We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grandest park”
Review of Magic Kingdom

Magic Kingdom
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Orlando Helicopter Tour from International Drive Area
Ranked #4 of 424 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The first of the 4 theme parks to open at Walt Disney World Resort, Magic Kingdom park captures the enchantment of fairy tales with exciting entertainment, classic attractions, beloved Disney Characters and so much more.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The grandest park”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thisisnthepark of all parks but with that comes the crowds, a very, very busy park, we went twice and could not believe how busy it was, the top rides are so busy we missed one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevolivblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37,480
    8,602
    3,909
    1,473
    1,004
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent experience - must do Disney Park”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nearly $400 for a family of four for a one day is pricey however after nine hours it was worth the experience. Parking was well organised with a further charge of $15 (really unnecessary) and you we were shuttled to the park with a tram and a mono rail.

One day is really not enough if you are planning to experience all the rides taking into account the fast track tickets (must do if you want to minimise long queues on some of the rides). These are free tickets that need to be planned around the other places you are experiencing. Our family enjoyed all the rides and shows. Make sure you catch one of the shows in front of the Cinderella castle (only 15 mins long) and no queuing! Be prepared to spend money on plenty of water to re-hydrate (especially during July/August).

A must do Disney experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, WALES (UK)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Aimed at the young and young at heart”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

6th trip and just as magical - but nothing changes. Some of the rides need an overhaul as they are starting to look a bit tired.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WelshGirlCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magic place for younger children”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited Magic Kingdom as a family with 13 and 10 year old boys and had a good time. For young children it is a magical place. The parades, character meetings and fantasy style rides would appeal greatly to young ones.
However for older children and teens there aren't many thrill rides to wow them. There are a few good rides such as Space Mountain, Splash Mountain and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad but a majority of the attractions are aimed for a younger group. Yet some of the smaller, more scenic rides such as It's a Small World are peaceful and calming to go on.
The queues on our visit were okay but the Fastpass system was effective and time saving. It's important to use the Fastpass system to ensure an enjoyable day as queues can exceed an hour. Generally early on queues are short so go to the park at opening time which is 9 o'clock. However the park gates can open earlier at peak times. Be aware that when 'magic hours' are operating, unless you are staying at a Disney Hotel, the park will already be full at 9.o'clock.
Eating prices are fairly reasonable and the food is of a fairly good quality. Some eating places do get quite busy so try to avoid the peak times.
For us, the day was enjoyable. We felt the magic of the park and the staff's cheerful attitude covered up the fact that the rides weren't too thrilling. All-in-all, it is worth visiting the park, especially if you have young children with you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disney!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What can I say it’s Magic Kingdom. Hadn’t been there in almost 20 years but a lot of it looks the same. My 5 year old loved it, especially riding the roller coasters. I was worried about going in the summer time due to the crowds and the heat but it wasn’t too bad. Using the fast passes helped as well. We went on a Wednesday which in reading the various tour guides/touring plans was the recommended day to go. We also followed one of the recommended touring plans. We were able to go on all of the rides we planned on riding and the kids were able to see Mickey which they enjoyed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank qcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Kingdom also viewed

 

Been to Magic Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing