio in building 34 bottom floor. We immediately smelled mold upon entering. We started to un pack and started to look at the ceiling and noticed years of water damage and years of trying to just paint over and hide the problem. The room itself is spacious and is the only studio in the DVC hotels to have two beds. It appeared more updated in the bathroom than the one we were moved to after complaining about the smell and appearance of the deteriorating ceiling.
We were moved to a handicap one bedroom at 11:00 pm . We were happy that we were moved but unfortunately were not upgraded to a cleaner room but a much dingier and dirtier feeling room. The floor was filthy and I ordered a housekeeping attendant to clean the floors asap. The furniture looks updated but the bathroom is another story. It is so out of date and disgusting. I feel like I am in a bad dream. I pay a lot of money to belong to DVC and I have to constantly endure sub par living conditions at their resorts ( excluding Bay Lake Towers and Wilderness Lodge). I will NEVER stay here again. This place needs to be completely gutted out or torn down . I have complained but the best I get back is one nights points or a thanks for your feedback.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JAXTRAVELLINGMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Disney's Old Key West Resort is absolutely beautiful. We had a two bedroom and all the space was wonderful. We enjoyed having the kitchen with all the accessories that we needed. Everything was comfortable and clean. We liked being close to a quiet pool. The only thing we didn't like was that the resort is so large and the buses took forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the hospitality house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We rented the two bedroom villa and we were pleasantly surprised how big it was. It had a full kitchen with all needed amenities, dishes appliances etc., with a four person dinning table connected to the living room which had a TV and DVD player, a pull out couch, love seat and chairs. From the living room, doors open to a fenced in balcony with large table and chairs. The master bedroom had a comfortable king bed, chair, plenty of drawers, a TV, large closet, a small wall safe, all connected to a Large master bath with a wonderful (helped my tired muscles) two person jacuzzi, separate walk in shower and 2 sinks. There is a laundry room with full washer and dryer and detergent. The second bedroom had 2 queens, full bath, large closet, TV and large table. All the decor is done in the typical Key West style with warm colors, wood and tile floors all in a tropical setting. We really enjoyed the space and for the price of getting two rooms we got a full villa. It worked out well because we ate breakfast in the room, drank coffee in the balcony then walked to the bus stop to pick up disney transport. Tip-ask for a room near the bus stops because at the end of the night you will appreciate it. These villas are used for Disney Vacation members but they rent them out to non members too and they are worth it if you like or need space. The community itself has restaurants, a general store, several pools, tennis, play grounds, boat rentals, kids activities, and transportation within and to the parks. Rooms were clean and non member renters get daily maid service. My only complaints were the pull out couch was a little uncomfortable and sunk in too much, the safe was too small, and no elevators. There are 3 levels, so if your villa is on level 3 be prepared to get some exercise. We had the bell staff carry our luggage up and we brought it down. Great for families, larger groups and if you want a home away from home.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 340 in Orlando
1,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $318 - $1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing