We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time at WDW and Old Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #66 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

After a long drive, we were welcomed at OKW and had no wait at check-in. We were early (11) and our room was not ready which was expected. We bought our tickets, parked our car and took off on a bus for Epcot. OKW called our cellphone when the room was ready, but we were not – we stayed at the park until close and unpacked when we were ready. Very cute community. I don't think our room would be considered refurbished, but it was fresh and clean. 2 beds, nice patio, frig, coffee maker (but we had to ask a few times for coffee), larger bathroom with plenty of storage. Our AC began leaking on our second night. It's located in the ceiling, so when it hit the ground, it would splash. At 2 a.m. after 2 very full days of parks, we were exhausted and not happy. We called the next morning and maintenance was there within 30 minutes. We asked them to return when we were gone and they did. All fixed - at least for another two nights when it happened again. I should mention they asked if we wanted to switch rooms and we declined. We didn't want to waste time packing & unpacking. It was a hassle and disruptive, but we're pretty tolerant. Maintenance returned again and fixed it. Housekeeping brought us extra towels immediately.

We were traveling with two kids (12 and 10). They hit the pool by our room from about 11-midnight. Pool stayed open until then which was nice. We never made it to the main pool, but it looked fun. We took the ferry boat to Downtown Disney and enjoyed our nice Captain. Bus system is amazing at Disney. We love it, but did have to pass on it from MK. We had reservations at the California Grill and wanted to return to our room freshen up. The bus never came in time, so we had to go in "park clothes". Still had an amazing dinner with a fantastic view.

We'd recommend OKW if you can afford it and want a pool. We never made it to Olivia's. Our last stay was at The Coronado and we really enjoyed having a counter service place available. OKW does not have one besides the pool snack bars.

We've used the Disney Dining Plan 2x. Once when kids were on kids $ plan. That was VERY economical and I'd highly advise it. Since our 12 year old eats like and adult, he was good on it, but our 10 yr old still enjoys kid meals. It's either or with WDW when it comes to DDP. Either we're all on it, or none of us. We chose to do it, but now we're thinking it's not as cost effective. We don't normally eat dessert. I wish we could have a choice of swapping a salad or fresh fruit of our dessert. WDW isn't very health conscious when it comes to the DP. We truly enjoy not having to worry about $ though each time we want to eat. We wish there was somewhere that served breakfast late since we're late risers. Great food at Disney!

CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK! :O)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,587)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Old Key West Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 2,587 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

Just returned from a weeklong stay at Old Key West Resort in Disney World. We were there over spring break weeks (March 12-20) and though the parks were super crowded, Old Key West was quiet and relaxing. I am going to give the good and bad in this review for both the resort and the parks.

Parks....The Good- 1) The weather was perfect, cool early in the morning and evenings but warm (not hot) in the afternoons. 2) Even though the parks were crowded, everything was so clean...even the restrooms & that impressed this clean freak. 3) The fireworks at MK were awesome....had great pastries in the Main Street Bakery. 4) the FastPass system is awesome....use it!. We didn't wait more than 20 minutes on any ride for two reasons...we got to the parks before they opened and used the FastPass system wisely.

......The Bad- 1) Too Crowded! Disney should try to control the crowds better. Two families I talked to who had not really researched ahead and planned ahead said they would NEVER go back. One said they had spent 8 hours in MK and only ridden three rides. Their little ones were miserable! You have to really plan ahead. The waits for some rides were never below 120 minutes the whole week we were there. At Hollywood studios the wait for the Toy Story ride was 180 minutes....yes, 3 hours! We didn't realize how popular that ride was and we never did get to ride that one. However....due to careful planning, we rode everything else we wanted to ride and went to all shows we wanted to see without waiting because of the two tips I mentioned earlier....You must plan out what you want to do, go early, and send one person to get FastPasses.

Food....Boma's, Rainforest Cafe, & Olivia's were good sit-down choices but skip Sci-Fi. It has a neat concept but had an "odd" atmosphere & terrible food. Pecos Bill's was good for a quick meal in MK and we liked the Pollo Caperro at Downtown Disney too for a quick inexpensive meal.Our favorite meal was off property at Cheesecake Factory :)

Now for Old Key West.... I loved the peaceful, relaxing atmoshere there. There seemed to be alot of privacy too. The renovated rooms look nice and I like having hardwood floors. The one bedroom villa was very spacious and we saved alot of money having a kitchen for all of our breakfasts and most lunches. The main pool was fun for the teen girls I had with me, but we also enjoyed the quietness of the small pool near our room. Towels were provided. Olivia's was good, not great, but we would eat there again and the milkshakes were awesome! Took the ferry over to Downtown Disney and that was nice.
The negatives....Check-in was painfully slow. The staff seemed to be in no hurry. I did not get the building I requested so our bathroom was only accessible through the master bedroom. ( Only building #'s above 30 have separate entrance) That was a pain! Fitness center was small but better than nothing... we loved the walking trails though.
No free internet service! We only paid the $9.99 charge per day on one day.
Only one restaurant....wish there was a food court or another option, but that about all I didn't like. We would definitely stay there again when Disney has another deal on delux accomodations.
All in all...we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lhurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Just returned from a 7 night stay in renovated building 47. Villa ultra clean and renovations done well including new carpet and flooring. Wish we could have been closer to main pool, but were on the 4th hole of golf course and could see Hollywood Studios fireworks each night. General activities at the pool each day. Bike and boat rental at the community center. Would recommend this property to anyone!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlhighfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

DVC member; stayed here for two weekend nights in a one bedroom villa. Check in was slow because of new employee. Room was newly renovated with flat screen TV's, fresh paint, comfy mattress, etc. The huge tub is always great after 10 hours in the park, and there is always plenty of hot water no matter what time of day. The villas at Old Key West are larger than other Disney villas, so if you want room to spread out, this is the place. Balconies are big with large tables and chairs and most have nice views. Had lunch at Olivia's which was good, not great but fine. The main pool was loud - wanted to enjoy a quiet book while son swam and there was a "pool party" going on with loud pop music and drunk dad's around me. Went over to a smaller pool (there are 4 or 5 pools here) which was playing soft steel drum music and had no drunk dads. Otherwise, had a nice relaxing time. We have stayed here at least 10 times and it is still at the top of the list for comfort, beautiful landscaping, and that home away from home feeling. Main tip - if you have a lot of luggage, do not let them stick you on the 3rd floor, even though the view is great. Request the 1st floor or one of the buildings that has an elevator. Not many of the buildings have an elevator, so make sure you call ahead and request what you want.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmharbormichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at OKW for 1 week in Feb, with our 2 daughters, their husbands and their little ones. The two couples and 4 little ones shared a 2 bedroom unit, and we were in a separate studio. The agent had booked our stay as a "grand gathering", and I thought that rooms were booked ahead of time for that, but maybe I was wrong. One daughter had stayed there before, and knowing the size of the resort , asked for one of a few buildings near the office, so that limited room availability to what had not already been booked. When we arrived, the 2 bedroom unit was where requested, but the desk agent told my husband and I that they had "no room for us". After the staff searched, (they were even willing to give us a one bedroom if there had been one available) we were placed about 3 buildings away from the kids, which was an inconvenience with meals and meeting to go to the parks, but we were told that in 2 days, we could be moved to the same building, which we accepted. And we were moved, although we did have to spend some time packing. Rooms were clean and pretty well maintained. And we were very pleased with the courtesy of everyone we met.
The rooms are OK, but nothing special when you consider the cost. The studio had 2 beds, a small table with chairs, a tiny safe, and a frig, coffee maker, (coffee provided), and a microwave. We bought cereal, milk and juice in the little store--prices there are outrageous and selection very limited, so if you can pack cereal or whatever, or shop before you check in, that would save you substantially. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay, although I think Disney does take advantage of the fact that you are isolated, and overcharges for pretty much everything. I understand it's part of the deal. (If you don't mind a walk, you can take the bus to Downtown Disney, and walk maybe a mile or a little less past Lake Buena Vista to a nice grocery store).
The cons of this resort: look at a map of the resort--it is large and rambling. (the grounds are lovely and well maintained). The buses for the parks leave from the office, and make just a few stops inside the resort. It can be a hike to the closest bus stop. There is also an "internal bus" which goes just around the resort and takes you to the office. The wait can be up to 20 minutes just to get to the office, and then another wait for the bus to the parks. If you have a car, there would be no problem for you inside the resort, but if you are dependent on the buses, you can spend lots of time waiting. The same situation exits if you want to go to the pool (lovely heated pool). Quite a walk.
If you can request-and get-a building near the office, it makes life with the bus much easier. Overall, a nice resort, with some inconveniences and a big price tag in order to get a 2 bedroom unit instead of a regular room. I think next time, we would stay in a hotel on the monorail, if possible, simply for the time saved traveling to the parks.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank dadpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our stay here was perfection from start to finish. I have never had better customer service! It started from the second we arrived. Our 2 room villa was gorgeous, we had a newly renovated room, it was extremely clean and the daily housekeeping was superb. Every contact we had with staff was professional and they went above and beyond on multiple occasions for us. We ate at Olivia's (restaurant on site) one of the evenings, and our waitress and food were both phenomenal. My teenagers even commented how nice everyone was. One of the best and funnest vacations we've ever had! We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgreen911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have to say that OKW is our favorite Disney resort. My family is on the younger side and you would think we would want to be in the action areas. But OKW is the perfect place to recharge the engine and get ready for the next day. Pool, service and food were all above average. The front desk (except one person) are all helpful and greet you with a smile. The "mousekeeping" was great and had perfect timing. We are ready to book next years trip and stay even longer at OKW. I never thought I would be a Disney person but OKW has started to make that happen.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColdWinters2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#68 of 340 in Orlando
1,714 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $328 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing