We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #71 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

First stay at okw for us and we loved it.Have stayed at ssr,vero,akv and the poly and thought key west matched all of them.
We had a 2 bed villa which was huge and had a nice view on the balcony of the golf course/lake.Definatly the biggest rooms we have had on disney property.
We were situated on peninsular rd which is very handy for the main pool,shop,and restaurant.The resort is very big so you may find yourself quite far from these facilities,but there are other pools and snack bars.
Great to use the water taxi to downtown disney,i prefer this than the buses which can sometimes take 15 mins just to get out of the resort.
Very impressed with okw and am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dor1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 11 nights. We chose Old Key West because we were traveling with my 15 year old son and his 16 year old friend. 3 years previously we had stayed at Saratoga Springs with just my son and liked it. Both times we stayed in a one bedroom suite. The main difference is the lounge room is bigger in Old Key West and has both a single sofa bed and a double allowing the two boys to have a bed each. To get enough space at Saratoga we would have had to get a two bedroom suite and pay a lot more.

From Old Key West you can walk to Downtown Disney during the day - head to Villa 55 and cross the bridge, turn left and walk on the path. Even though it appears longer the time taken was exactly the same as from our room at Saratoga as we had a room near the middle of the resort rather than near the end. Both just under 20minutes to reach the DisneyQuest building.

What I prefer about Saratoga is
1, Seems a bit more compact and therefore less time to walk to the main centre.
2, Gym is bigger and has more equipment.
3, Walk to Downtown Disney is likely to take less time depending on the room you get.
4, Ferry to Downtown Disney is shorter.

What I prefer about Old Key West is
1, bigger rooms with and extra sofabed
3, bigger pool with what I think was a much bigger slide.

The only reason I doubt we are lilkely to use this Hotel again is the distance from Australia meaning we are not likely to go back, if we did I would either chose this hotel again or Saratoga Springs depending on if we need the room or not.

Room Tip: Rooms around 55 to are closest to walk to Downtown Disney, however if you are not likely to want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris123Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I really was taken back by this resort. I have always wanted to stay in a proper DIsney 'Deluxe', having visited them all on a previous trip. I must admit, before we went I didn't include 'Old Key West' as one of these as it's a vacation club resort. How wrong was I! This hotel is laid back perfect! Pople say it is too far away from the action, but we could see the Epcot fireworks from the pool! Big rooms, lovely views and an amazing boat ride to Downtown Disney. With the right deals and planning/sharing you can get this hotel for the same pp rate as the value hotels. Do it!

Room Tip: Try for rooms over the river from the main building, great location and nice surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Old Key West is the original Disney Vaction Club resort. The rooms have been recently updated, are extremely spacious and well themed. We enjoyed OKW a lot better than Saratoga Springs, and feel it is the best resort option in the downtown Disney resort area. Water taxis make it easy for a night out, golf courses and pool for the day. The only hazard is the 15 minute bus ride within the resort to get to your destination. The resort is sprawled out, and areas are a decent hike if you plan to stay on foot. If you rent a car rather than rely on Disney transportation, this will not be a factor. Dining is limited to the only sit down restaurant, Olivias,however there are plenty of food options in Downtown Disney. We will be back and take advantage of the 3 bedroom options. Old Key West was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie11361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Welcome Home! This is what you'll hear when you check in at any of the Disney Vacation Club properties. It does kind of feel like coming home if you've been there before.
Disney lover here! We just returned from Walt Disney World where we stayed at Old Key West Resort for 7 nights. This was our 4th trip to the "World" and our second stay at Old Key West Resort.
Staying on rented points through a family member, I was open to taking any of the Disney Vacation Club resorts that became available, and when Old Key West popped up, I was happy to take it.
Old Key West is a large, spread out resort. Bus service is available to all parks, water parks and Downtown Disney area. You can also hop on the boat to Downtown Disney, which is great as dining options are few at this Resort. Olivia's is the resorts own restaurant. We were able to get in without reservations, but as with all Disnet eateries, reservations are a must. Olivia's had good food and friendly servers. When they are at their busiest, their service suffers. There is also a snack bar, bar and a gift shop/store. We stopped at their store often for milk, drinks, and snack, and yes, the prices are pretty high.
There is a very nice main pool with a great sandcastle theme. Kids loved the slide. They did have activities thoughout the day and movie nights also.
We stayed in a one bedroom ground floor unit. They follow the Key West feel throughout with soothing colors and decor. The room is perfect for a family of 4-5. The front room has both a queen sleeper sofa and a sleeper chair. There is also a love seat. (Not sure if it is convertable?) Dining table and chairs, nice patio area too. Full kitchen with granite and full size appliances. Good size flat screen TVs in front room and master. (Lots of Disney related channels!)
The master has a King bed and is somewhat open to the jetted tub area with sink. You do have to go through the master to get to the bathroom -toilet, shower and sink. Beds were comfy, rooms very clean.
Our stay was quiet with some noise from above- the laminate flooring in the main area alows a little bit of footstep noise. Not too bad at all.
Disney pay wonderful attention to detail in all they do, including their resort properties. There are even "hidden Mickeys" to find in some of the buildings details.
Staying onsite at Walt Disney World works well for us. We used the Magical Express service and we hopped right on the Disney bus at the airport, 30-40 min. ride to our resort and our bags arrived shortly after us.
I would stay here again in the future although my goal is too try every Disney property!

Room Tip: Not all sections have elevators Online check-in was great and we did get our requests met pretty wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkittymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was really looking forward to staying at OKW as the rooms are larger and the land allows the buildings to be spread out. WE had a Studio which was as good as expected. The TV was a little small but beds very comfy, lots of room and a nice bathroom. The trouble is NOISE, Noise, Noise. WE were unlucky to have some very loud neighbours who liked to be loud at 3 a.m. and early in the morning. The problem is the door that separates the Studio to the one bedroom suite allows all noise to pass. Very very poor at this level of comfort. The other issue is those buses. so many travel about the site you would think that the planner would avoid them passing too many properties. NO. It seems Disney planners go out of their way to ensure that buses take the longest routes and pass as many properties as possible. I just don't believe it. I shall never stay at the older properties again and will ask about sound insulation and bus routes next time I stay.

Room Tip: avoid all studios and connecting rooms and check for bus routes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLevene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Is that you must take a bus or cab from this property to get anywhere.

Other than that, and the Disney bus system, it's a perfect place. So much to do here, from renting a boat to tour the water, to swimming, biking and they even let you order a picnic to take along on your outings.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa, that was absolutely huge! We traveled as a family of nine, from 2 year old, through 85 year old grandma. Our only complaint was not realizing that it was the week of the Disney Marathon - and the cannon that signaled the start went off at 6 am - which was tough on the baby.

If you stay in a villa at this resort, and you are flying in, think about using Greengrocer.com or some such service to deliver food to you. We ordered groceries weeks in advance, and they were delivered to our room, and put away. It was heaven, and made it easier for everyone's schedule that we had lunch and breakfast items always available.

A very well kept property, compared to the Beach Club - which is located much better for the parks, but gets a lot of abuse and evidently less maintenance. If you have small children, keep in mind that you can plan for cabs - which will take you one way to or from a park ( great when they are exhausted at the end of the day ) for about $25.00 with tip. A VAN cab, takes more people and does not cost more.

Room Tip: We stayed in an "end unit" right across the bridge - the walk to the main building was a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.7 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.8 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $316 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing