We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite Disney World spot, after 20 years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #74 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights in a 2-br near the hospitality house: my wife and I and our 2 youngest children aged 11 and 14.
OKW is the perfect match to the busy hours in the Parks: quite pool, games, friendly staff that truly cars.
The rooms are perhaps the most spacious at WDW and have been renovated recently. It is a perfect family layout with washer/dryer, kichen and DVD player (rent at Hank's by the Hospitality House). Very clean.
We have been enjoying some sports activities: tennis, gym and running around the property on a 2-mile loop. Kids feel super-safe and are familiar with the staff and the hangout places such as the general store and Good's, the counter service restaurant. We recommend to try Olivia's Cafe' for both breakfast and dinner. If a family-style, relaxing atmosphere is what you are looking for, well you've found it there!
Try the boat rentals or simply enjoy the ferry ride to Downtown Disney. Ferries run every 20 minutes until 11:30 pm.
If you plan to spend the day or the morning by the main pool, get there quite early in order to get a good spot.
Four younger children, try the after dinner outdoor big screen Disney Movies by the playground.

Room Tip: Get a room near the hospitality house. We recommend 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first experience of a top value Disney resort, I was really impressed how well laid out it was, very pretty, quiet and peaceful. We had a three bedroom villa which was massive, all the equipment you could need - washing machine/dryer/kitchen utensils etc. Could have gone for a pretty good swim in the jacuzzi bath. The resort is huge so if like us you couldn't always be bothered to wait for the bus or stay on it on return to the correct drop off there can be a bit of walking but hey this is Disney and walking is essential. Lovely quiet pool right next to our apartment. We had a problem with a stiff and squeaky door that was fixed immediately. The central restaurant area is also much more quiet and less hectic than you would expect on a resort on this size. Sometimes the park buses took a few minutes longer than we would have wished but they were never a problem, the whole Disney transport system is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stayed here in March for the first time and really enjoyed the whole experience of Old Key West Resort. The architecture and ambiance really helped to make me feel relaxed after a busy, crowd-filled day at the parks. The accommodations were outstanding and very spacious for a one bedroom room that included a full sized kitchen and washer and dryer (it was like staying in a condominium). The deck was perfect for quiet breakfasts and winding down in the evening. Each staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at Old Key West a number of times, and in many types of rooms. The studio is great for couples and small families. And even though the room is not huge, it still feels luxurious and special! The two bedroom is good for larger families. And if you have a couple of families staying together, the Grand Villa is perfect! The food at Olivia's is so delicious... Lots to choose from and the conch chowder is one of our favorites! You really feel like you are in the islands.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My recent trip to Disney we stayed at Disney's Old Key West Resort
2 bedroom suite. This was my 8 trip to Disney World and I have stayed in all types of hotels on the Disney Property from cheap to expensive: The Cabins at Fort Wilderness, Fort Wilderness Lodge, The Tree Houses and The Allstar but this was by far the best!!! Suite was amazing, clean, well kept, absolutely huge and so close to all the parks- we use the Disney transportation (buses) and it was always single stop to all the parks, the buses weren't over crowded as with most of all the other Hotels. I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Stay close to the hospitality house- the transport main pick up is right there so no wait circling t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While OKW is the oldest of DVC properties, it has the largest villas. The best thing about OKW is it is away from everything and you really get a chance to relax after all of the chaos (fun) at the parks. You feel as if you are on vacaction in Florida and not minutes outside of the parks. The main pool and side pools are great. It has my favorite slide at the main pool. The boats run constantly and you can rent boats to play around in and see Downtown Disney. The patios are much larger here also. I "own" at Saratoga - yet switch it up every year to stay at OKW. You will be very happy with your choice. Have fun!

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the hospitality center if you want easy access to the boats. If you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATags36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had our first Florida holiday at one of the busiest times. However at Old Key West the grounds are so spacious that you would not notice it. The pools were very busy but the staff were excellent and the rooms are fabulous. We had a suite for five adults which had two bedrooms, three bathrooms, a large lounge/kitchen area and a laundry. Well beyond our expectations.
The on site food offerings are really good with a burger bar, soft drinks area (buy a mug and refill as often as you like for your stay), a bar area and also Olivia's restaurant which is excellent.
If we go to Florida again we will look to stay at this hotel as it will be very difficult to beat.

Room Tip: We were advised to avoid the rooms on the highway side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxtrotfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $343 - $1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing