We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My dream family holiday lived up to Disney expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My dream family holiday lived up to Disney expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in old key west from 4th feb to 20th Feb 2013 first arrived on Disney transport and we had our shopping delievered it was waitin for us we jumped on a large golf cart n took us to our beautiful room one problem was we had black slime in the sink and I rang about it n it did take a day as they was unsure what I ment, the 2 beadroom villa was large and the rooms was beautiful clean, we all had extra pillows n did!nt need for anything washing liquid, dishwasher tablets, coffee, tea, suger even wash powder. We was in middle floor n I can say was peaceful we was in block 27 I think next to a bus stop but we always walked to the main bus stop bus service was great snacks to go was also really good for snacks n quick serve meals we had a dining plan wow we struggles to eat as much as we did we had a dinner service a quick serve n a snack n we dined at 1900 park fair, chef Mickey, Tusker house, hoop de hoop show, sanara Restarant . Hollywood n vine, askasu, aloha show, futon crab house , cinderellas castle on valentines night all meals was amazing, I had my phone cheakin the quick serve meals to see which was best for ya money I loved be our guest my tuna Nicosia salads was the best meal I ate all holiday, take coffee n tea bags with u n ask for a cup of hot water for baby's bottle in the parks we never brought a hot drink, we celebrated my daughters 15th on holiday nearly every meal n day, we took them to the pirates make over in magic kingdom n they loved it, we brought the photo package before we went n got all photos included which was a money saver, any questions I m happy to help inbox me

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belsasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    694
    258
    84
    47
See reviews for
1,556
280
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We decided to stay at Old Key West as a change from our other favorite Disney hotels. It was a mistake. OKW has none of the "Disney" character and charm. The studio room was just an average room not in good condition. We could easily hear our neighbors. There was trash left on the stairs for the entire visit. Housekeeping did not show-up until 4:55 pm. The bus and boat service were terrible and we often walked the 15 minutes to get to the main building to avoid more time on the bus. Although Downtown Disney is close by, it took us 90 minutes to get back one evening. At the only onsite restaurant, Olivia's, we had a terrible breakfast and avoided eating at the resort after that.I can see why a family that needs lots of room and has a car might like this place. But if you are depending on Disney transportation, this is not the best resort. Plus it felt like we were visiting "Grandma's condo" in some development, and we missed the Disney experience. When we told OKW we wanted to change resorts, they were great at making the switch. So I do give the staff an excellent rating for accommodating our move.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POCONOS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Old Key West several times now.
It is a LARGE spread out resort. The rooms (we get a two bedroom villa) are huge!
I've been told that Disney has stated that it would NEVER build rooms this large again, but we love the space! There is a fulll kitchen and laundry area. Two seprate bedrooms and apull out sleeper in the LR. We are lucky to have a "friend' who helps us book some very great stays. The biggest sell for me is that I can park my car right outside my door so its easy to get groceries into my room. Other Disney resorts, though very nice, have parking that seems to be half a mile from my room...which is a real time waster.
The only recommendation I have for the Old Key West would be to keep the retail shop which sells ice cream treats open until midnight. I like a little treat before going back to my room, but often dont want desert immediately after dinner. They close at 11PM.
Anyhow, enough about my poor late night eating antics...this place is fabulous and spacious!
Go book your stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are near a pool so you really cant lose. The rear has a patio and you can watch golfers pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVOIDMLKWEEKEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very nice. The problem is the rooms are old and run down. The room feels dirty. Despite asking the housekeeper for extra towels she still only have us 4. For 8 people. The resort is too far and the busses are slow.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

By far room 4414 is the worst I have stayed at Disney. The room is dark with cheap furniture. There is mildew on the windows, there is no sound barrier, the busses run every 2 minutes next to the room up to 2 am, you can hear all the conversations in the room next door. Disney shows you their best units to sell vacation clubs then when you get the room it is like a cheap motel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After spending three nights at Old Key West in December we just had to have more! This time, we went without kids for six nights and had even more fun. The food at Olivia's was so good that we ate there twice. The main pool felt so good in the cool temps. The room was again very clean and comfortable. The boat service to Downtown Disney was quick and informative as the Captain told us about the new plans for the area. The buses were easy to catch and allowed us to enter the parks early for the extra magic hour which is the best idea in the world! We will go back in May as we had such a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goOUgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The resort was quiet and well spread out, however we highly recommend asking to stay near the main lobby and pool area. Theming was ok, not as fun as AKL or WL, but nice if you could care less about the theming. Some buildings are near busy roads, so ask for something near main building.

Room Tip: Ask for room near lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zharki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.4 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.8 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing