We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Charges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Ranked #28 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hidden Charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Top class hotel lovely stay got back and my credit card was hit for a couple hundred dollars for parking. At no stage was I made aware there were parking charges either when booking with Expedia checking in or using the express check out from the room.
It's a pitty such a nice place nickle and dime you for parking it brought the experience to a not so happy end.it made the good deal I got null and void.
Would have been cheaper to park at Disney !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikemurphyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I was disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with not being made aware of our self and valet parking charges. We do indeed charge for both parking services that are available and this information is located on all third party travel websites and on www.waldorfastoriaorlando.com. We will certainly revisit all various websites to make sure that this information is well visible. It would be our pleasure to host you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,808
    694
    289
    115
    95
See reviews for
1,754
1,033
72
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

In an area awash with second rate service and rip-offs (no matter the price), the W-A Orlando manages to provide the type of operation one expects at a Grande Dame hotel in Europe or NYC. They treat you like an individual, not a commodity, and you don't feel like you're on a package tour - as you do in most places in Orlando. High quality concierge services - especially Sean (sp?). Great perks for HHonors too - was upgraded to a Waldorf Suite with views of the Epcot fireworks. For what I thought was going to be a nightmarish trip to a place I didn't want to go in the first place, turned into a pleasant and relaxing stay. Definitely worth the extra few dollars as compared to other lodging options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We strive every day to be the premier Luxury destination in Orlando and feedback like you provided makes us believe we are accomplishing our goal. We would be honored to host you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As a Hilton Honors Diamond traveller, one gets accustomed to certain perks. This property is the only one I have stayed at which does not give out free breakfast coupons. If you know that ahead of time, you won't be disappointed upon check in...

Room Tip: choose a Disney view for a great view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. While it is indeed correct that complimentary breakfast is not one of our property specific amenities for HHonors Diamond and Gold guests, we do offer wonderful property specific amenities such as a discount at our Golf Pro Shop & Spa, a complimentary upgrade based upon availability, complimentary internet, and two drink vouchers valid at our Peacock Alley Lounge and Aquamarine Pool Bar. In regards to our breakfast service, we always offer competitive rates with all other Luxury properties in Orlando. We hope to host you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff,wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

having been to orlando on 3 previous occations ,staying at a motel ,then villa, then a hotel on Int drive we decided to try something a little more "up market" and to be honest i,m always a little sceptical of money being spent with no reason,but i couldn,t have been more wrong the location is minutes from most attractions ,the decor and rooms fantastic , ok drinks and food are expensive but that comes with the territory , i never realised such quality hotels were available in Orlando and it has put a new perspective on future decisions of whether ti visit orlando again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us! It is wonderful to hear that we were able to alter your perception on Luxury hotels in Orlando. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here recently for a special occasion, and we were generally very happy with the hotel. The king suite with pool view was beautiful. Our dinner at Bull & Bear was the highpoint and one of the best I've had in Orlando (or elsewhere for that matter). Decent pool and great service there. If I had not stayed at the Ritz Grande Lakes I might be tempted to say this was the best hotel in the area.

Unfortunately, in my opinion, Ritz wins in the comparison. It's hard not to compare these properties since they are basically the 2 premier luxury properties in the area. They are also very similar in that they share facilities with entry level lux sister hotels on same property (JW Marriott for Ritz, and Hilton next to Waldorf). Many guests with kids send them next door for the lazy rivers. The Grand Lakes properties taken together are better landscaped and nicer. The JW Marriott pool is far better than the Hilton, which also has a lazy river but the pool scene feels more crowded and parking lot like. Pools at Ritz and Waldorf roughly similar. View at Ritz is better, since the grounds are better landscaped. We had a nice big balcony at Waldorf and were able to watch the Disney fireworks, but the view is compromised by the large convention building roof and noisy HVAC equipment. Very poor design which detracts from overall experience. Beds very nice at Waldorf but also at Ritz. Breakfast in the room was far better at Ritz.

Service was better at Ritz. At Waldorf we had to wait for valet on arrival (even though they weren't busy, and no doorman to greet or open door as at Ritz. Waldorf is nice inside, but Ritz is nicer. I do give the nod to Waldorf for best restaurant, as we were not blown away by Normans, but LOVED Bull & Bear. Probably because we are steak people. And I will never understand failure to have mini bar at luxury property like Waldorf. No excuse for that. Waldorf is in the middle of Disney, Ritz is closer to Universal and Sea World. If given the choice would probably go with Ritz in the future, even though it's a close call.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We greatly appreciate the detailed feedback you have provided us so that we can constantly improve. We strive on a daily basis to be the premier luxury destination in Orlando and it takes feedback from our guests to do so. Thank you very much once again and we hope to host you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great hotel and far better value for money than any of the Disney hotels.
The staff are helpful and attentive to your needs, the rooms are generous and luxurious and the pool area is great, particularly if you have young children.
The hotel was spotless and very welcoming. There is an air of serenity when you enter, especially after the hecticness of Disney.
The food is generally good but is not cheap by American standards but the Hilton next door has more choice and there is always a doorman or valet able to take you there by golf cart or you can walk there if you feel the need.
The bar/lounge area also exudes an air of relaxation which is very welcome.
The wildlife is exotic with many gekkos and we also saw a 3 foot snake by the side of the pool which the staff quickly tried to remove.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a great view of Disney and the fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelbyville_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our property. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to offer you a relaxing setting after a day at the theme parks. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

LOVED IT!!!! the pool was absolutely fab as always. When me and my girls wanna have a good time this is the go to place to be! Service was excellent as always, especially reception, food was amazing and golfing. Hands down best hotel in Orlando......Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasheeda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer during your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Orlando

Property: Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Address: 14200 Bonnet Creek Resort Lane, Orlando, FL 32821-4024
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#8 Business Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Orlando 5*
Number of rooms: 1606
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Orlando Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing